? 11/20 - Loki - Day 20 AMPS 355 PMPS 334

Loki'sMom82

Member Since 2025
I am so confused by Loki's numbers.. Since his dose increased, his BG has gone up, not down. But he's demonstrating more energy and alertness, and his appetite's improved though he's sometimes ravenous. He's also lost a few pounds unexpectedly: 16 lb in Aug., 14.5 lb. in mid-Oct., after insulin - 12.9 lb in late Nov. Was hoping to find his nadar on today's curve but no luck.

Can you make any sense of his numbers?? I'm struggling to understand them and also feel I may be missing something important.

Thanks in advance for any help!!
 
Looks like Loki needs a dose increase to 1.75 units. Some cats will show an initial good reaction to insulin, but then not. Feline diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. Keep increase per the dosing method, and you will get there. :bighug:. The fact that he's feeling better is huge!

I'm a bit worried about how fast he's losing weight. Is he getting the same number of calories as before his diagnosis?
 
Ok, PHEW! I'm so glad to know this. I was starting to go through all the scenarios on the web .. am I injecting him wrong, is this "Somogyi effect" ...

He's eating just as much now volume-wise as he was before, but he's consuming ~300 kcal (rough estimate) less/day since we cut out the mountain of Temptations treats we were giving him. The Weruva Truluxe wet food we had him on prior was similar in kcals to the other Weruva wet foods he's on now, so I don't believe that made a dent.

Still, that wouldn't explain his weight loss between Aug. (16 lb.) and Oct. (14.5 lb.), because this was pre-diagnosis and he was getting the same excessive portion of Temptations then.
 
Still, that wouldn't explain his weight loss between Aug. (16 lb.) and Oct. (14.5 lb.), because this was pre-diagnosis and he was getting the same excessive portion of Temptations then.
We had a similar experience around the time we were diagnosed, weight loss despite eating and treats. I wonder in your case if he was running high back then.

But that doesn’t explain the drop from Oct. to Nov. How many calories of regular food does he normally get?
 
Since his diagnosis in mid-Oct., he's been getting 250 kcal wet food + 37 calories plain baked chicken = 287/day.
 
Back
Top