11/20 Buddy AMPS 117, Need travel dosing advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

sommerbethel

Member Since 2009
a while...

Hi Everyone that remembers us!

I have posted in so long because Buddy has been doing so well!

I am traveling, tomorrow, Monday-Friday, and need dosing advice. These were last minute plans and I cannot find someone to take care of Buddy that knows how to test as DBF will be traveling with me. However, my friend will be shooting. It makes me really nervous not testing but I don't have a choice at this point so I'm being positive that everything will work out just fine.

Right now Buddy is at 1.50u BID. I'm struggling to make the decision as to whether the shot should be 1.00 BID or 0.50 BID.

Any advice is much appreciated.

His chart is up to date (many NS days because of my crazy work schedule)

Thanks!
 
I'm not sure...he was sick all last week and didn't eat much with me here. He seems to be much better now. But he only likes me and DBF so it's hard to say, he freaks out when it's anyone besides us taking care of him :(
 
I can relate. I had to leave Jazzy for a couple of days without being tested, and it made me nervous. It looks like Buddy has been extremely consistent on 1.5u so I don't think you need to reduce all the way to 0.5u. Can you do something like have her shoot 1u, but if he is not eating well then call you? Or if you won't be accessible, maybe tell her to either shoot less if he's not eating well, or feed high carb food if he'll eat that better than he'll eat LC.
 
The other thing I would do it to make a sample syringe. Using some colored liquid (e.g., milk, orange juice, gatorade), draw up the 1.0u so the person caring for Buddy has a visual on what the syringe should look like. That way, there is no chance of a miscommunication. I've done this even with a vet tech I've used the first time she's taken care of Gabby.
 
Thank you guys so much! I will use all the advice :) 1.0u it will be pending eating :) I also draw a diagram of an insulin needle and mark what line to pull to. I also mark all the syringes with a marker where to pull to :)

Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top