11/2 Milo AMPS n/a, +2 416 +5 278 +10 470 Dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ava-and-Milo

Member Since 2021
Hello! First time poster, i apologize if I go about posting incorrectly.
Quick facts:
Arizona, MST.
Milo, 9y.r, 16 lbs
Diagnosed 7/20
Diet changed immediately to FF and now on Friskies ( lost 2 lbs before insulin)
Started insulin 9/16 - .5u Lantus 8:30am/8:30pm

Today i got a Libre installed and i wanted to share my numbers so far. I am assuming his nadir is at +5 because it is the lowest number on the sheet- But I don't know what that means or how to use this information.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...vAluxlbPdIxUhdyZiEUxB9BJyk/edit#gid=361360320
 
Welcome. You need to start by posting for the first time on main/health/health. Then set up your signature. You also need to change your spreadsheet to give permission for us to see it. One of the moderators will move this to main/health.
 
Hello and welcome, I moved your post to Feline Health so we can get you set up properly for the Lantus forum.

I cannot see your spreadsheet - it says I don't have permission to access it. In this post How to Create a Spreadsheet, starting on Step 5, are the instructions to set it up so we can see it. Let us know if you need help doing that and putting the link to your spreadsheet in your signature.

So, it looks like Milo was started on insulin two months after his diagnosis? I'll have more questions once I see the spreadsheet.
 
Hello and welcome, I moved your post to Feline Health so we can get you set up properly for the Lantus forum.

I cannot see your spreadsheet - it says I don't have permission to access it. In this post How to Create a Spreadsheet, starting on Step 5, are the instructions to set it up so we can see it. Let us know if you need help doing that and putting the link to your spreadsheet in your signature.

So, it looks like Milo was started on insulin two months after his diagnosis? I'll have more questions once I see the spreadsheet.

I have tried a few times to publish the spreadsheet and make it accessible and it says that that is is published? I am a bit confused about it. regardless i am going to attach a screen shot of the spread sheet for now until i can get it resolved
(( i think i got it to work))
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-11-02 at 10.20.33 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-11-02 at 10.20.33 PM.png
    127.4 KB · Views: 186
Last edited:
Maybe Bhooma @Bandit's Mom can help you out with the publishing.

So, has Milo been on the same dose since 9/16?
Yes, he has been on .5 from the start. Vet originally suggested 2u, but the facebook group mentioned its uncommon to start so high and that a safe dose would be .5. So i started there, and have been unable to have successful BG tests since. Frankly our insulin shooting was going horribly ( many fur shots) up until about two weeks ago.
 
OK, let's give it a couple days more to gather data, and then we can see if he needs to go up to 0.75 units. I presume you have syringes with half unit markings?
 
Both your signature and your first post mention 9/16 as when insulin was started.
i am horribly embarrassed.. it was 9/16. i think time has mashed together and I am living in a time vortex. It feels much longer than it's been i guess. I went back through text messages and can confirm September 16, 2021 is when we started insulin.
 
:bighug::bighug: Don't be embarrassed. There is a lot to keep track of and learn when dealing with a diabetic cat. It will get easier.
 
I have tried a few times to publish the spreadsheet and make it accessible and it says that that is is published? I am a bit confused about it. regardless i am going to attach a screen shot of the spread sheet for now until i can get it resolved
(( i think i got it to work))
Maybe Bhooma @Bandit's Mom can help you out with the publishing.
Hi Ava, welcome to FDMB! :-)

I am able to see your SS via the link in your Signature.
 
It really has been so much :( I will keep updating his chart as i take readings.. Would you mind looking over his sheet again tomorrow?
 
He's been on Lantus since 9/16 (or was he on a different insulin)? How long has he been on this dose of 0.5U?
 
I can see the spreadsheet now too, and thank you for getting it set up. A cat's patterns on insulin can vary a bit from day to day, so I'm looking for a few days of day to make sure we can see how low this dose is taking your cat. We base dose changes on the nadirs, or low points.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top