11/20 Ophie PMPS 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

OphiesMom

Member Since 2013
Well, it's another stressful decision this morning. I will retest in an hour and figure it out then :)

Happy morning to all!

Joely
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116

Someone will be along soon Joely to help u with that. When ur new they suggest not shooting under 150 and also to monitor. Do u have hc and karo as well as lots of test strips? And r u home today to monitor?
Put a ? In your condo and write dose question
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116

Thank you Kim :). I have some gravy food and honey on-hand. :YMSIGH:

Well, we're now at +12 and 97. I'm not sure what to do. I will withhold food and test in 20 minutes.

Thanks for looking!
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116

Ah ha! Someone has done homework on here! That is perfect Joely. Her number is dropping so you dont want ti shoot until you know she is on the rise and not a food induced rise. Well done!
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

What's funny is that I immediately wanted to feed her (get her number up!). I even opened the can! Then, I thought... DUH, I need to wait. She is not pleased with me. However, safety first!
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

Will you be home today to be able to monitor? Do you have plenty of strips?

I'm only up catching a +8 from last night, so can't stay up with you. But I'd wait until she starts to rise before shooting. Another thing, whatever delay you do now, your next shot is 12 hours from that so you have to be able to handle the delay in the schedule. You can make up the time 15 minutes a shot or 1/2 hour once a day. So, can you handle a delay?
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

Thank you Wendy. I can test today. And, I can adjust her schedule back from a delay. I will test in 1 minute and see if she is on the rise. If not, wait 20 minutes again.

Thank you!
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

I'll wait for you next test number.

Umm. It's Wendy, Neko is licking her paws right now so can't type. :lol:
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

So, she is surfing, not dropping. This is where it becomes a question how comfortable you feel about shooting this. If you do, get a +1 and a +2 to see how the cycle is shaping up. More people will be up then.

You can also wait another 20 if you want to see if she'll rise more. The thing is, without food, sometimes kitty will drop, but sometimes they'll rise. Hard to tell until you've done it.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

I will wait 20 minutes minutes and test then! These decisions are so hard nailbite_smile

Thank you for staying up :) Rest well...
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

Always hard the first time you shoot low. I was lucky in that Neko eased me slowly down to a green PS. Ophie's just making it harder on you. The one time you skipped, she did go up, so paws crossed she does the same today. Once you shoot, you will have around 2 hours before onset so time to feed her and get her numbers up a bit.

Good luck, I'm heading back to my pillow. If you aren't doing so already, I'd review the shooting low and handling low numbers sticky.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

Thank you again, Wendy. I am heading over to read about shooting low.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

It's been another 20 minutes and she is 100. That's still surfing, right?

I really don't know what to do here. After reading the low number shooting guide (yet again), it seems like Ophie always drops +1 and +2 after her shot and does rise up until when her insulin should kick in? Ugh! This is so confusing.

I will wait yet 20 more minutes and see. :?
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

Also, I don't know if she's just mad at me for all the poking or the lack of food, but she's not purring. I'm guessing mad, because she looks at me quite alert when I talk to her (expecting food).
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97: Q: Do I shoot?

Hi Joely, no advice from me since I am a newbie too... Just wanted to offer you some words of encouragement .
All this is so stressful and hard ...but you really are doing a great job !!! This board, as you probably already know, is truly AMAZING and they will get you and Ophie through this :smile:
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 96: Q: Do I shoot?

Thank you so much, Rise, for your support :) Your posts were the first I read when I joined and Monet was in crisis. You've come along so far in such a short time!
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 96: Q: Do I shoot?

Now she's dropped to 83. Well, that does it. I'm not shooting her. And she's basically so upset about not eating, she won't look at me. And, because she's so upset, I had to work hard to get her last BG (rightfully so). I'm feeding her now and leaving her alone for a bit. Ugh.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 96: Q: Do I shoot?

I realize I'm late to the party so I'm going to provide some 20/20 hindsight -- which is very easy to do when you're not involved in these decisions on a minute by minute basis!

You've shot as low as a 114. The next step would be shooting in the higher green range. Given the surf, this would have been a good opportunity to shoot a little lower providing you were going to be around to monitor.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 96: Q: Do I shoot?

Thanks Sienne! She just kept dropping, so I thought one wouldn't shoot if they are going lower? Ugh, I just can't figure this all out :-( At all. Now, I've probably screwed her up for another 3 days.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 96: Q: Do I shoot?

Hi guys .. Not sure I've been to Ophie's condo before, so welcome from us! Numbers are looking VERY nice today! Keep surfing Ophie! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 96: Q: Do I shoot?

I just checked on her (but didn't poke her) and she purred for me, so I guess all is forgiven. She didn't eat very much, though, but she never does in one sitting, she's a definite grazer. I will see if she is up for poking at +15.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 96: Q: Do I shoot?

Joely

I agree with Sienne....if you were going to be home (I know today is a workday but not sure if you were working), all these numbers are in meter variance. It would have been best to shoot the first number, feed her, test her at +1.

I know....I'm being a MOnday morning QB and I'm truly sorry. :-D

Where are you now with her and are you working today? If it's close to +15, it's going to take some work to get her back on schedule unless she either bounces really high and you shoot early or you skip.

Eta: sorry...just took my first sip of ~O) and realized you skipped :-D
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 96, +15.75 96

Thanks, Marje. I do appreciate your advice so much... !

I just got a poke. At +15.75, she was 96. So, I guess that's still surfing?

This number makes me happy I didn't shoot her. How low would her shot have taken her today? Of course, when she spikes high later, I will eat my words and regret my choice this morning! Taking the risk is just so hard for me. Also, I get myself all twisted over the numbers. When somebody else explains it to me, it all seems to make sense. When I'm looking at the sheet, watching her drop (I wasn't looking at her numbers as a variance), and seeing how she always drops after her shot, it's terrifying! Anyway... I must sound crazy :lol:

I am working today... from home, so I am keeping my eye on her.

I just gave her some chicken breast in hopes of further redemption after making her wait so long to eat this morning! :lol:
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 83, +15.75 96, +17.25 1

At +17.25, Ophelia is 118. Are we still surfing or is she finally climbing?

Ophie found a lovely sunbeam and is glowing, cozy, warm right now :-D
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 83, +15.75 96, +17.25 1

This number makes me happy I didn't shoot her. How low would her shot have taken her today?

The reality is that while a kitty can drop 300 points when the numbers start out high, they obviously don't drop like that when the starting point is lower. For example, today, Gabby started out at 289. At +4 she was at 88. However, on 9/14, her PMPS was 117 and the lowest she went was 87. The ideal Lantus curve is flat. As a cat gets better regulated, the curve does begin to flatten out. Of course, many of us also use food to manipulate the curve. Again, if you look at Gabby's SS, you see in my comments section, when I'm adding some HC to her food to slow things down. (Please note, though, I'm using an approach with Gabby whereby I try to use food to prevent her from getting dose reductions. She's a long term diabetic and has a history of being rather bouncy.)

My point is that Ophie numbers would not necessarily have dropped to a dangerously low level if you'd shot. Whenever you are shooting lower than usual, we encourage you to test early and often so if numbers start to gather momentum, you'll see it and can intervene.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 83, +15.75 96, +17.25 1

Of course, when YOU say it, it makes perfect (brilliant!) sense to me :lol: :lol:. When I'm sitting all alone at at 5:30 in the morning... well, you see how well that goes for me ;-) .

Tomorrow is another day and another opportunity for me to not screw this all up for little Ophelia. At some point, I will get this right (I hope).

Thank you Sienne!
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 83, +15.75 96, +17.25 1

Sorry I couldn't stay with you this morning Joely. But you are right, Ophie will give you another chance to do this! :-D Paws crossed it's when you can be home to monitor. And it does help if you've got someone with you the first time.
 
Re: 11/20 Ophie +11 116, +12 97, +13 83, +15.75 96, +17.25 1

Not to worry, Wendy... You were a huge help. I said this the last time I chickened out of shooting Ophie because I got freaked out, but this time, I mean it... NEXT TIME, I will shoot! :lol:
 
PMPS 280

Ophie is doing well, despite her silly momma :lol:

She is eating her dinner. I stuck with her regular shot time (I was 10 minutes early) after skipping her shot this morning.

Thanks to all who were so supportive today.
 
oh boy, we all get it. it is very hard to see it and figure it out when you're on your own and it's early in the morning. dyana is usually our early morning east coast angel and she's on vacation at the moment.

take a peek at the spreadsheets of the 4 kitties on OTJ trials right now. what you'll see is that they've given insulin when their cat is probably anything over 60 or so, some of them in the 50's. the curve becomes almost a line. it's part of the Lantus pattern. Ophie is actually doing really well - i think of those lower preshots as a little gift and an opportunity to lower the whole range of blood sugar numbers.

the criteria is always will you be home to monitor and do you have high carb supplies - and if the answer is yes, you likely are going to be ok shooting at +12. we also don't encourage shooting a dropping number - that's more a number that is going down in the later part of the cycle. so if you have a 130 at +11 and a 100 at +12, that's definitely a dropping number. if you have a dropping number, you want to test about every 20 minutes and as soon as you see it rising, shoot! with all of it, anytime you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, get a +1 and a +2 to see how Ophie is responding.

but all of us understand the nervousness that comes with this. i thought the same thing you said - if my cat dropped 200 points from 300 to 100 on a particular dose, and i shoot that dose at 110, my kitter's gonna be in negative numbers! but it doesn't work that way.

also, another option that isn't really highlighted in the Low Numbers sticky, although it is mentioned, is that you can give a token dose - say 1/2 of the regular dose, if you're not sure what to do. skipping is also an option. you gotta be ok with your choice, so don't feel pressured. you'll get another chance to do it! ;-) :lol:

once you've had the opportunity to do this when you're going to be home, you'll get tests and see how Ophie reacts to it, and then you'll have more confidence about it. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top