11/20 Maverick PMPS 88 +3 70

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS 99 again

You guys make me smile! Thank you :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I think I'll have some time to read a whole lot more condo's than I normally can. I have the house to myself and Maverick has been doing great. I'm gaining confidence and learning a ton. I've also been able to read a lot more profiles - I love reading about your guys kitties.
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

I think I'm just wasting a lot of test strips Grrr.

I thought his nadir was between 5 and 6 with the data I have (if night time and daytime are the same). So if he is rising at +6 I don't worry.

So I come home from an errand and don't find him. I go downstairs and finding him lying on my spot on the couch. I have never seen him there before. On the baby stairs in front of the couch yes, but not on the couch itself. So I take him upstairs and test him. He's lower at 6.75 than he was at +5.

So I think I'm wasting a lot of strips. My data isn't really meaningful.

Do I just take 12 tests one day and will that tell me more than these spot checks I'm doing? I just threw away 50$ in strips by accident (can't find them anywhere and had to buy more last night).
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

Oh and the last two shots have been 15 minutes earlier (moving up time to 6:30AM over a number of days)
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

Hi Karrie! The nadir is not always exactly the same, it can move around. It's a good idea to get some spot checks later in the cycle sometimes because cats love to surprise us! For example, Tinkles was pretty reliable with is nadir, right around +6, but recently his nadir is sometimes +8 or +9. The data you have collected isn't useless at all, it's very good data! If you want to do a curve, you don't need to test every hour...every two hours is fine, that's what most people do with a curve. If you want to try to see where the nadir is, then maybe test every hour from +4 to +8 if you think it's right around +5 or +6.

What you're doing with the time is just fine....moving back by 15 minutes at a time should have very little impact. Maverick's numbers are beautiful, keep up the good work! :-D
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

Thanks Laurie. I got comfortable and he wants to keep me on my toes.

I like the idea of testing from 4 - 8. I wish I could keep him right where he is for a week and a half so I didn't have to worry while I was gone. Guess we'll see where he is on Wednesday.
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

This coming Thursday, but we won't be staying over on Saturday so I'll only be gone for three days. Means he'll only be alone for two days (6:30AM-5:30PM Thursday and Friday). My husband should be home all day Saturday. I haven't given him the diabetes course yet. I plan on having him do the evening injections and PMPS tests until I leave. He'll be snarky about it, but I think he'll do fine. Since I haven't managed a low with him yet, I just don't want it to happen when no one is around.

I could get the neighbor to pop in at +6 or +7 just to make sure he's conscious (*half joking*). There is no way he would allow a stranger to test him.

I am going to start writing detailed notes tomorrow. My dog is on heart meds every six hours so I'm thinking of having the neighbor drop in and give her, her 1PM meds.
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

Ok, maybe you could post on Wednesday morning about a dose suggestion while you are gone. It's a little too early to decide yet, it's best to wait until right before you leave, but I wanted to make a mental note...

It'll be fine to reduce his dose while you are gone, and go right back to the previous dose when you return. He'll be safe, and you can go on your trip without worrying. :smile:
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

Hi Karrie, thanks for stopping by to visit the drama queen last night. Nadirs certainly are a moving target. Tess usually nadirs about +4, but as you saw last night she plummeted at the end of the cycle. I was prepared for it because I was testing and saw her dropping all day. That's why I did the extra +10 & +11 tests. If you get some late cycle tests it can help you stay on top of a low preshot, and you don't have to stall as long.

You also asked about bounces. Looking at Maverick's SS it looks like you don't have to worry about that too much, what a beautiful run he has been having. But, yes, we shoot the same dose when they are bouncing, remember that Lantus is based on nadir. WE try to slow a fast drop w/ food to slow them downand prevent a bounce, but once they rocket up it's just a waiting game. ECID and I've known Tess tot take 2 or 3 day to clear. As they become better regulated the bounces level out. Hope this helps.
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

Karrie

I've missed visiting your condo lately....sorry..so many things to juggle. Maverick is doing awesome! You've really got him in the lovely greens alot!!! Good job!
I'm sure he will do just wonderful while you are gone.
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick AMPS +6.75 68? help with curve

I too haven't had much time to visit your condo. I think Maverick is doing very well - impressive numbers. Lots of greens - nice job!

You've got some great advice here for when you leave. I think maverick will do just fine.
 
Re: 11/20 Maverick PMPS 88

Thanks guys :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I'm liking the greens too.

Good to know about the bounce. I think I completely understand it now. (Drama queen made me laugh).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top