11/2 Twice PMPS 466

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Recap Last Night
PMPS 122 (Wait for advice. Gave shot 1 hr late)
+1 126
+2 124
+3 129
+6.5 140
+8.5 175

Good morning LL ~O) ~O) Hope everyone got a decent night's sleep.

Yay Twice! He was a champ last night. Stayed in nice safe numbers for his mama. Whew! (Thanks Wendy and Chris for holding my hand) Super busy kitty too. Up in the window, down on my head, up in the window, under the blankets, onto the dresser, repeat... Happy kitty.

This morning I woke up to a huge puke beside the bed. Couple little hairballs in it. He was acting hungry (licking the empty plate), but not quite hungry enough for his ff turkey & giblets. Only ate about an oz (compared to the 5-7.5 oz he has been wolfing down at feeding times). He seems content enough though.
Have a great Saturday everyone. We are sending vines to all in need.

Thank you for the visits yesterday Dyana, Josie, Angela, Wendy, Jane and Chris (lost you last night-hope everything went good with China).
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202

Bummer about the hairball puke, but nice surf last night for Twice!! I hope his tummy settles and he chows down the rest of his breffis soon. Have a great day, Kim!!
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137

Oh, sorry you woke up to pukus. I hope Twice's tummy feels better.
Mangia your breffis, Twice.
I hope you have a great day, Kim :-D
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68

Morning Kim,

Well, at least you will have you pajama party during the day! :mrgreen: :-D :mrgreen: Looks like Twice has plans for you today.

Please surf safely Twice!

Jane
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32

And we are now in it. He ate the rest of his breaky before I got a test. Now eating 2 tbls hc & gravy
*too soon to say, but +3 32 and 20min later 41....maybe his breaky was enough to bump him without the hc...
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32(41)

I hope Twice surfs a little higher for you. He's keeping you on your toes today. :mrgreen:

I just read Twice's profile. It sounds like you have a wonderful family and were all very lucky to have found each other.
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32(41)

Well congrats on the reducie :mrgreen: Time to come on back up Twice ;-)
Sorry about the present this morning :roll:
Happy Caturday Kim!
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32(41)(45)(50)+4 43(

Keep doing what you're doing! A little more HC won't hurt since he's already proven he gets a reduction.
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32(41)(45)(50)+4 43(

Thanks for stopping in ladies. I just gave Twice another tsp hc. He is currently at +5.5 79. I'm feeling good about his climb. Will continue pokey pokey. So looks like back to 1unit tomorrow. But here's the part I'm still fuzzy on...He goes back to 1unit and his numbers were pretty high there. How long does he stay at the reduction and what is it that makes the next increase possibly work? Is it the depot letting a more controlled amount of insulin out as needed and needs to be "trained"??
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32(41)(45)(50)+4 43(

Hi Kim - good job handling those low numbers today. Congrats on the reduction. :-D :-D I see that Twice has decided he's going to bounce after all that excitement. Once thing you can do to help that bounce is to do what we call "shooting through the bounce". This means shooting his old dose (1.25) for one shot before going to his new dose tomorrow morning. Depending on what his PMPS number is, you might want to do that. This is only an option to do if you know kitty is going to go high for that cycle.

Your objective is to try to get Twice to spend as much time in healing normal numbers as possible. After the low, when he got to the 70's, you would try feeding some low carb food to see if he would get up on his surfboard. Do keep track of how much higher carb food you fed and when, as you'll want to keep of track of what works for next time.

Although he'll be going back to his previous dose, the hope is that having spent some time in normal numbers he'll do better at that dose this time. To answer the question about when/if you go back, wait until the bounce is cleared and see what his numbers look like. From the protocol sticky:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.

So, if after the bounce is cleared, Twice is stuck in yellows and pinks again, you'd think about an increase, but maybe not quite all the way to 1.25U as that is what dropped him into the 30's.
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32(41)(45)(50)+4 43(

Wendy,
Thank you so much. That is exactly the missing link issue I was having and you translated it purrfectly for me :-D I am going to shoot through the bounce assuming his pmps is ??? (still pink/high yellow I'm guessing). He has a bit of a history of going high the following cycles after such low drops. I am not trying to rush anything along, but this is the perfect time for me to see how he will respond to these different options, as I do not work tomorrow and can monitor him very well this wknd.
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32(41)(45)(50)+4 43(

Unless kitty has a history of clearing the bounce in less than one cycle, it's probably OK to shoot through the bounce if he's in the pinks. I'd probably not do it if he's in the yellows, as that's where he started today and you still need to see what he'll do following a low cycle.
 
Re: 11/2 Twice AMPS 202 +1 137 +2 68 +3 32(41)(45)(50)+4 43(

Sounds good. I check him on the quarter hour tonight so if yellow 1u if pink 1.25u (based on his previous Lantus bounce).

*Interesting side note: 5 out of 8 paws down for Go-Chicken, Turkey & Duck
8 paws up for BFF Tuna & Chicken 4 Eva (must be the tuna because I have never received a unanimous vote)
 
Ewwwww...what an icky number!! (although understandable considering how low he went this morning)

You did perfect shooting through the bounce! It'll give him a little extra "ooph" to help bring him back down a little quicker.

Good job today! If you haven't already learned, you could have expected him to go low today when you saw how much of a drop in numbers between AMPS and +1. We generally say that if the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot number, it's going to be a "normal" cycle, but if the +2 is much lower, it's going to be an "active" cycle. That's how I knew to watch China last night..when she dropped from 129 to 96 in 2 hours, I knew she would be going lower.

Hope Twice clears the bounce quickly and gets back on track..and congratulations on the reduction!!

Love what Twice typed on his spreadsheet...guess he wanted to add something to the remarks..now we just need to have "hhhhhhhhhhgbyy" translated :lol: :lol:
 
Thanks for checking in Chris, and the encouragement. I'm still just so impressed that you caught China's drop yesterday...it didn't seem like a significant dip to me at the +2 (33 pnts). You really know your kitty. Twice's dips are a lot more exaggerated (thank goodness he is making it more obvious for me ;-) ) :lol: Funny you noticed Twice's msg. I seen it a couple hours ago and just couldn't bring myself to erase it :lol: :lol: I Love that silly little bugger :-D
 
It's all relative...for China to drop 33 points when she's only at 129 to start with is a big drop! If she'd started out at 330 and dropped 33 points, that's only a small drop of about 10%..when she starts at 129, its more like 30%

Twice dropped from 202 to 68 in 2 hours...again, that's a huge drop, so that +2 is a really good test to get since it's a "window" into the future.

China's done her fair share of typing on my computer too...mostly she does it when I'm on Facebook and she sends crazy messages to some of my friends...I've gotten several messages from my friends that just said "Huh??"...LOL
 
Yowzers, Twice. I hope that bounce clears soon (and safely, of course!)
I had to check out Twice's ss addition ~ so cute! Back in April, Ripley typed "poooooooool9o." Couldn't erase that, either ;-) (I think she was telling me she wants a pool ~ funny, I tell the same thing to DH quite frequently :lol: .)

You did a great job today, Kim :-D :-D :-D
Have a great night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top