11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243,+2 218,+4 192,+6 163,+8 216

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good day everyone. Lots of prayers going out to Jill and Mike and all who need them.

We had a rough night with morgaine peeing on my bed once again. I have to keep her out of there. She is incontenent right now and is showing signs of neuropathy in her hind legs. She is still able to jump up and actually got onto her condo last night but i can see her struggling. i started methyl B12 about 10 days ago, Zobaline for kitties. With the infection?, the higher numbers, the glucose spilling in urine and all the symptoms of unregulated FD, I am more than frustrated by the meter issue.

Last night I used the relion and it was 128. I questioned that so i tested with the OT and it was 175. With the variance factor I suppose I could accept the relion and I have found it much more accurate when testing myself while comparing it to 3 other meters but for my sanity, I am using my Precision X-Tra on her for now. I have 300 strips left for it and I know it is an accurate meter, usually reading slightly higher than the OT. Until I can work this out and get Morgaine down to regulated levels, where the meters do not vary so much, I am just going to stick with my trusty old Precsion. Takes more blood but has always served me well.

So, please say some prayers for my girl. She has a wonderful appetite and continues to be very loving so getting her back into the blues is where we need to go. I know 243 isn't so bad but after all these months of believing she was regulated, well.....now she is suffering the consequences of FD unregulated. I am so saddened by her condition and very determined to get her regulated. I am going to try to do a curve with an every 2 hour check today so I can report that to the vet.

Have a good day!
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243 and more meter madness

Poor Morgaine :sad: sorry to hear the incontinence is still happening, how frustrating for you both. Sending some healing vines your way.
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243 and more meter madness

I can't thank you enough for alerting us to this meter problem. I am quite dispirited right now. We knew Weezer wasn't yet regulated, but we thought we were close. To realize how high she has been for so long just breaks my heart.

I hope that with the more accurate tests you'll be able to get Morgaine regulated again very soon. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243 and more meter madness

Hi Rosalie,
We are thinking of you and Morgaine and hoping you can get her regulated so that these worries will diminish. I'll be curious to hear what the Abbot rep. has to say when you contact him. We are all grateful to you for taking on this issue and gathering so much data. Wishing you a good evening and a good curve.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243 and more meter madness

sending lots of healing vines her way and of course you know Do Lou and I are totally frustrated over this meter situation as well one would like to be able to trust their meter sure hope that after you get that data ready Abbot will listen to you I may take Do Lou in for BW to check on his kidneys with him being so high like this really makes me worry...
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243,+2 218,+4 192

Thanks everyone and for those using the FS, I want you to know that they have to pay attention since i am not going to discuss Morgaine but I am going to discuss me. FYI, when Abbott recalled all of those strips last year, I had 1400 in my closet. I get a 3 month supply by mail and had just received my order of 900. I test up to 10 times a day due to type 1 on a pump. so, because their Customer Care had such a hard time believing me and getting all of my strips replaced, I ended up getting the name of and calling J. Scott House, a big wig exec at Abbott Diabetes Care in CA. He couldn't have been nicer or more supportive and he got me my strips overnight. We communicated by phone several times and also by e-mail. he listened to all of my concerns about how long it took them to recall and notify people since they sat on the info for months. So, I am hopeful that with all the data I collected on myself comparing all of these meters, including Abbott Lab's Precision X-Tra, and the potential hazards of a person with type 1 on a pump not having an accurate meter, I am hoping he will take action.

Some of the issues I will raise are :

Who makes up the control groups? do they do vigorous comparisons with type 1 diabetics and raise the blood glucose levels high and then test them based on insulin protocols like I have done? That is the only way to know if these meters are accurate. Must use people with insulin dependent diabetes and fluctuate numbers and then compare to labs.

I want to know how they go about getting their quality control accomplished.

I will also let him know that I need to report this to the FDA and my endocrinologist. I think there may be a huge issue for Abbott since they have spent a fortune advertising and promoting this meter. Maybe it isn't all meters or maybe it is certain lots of test strips. They had plenty of problems with their test strips before so who knows?

If anyone can think of anything else you want me to discuss, leaving kitties out of it of course, let me know. If I do not hear from him tomorrow, I will call him. His assistant gave me her direct line.

Please know that as much as I am doing this for morgaine and all of the kitties using the FS, this is a huge issue for me and the millions of diabetics using the FS meters.
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243,+2 218,+4 192

(((Rosalie))) I hope you can get Morgaine back into the blues regularly and her symptoms will abate. I know how very, very much you love her and she loves you.

I think it is so brave and wonderful of you to take on Abbott for all those in LL using these meters. You are right that they probably would not respond if they thought it was inaccuracy on kitties; but they cannot refute or
argue when it is inaccuracy for a human diabetic. I am looking forward to what you learn and what they say.
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243,+2 218,+4 192

I second everything Marje said. Thank you for taking this on for all the beans and kitties who need accurate meters. Big hugs for you and Morgaine and hope she gets in the blues soon.
Liz
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243,+2 218,+4 192

She's in the blues, high blues but blues and on my Precision meter which I know is accurate. I think she will need a little more juice but we shall go slowly here and let the shed fill with her new increase etc. 163 at +6.
 
Re: 11/20 Morgaine AMPS 243,+2 218,+4 192

SENDING STRONG 'REGULATION VIBES"...AND EVEN STRONGER
"RETURN TO HEALTH" VIBES!!!
 
man-oh-man. . .

Question - those testing solutions - what good are they? It seems they will only indicate if the meter is out of it's original calibration or not. Would that be the case?
 
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
man-oh-man. . .

Question - those testing solutions - what good are they? It seems they will only indicate if the meter is out of it's original calibration or not. Would that be the case?
Everytime I have called Abbott over these many, many years, they always ask that you test the meter with the solution. Since i keep the solution on hand, I always test and they always fall within the range. I would imagine the solution is another quality control tool. Let's face it, many companies have quality control that gets easily manipulated. Sorry to show my cynical side to you all but I have little trust in corporations that make huge amounts of money off of sick people. As you all know, diabetes is a very expensive disease to have if you want good control. Many people don't have the means or the insurance to pay for this stuff. I know I am digressing but nothing surprises me, not after I learned that Abbott had the info on their recall 6 months prior to doing anything about it so they let me and all others use faulty strips that could effect our well being, our health. When I questioned that, the customer service gal got panicky and said that not all the strips in each box were faulty, just some of them so one was not always getting a false reading.

The lack of education about the disease they are doing customer care for is also appalling. Many vets are not even well educated in treating our cats and the pet food companies have a stranglehold on many of them. Heck, i have been hospitalized in units where no one knew how to use an insulin pump. There is just too much out there that is unstable, especially with diabetes education so meterr inaccuracy really doesn't surprise me when i think about it. Who would know? I didn't until Morgaine got totally unregulated and started to show serious signs of being so out of control.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top