11/2 River (AMPS 142, +3 256, +6 233) — increased to 1.25u today

Paigeworthy

Member Since 2018
Hi all.

I'm honestly wondering if I'm even getting River's insulin properly administered every time. Feels like it should be making more of a dent than it is. I just asked in the main health forum about my syringe needle length and whether it was worth seeking out for a better chance of getting into her subcutaneous layer…

With that said, according to TR protocol for kitties with ketones I increased her dose today by 1/4 unit.
I've been monitoring every 3 hours and will continue to do so through the weekend with this new dose.

Any thoughts for me? Some of my neuroses are starting to fade, which feels good…

I know this is a process but arrrrrrgh hurry up and level out, babygirl!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4412.png
    IMG_4412.png
    737.7 KB · Views: 76
Did you ever see the post on Testing and Shooting Tips? Might be something in there for you. I liked the roll method of shooting. Needle length seems to be personal taste. I used the 8mm ones. I did try the 6mm ones, but didn't like them as much. Of course, I was dealing with a long haired furball.

From looking at the spreadsheet, I do have one comment for you. It's good that you are getting those +2 tests at night. However, when you see a big drop like you did last night between the preshot and the +2, I would have set an alarm for a test a couple hours later. Those +2 drops are indicative of active cycles that can use more monitoring.

Good luck with the new dose. Good to hear you are starting to relax a bit and get into the swing of things. :)

Here is the link to your previous post. We include those so people reading can easily go back and see the history. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-31-river-amps-71-unusually-low-wtf.205728/
 
However, when you see a big drop like you did last night between the preshot and the +2, I would have set an alarm for a test a couple hours later. /

From previous spreadsheet rows, it seems her nighttime cycle has this pattern of her glucose dropping more dramatically than in the morning (figures). I know ECID but is there typically a number that constitutes a "big drop"?

(and thank you for the testing & shooting link — that's helpful.)
 
More than a 10% drop would be significant. River, like most cats, likely does drop lower at night than the daytime.
 
Back
Top