11/20 Simon PMPS 293 1 year anniversary

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
It was one year ago that Simon was diagnosed with FD and also when I discovered FDMB. Y'all have been the best group of people, always being there for me and offering support. It has been one crazy year, with highs and low periods. Right now, it is one of my low periods because Simon just isn't himself. He is still eating well and ran down the stairs this morning and even gave me a little impatient "meow" when I was not giving him his food fast enough. But he just looks like he doesn't feel well and is still congested. It may be the AB or the higher bg that is making him feel "puny". I was able to test for ketones this morning (finally!) and he was negative. I also took my 3 meters and was able to compare all of them (with only one poke to the ear). The numbers ranged from 170 to 300. The 300 is with my new Relion confirm. This is such a huge variance in numbers. To make things worse, the ketone stick showed that Simon's glucose was between 500 and 1000! I'm hoping the urine test for glucose is wrong. At the vet, Simon was 277 with the ATrak. I'm sorry I'm rambling here, but I am just so depressed about all of this.

Should I increase his insulin tonight or wait until he has been on this dose for a few more days? Should I trust the Relion or go with the lower numbers (Contour was 270 and Truetrak was 155)?

On a positive note, FD has bonded us together. Simon was always a mama's boy, but the bond we have now is even stronger. Even though my family and friends think I am crazy at times, I would not do anything different. My Simon is my baby and how could I not do everything possible to make sure he has good quality of life?

Ok, enough about this. I am sounding like a poor, pathetic person. I am going to be positive now and stop whining. Thanks again for all of you!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56810
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 1 year anniversary

((((Georgia)))) I understand completely! That's what I love about LL. Everyone here is as crazy about their cats as we are about ours. We get really high glucose numbers with the ketostix too. I try not to think about it. :smile: I don't have any advice, just know that we go through the same ups and downs and think it's completely worth it. Hope Simon feels better. You are a great bean and he is lucky to be with you.
Liz
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 1 year anniversary

((((Georgia)))) ((((Simon)))) First of all Happy Anniversary! I know that it shouldn't be a reason to celebrate necessarily but it is. You are a wonderful bean who has done so much for Simon and he loves you for it. Isn't it funny how strong of a bond you have since FD? I find it fascinating. I have had pets in the past, but know Tarragon better than any of them.

Sorry to hear Simon is still feeling puny. Running down the stairs and crying for breffis is better though so he is on the mend. I know how worried you are about him. The ABs will just take a little time. Healing vines that Simon just gets better and better.

I have no idea on the meter. I use the Relion (actually the ADW - Arkay) now and used to use the Contour. I didn't see much variation between the two though. Hopefully someone will come along who has more experience with comparing meters.

I know how easy it is to get depressed about FD and our fur babies not feeling well. This week I have cried more tears than I want to admit and feel like I have just been a big old whiner. That is what we are all here for and the thing is that we ALL have been there and truly do care about you. Hang in there my friend. It will get better. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 1 year anniversary

Hi Georgia and Simon and we are wishing you a fine anniversary with a really good new year ahead. Your present situation will resolve itself soon, and Simon will get back on track.

Everyone seems to be having meter issues. Of the 3 you used for the test I think I would trust the True Track least. I have read that it is not as accurate as other brands. How much time elapsed between getting the blood into the meters? Some meters seem to be very sensitive and require really "fresh" blood. Also I sometimes wonder if whatever is in the strips that makes it possible for the blood to be sipped up could contaminate a second or third strip from a different manufacturer, thus skewing the subsequent readings?

Just some thoughts. Maybe someone else knows the facts!

Anyway, happy anniversary!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 1 year anniversary

Happy Anniversary!

I know you guys are having a tought time right now, but Simon is soooo lucky to have you as his bean. And, you are never alone - you've got this fabulous group surrounding you. Your are NOT sounding like a big whiner! (If you want to see some real whining, check out Trixie's condos from the past few weeks!!) This is what happens when we care about someone - we have happy moments, we have sad moments. You'll get through this one!!

Enjoy your special day with Simon (and Cleo!!)!

Amy
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 1 year anniversary

Happy Anniversary Simon! It truly is the best place you never wanted to be :-D

Georgia, you do not sound like a whiner. Plus i think we have all experienced the "uh oh its the crazy cat lady" from friends and family, but you're right of course we wouldn't do anything differently.

I hope Simon feels better today, we are sending him a ton of healing vines. Great news that he still has a great appetite!
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 1 year anniversary

Happy Anniversary!!

Urine glucose testing is notoriously unreliable. The sticks don't register low numbers so that's one problem. Second, think about how long it takes for waste to be processed, urine to collect, and then for Simon to have to go to the litterbox. You are getting a test that is hours old. Rely on the ketone testing; ignore the urinary glucose testing.

As for the meters, you might want to think about using the meter that gives you the closest readings to your vet's, providing that Simon doesn't experience vet stress.

You might want to give Simon L-lysine even while he's on an AB. Also, I'd think about running the shower and making your bathroom steamy and letting Simon have a steam for 15 - 20 min. It may help to break up the congestion.
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 1 year anniversary

Hi Georgia, I hope Simon starts feeling better soon. That does make it very confusing with three meters and all so different. I just have the ATrak and Relion Micro as a back-up! I hope this next year is better for Simon, and Happy Anniversary getting to know you and Simon. You are a great Bean and I know exactly what you mean about doing anything for him and how it bonds us. And thanks for always stopping in to visit us and your support; it means a lot.
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 +7 282 1 year anniversary

Thank you Ann, Ella, Amy, Melissa, Tracy, Sienne and Ann for giving me a little lift today. I was feeling so depressed and your words really have helped me feel better.

I'm glad to hear that I really shouldn't worry about the high glucose reading on the urine glucose stick, since it seems to be unreliable.

Sienne, I am going to put Simon in the bathroom after running a hot shower for awhile. I don't know why I didn't think to do that since that certainly helps me when I am congested.
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 +7 282 1 year anniversary

Hi Georgia,

I am having the same meter problems and sympathize with the depression and confusion.

Like you I feel a stronger bond with Weezer since her dx. She's a hand-raised orphan, so we always had a close physical relationship, but now it's stronger than ever.

I hope the ABs get Simon back to himself quickly. It does sound like he's feeling a bit better if he's up to grousing about the food service! Hang in there!
 
Re: 11/20 Simon AMPS 295 +3 300 +7 282 1 year anniversary

Happy Anniversary, Georgia! I wish Simon was feeling better, but it does sound like a little improvement...he wasn't running down the stairs yesterday, was he? I'm glad you got the ketone test, and I'm sure that negative test helps at least a little. Eating is a good sign!

Regarding the meters.. :YMSIGH: ..I wish the meters were not allowed such a wide variation, it would help everyone feel more confident. I took a look at the most recent ratings by Consumer Reports, and the Bayer Contour is at the bottom, with the TrueTrack right above it....neither one is recommended. However, the previous ratings highly recommended the Contour, so I don't know if that helps you or not. I would not go by the TrueTrack, IIRC the "true" meters were not well rated in the previous ratings either, and I remember reading posts about how inaccurate they were. The Confirm is 7th, rated very good and recommended. I have the Contour and it read close to the Confirm, slightly higher, when I compared them...it was well within variance, and I would be comfortable using it. Ditto on my FSL...it was almost identical to the Confirm. I use the Confirm as my primary meter, I always have. I've been very happy with it, and it is easy on the pocketbook (important since I'm a recovering testaholic ;-) ). That's just my experience....others use different meters and are equally happy with them!

The bottom line with the meters is....once you are reasonably confident of accuracy, pick one meter and stick with it....otherwise, you will drive yourself crazy and we will have to do an intervention! ;-) :lol:

You are not whining, you have a sick furbaby and you are understandably worried about him! I hate to tell you how I fretted when Mr T had that chronic URI for 6 months....it drove me batty! :roll:

Regarding dose.....you had one shot at s1.5u, and this is the second shot at 1.5u. I would give this dose more time to settle before evaluating, this could easily be NDW. Hopefully he will start to come down soon....I know these numbers are concerning for you. :YMHUG:
 
Ok, I am going to stick with the Relion confirm and stop driving myself crazy, testing myself and Simon with 3 different meters. Laurie, you are right...I will probably need an intervention if I keep this up. Interesting information on the meters. I wouldn't have thought the Contour would be at the bottom, especially since the strips are so expensive!

I put Simon in the bathroom after I ran the shower with very hot water to help with his congestion. He had his own steam room! He is definitely feeling a little better and is talking to me and DH more, letting us know that he is sick and needs lots of TLC. I just wish his numbers would be lower. I feel sick everytime I have to type a number in the 200's or 300's on his spreadsheet.

Thanks again everyone for stopping by to wish Simon a happy 1 year anniversary and get well wishes.
 
Grab hold, Georgia!!

Lantus Land will share this tough time with you & the Simonizer!!

much love from us..

helping_handsnow.gif
 
(((Georgia)))....I think it is a good idea to just pick the Confirm and go with it. You can't drive yourself crazy with that....you have so much else going on. Happy Annifursary to you and Simon because you found LL!! He is a happier, healthier cat and we have been able to bring you into our family. You and Simon have added so much to the LL community. I wish things were easier right now for you.....I know you have things with Cleo, too, and it gets overwhelming. But we are here for you and never ever think you are whining. The sugardance is not always an easy one and when you have other stuff going on, too, you need people who care and understand and all of us crazy cat ladies and gents certainly do....and we love you all!!

I really hope Simon starts to feel better soon. Sending you lots of hugs and healing vines for him!
 
HAPPY ANNIVERDAY

HAPPY ANNIFURSARY SIMON!!!!

Has it really been a year? I sometimes wonder where time goes. FWIW, I agree with sienne on the urine tests strips - I tried them for a while, and Mannie was so high on them that I stopped, and just went with my meter. I agree too with all that has been said on meters - find the one you like, and then stick with it. Otherwise you'll go bonkers, and be depressed needlessly. It was that way for me - I too have had my "meter issues" which just made me unbearably sad. So - no need!

I hope Simon feels better soon. it was nice to read that the steam helped - YAY!!! Be better little man, we are all rooting for you!

And happy annifursary - celebrate with your little guy. It is a year of getting better, a happier healthier Simon. That alone is cause for celebration. :-D This sugar dance isn't easy by any means, but all us crazy cat ladies are in it together. have a great evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top