? 11-2 Markies AMPS 461, +2 (267) If anyone wants to help I´ll appreciate

Status
Not open for further replies.

Silvina

Active Member
hello all,

hope to be more lucky today with my thread.

I would like your opinions on this huge drop from 461 to 267. We are not using R, just Levemir and we are keeping the same dose 1.25.

As I was saying the other days I see Markies is showing lower numbers at the beggining of the cycle and then he goes up later on.

However I know we have to settle after using R and also after so much stress. Now he is behaving again like when he was recently diagnosed. He is meowing like crazy during the nights (Im thinking that this is dangerous now... this could be a sign of this recurrent anemia due to heamobartonella).

Well, also stress could have triggered all his diseases including haemobartonella which he was on abs some months ago, herpes virus which he has been sneezing and I know that he is under stress right now after last vet visit and moom´s sleeping over her house.

Any idea on this hughe drop in such a short time (so fast when Levemir has a late nadir)?

Silvi
 
Hi Silvi,

Normally, I would question whether or not that AMPS is an accurate reading, but looking at your 11/01 numbers, I'd say it might be. Markies dropped as much, or more, yesterday. I honestly don't know what to tell you about these wild swings, but it could have to do with stress and bouncing. This is such an unpredictable disease, and so many outside things can influence numbers that sometimes it's impossible to understand. I imagine these large swings must make Markies feel strange, and that's why he sometimes behaves as though he's uncomfortable, meowing and such. I really don't know what to tell you to do. Let me see if I can get some other people to look at your SS and give some input. Keep in mind that it's the middle of the night in the States, so it will be awhile before anyone else responds.
 
Hi Silvi,

Normally, I would question whether or not that AMPS is an accurate reading, but looking at your 11/01 numbers, I'd say it might be. Markies dropped as much, or more, yesterday. I honestly don't know what to tell you about these wild swings, but it could have to do with stress and bouncing. This is such an unpredictable disease, and so many outside things can influence numbers that sometimes it's impossible to understand. I imagine these large swings must make Markies feel strange, and that's why he sometimes behaves as though he's uncomfortable, meowing and such. I really don't know what to tell you to do. Let me see if I can get some other people to look at your SS and give some input. Keep in mind that it's the middle of the night in the States, so it will be awhile before anyone else responds.
Thank you dear!!! I know, Im a very lat person, I can wait.
Anyway, I see this quick response to Levemir is from some months to now... something that is weird.. that´s why I was now reaching the 12 hours and then he was bouncing. That´s why Rapid came into my mind.

Probably wrong decission. But good that people now can help me understand this quick drops.

Good nights!! Im going to bed at 5.45 am!!

Silvi
 
Hi Silvi.
I hope you and Markies get a nice sleep.
All I have to say is that J.D. used to have wild swings from high to low and back again, too. I did try to use R and I think I messed him up more than I helped him, but who knows. Markies crying does concern me as it is does you. Is he on an appetite stimulant?
 
Is he hungry? Is it OK to feel more than 4 times per day (/night)? (We've just been diagnosed, after steroids for another condition, so haven't started insulin yet -- to see if this may go into remission with food alone, so may be different, but our vet says feed him as much and often as he wants.)
 
Hi Silvi.
I hope you and Markies get a nice sleep.
All I have to say is that J.D. used to have wild swings from high to low and back again, too. I did try to use R and I think I messed him up more than I helped him, but who knows. Markies crying does concern me as it is does you. Is he on an appetite stimulant?
no dear, he is not... he is on abs (enrofloxacine) but this crying started after this stress episode (the vet visit specially). Before that, he was not crying.
 
Is he hungry? Is it OK to feel more than 4 times per day (/night)? (We've just been diagnosed, after steroids for another condition, so haven't started insulin yet -- to see if this may go into remission with food alone, so may be different, but our vet says feed him as much and often as he wants.)

Markies has ben diabetic for about 3 years or so.. he eats raw and I can´t find a pattern now more than stress or something else that I need to find through a blood work. But that will create more stress on him.. He also has a black thin on his nose, like fungus (not sure if its fungus)

He is not having a good time poor guy...

Im so lost...
 
Hi Silvi. :)

I've been looking at Markies' numbers from the last week or so, and I have to say I'm wondering if his dose might actually be a little too high. You got some good numbers on both 10/27 AM cycle and 10/28 PM cycle. It would have been good to see what he did between the 56 and the 78 on 10/27 as he'd headed into a pretty obvious bounce by PMPS. And again on 10/28 he was still coming down when you got that 67, but by morning he was up to 300. You'd also had days about a week before that where he dropped from the high 200s or the 300s into green, but then wasn't tested again until next pre-shot so anything could have happened in the hours between the green number you got and his pre-shot number. Since then he seems to have pulled a few cycles where he's dropped a long way (although not into normal numbers) early on and then headed right back up. It does make me wonder if he went under 50 on those green cycles and you've maybe got some self-protecting hormones kicking in and keeping him higher at the moment. If you look at yesterday, he dropped 300 points in just 4 hours - again, we don't know if he dropped further before heading back up to his +7 number, but the meowing and begging for food sounds to me as though he simply dropped too far, too fast in the early part of the cycle.
 
Dears, Im out now, having a difficult moment, sorry I didn´t answer and will not be able to write.. I will sleep over moms house.. she has fever.. she is not good.. (for those that don´t know mom has cancer). I feel she is close to the end... pray for her and for me please...
 
So sorry to hear about your Mom. I will keep both you and her in my prayers and thoughts.

hands praying.jpg


And Markies, too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I can’t help you with Markies as I’m too new to all of this.... I know how hard it is to nurse a parent with cancer, especially at the end. I was there for my dad at the end in 2015. My heart goes out to you. I wish you courage, and strength - and ultimately, peace. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thak you all!!!

Its hard because we don´t know for sure when its going to be when its going to be the day. There is not exactly a dx.. (a biopsy) but for the images, she has the whole liver sick with a big not removable tumor and with metastasis. And she is having symthoms lately, and progresively having symptoms, and you know that she is slowly shutting down.. however she still walks, goes from here to there... but yesterday´s fever out of the blue was so scary for me.

Finally she took ibuprophen and then fever was gone. She slept ok, obviously I didn´t but at least I feel peace in my mind.

I will need to discuss with you guys for a protocol for this cases. I will also try to find a neighbour that can feed Markies early in the morning. Hope I can do that.

I just arrived home after shooting Markies yesterday night at +10 a lower dose (half dose 0.75), I feed him a good meal and his number now is 363.

Im shooting now his regular dose. 1.25
 
Hi Silvi. :)

I've been looking at Markies' numbers from the last week or so, and I have to say I'm wondering if his dose might actually be a little too high. You got some good numbers on both 10/27 AM cycle and 10/28 PM cycle. It would have been good to see what he did between the 56 and the 78 on 10/27 as he'd headed into a pretty obvious bounce by PMPS. And again on 10/28 he was still coming down when you got that 67, but by morning he was up to 300. You'd also had days about a week before that where he dropped from the high 200s or the 300s into green, but then wasn't tested again until next pre-shot so anything could have happened in the hours between the green number you got and his pre-shot number. Since then he seems to have pulled a few cycles where he's dropped a long way (although not into normal numbers) early on and then headed right back up. It does make me wonder if he went under 50 on those green cycles and you've maybe got some self-protecting hormones kicking in and keeping him higher at the moment. If you look at yesterday, he dropped 300 points in just 4 hours - again, we don't know if he dropped further before heading back up to his +7 number, but the meowing and begging for food sounds to me as though he simply dropped too far, too fast in the early part of the cycle.
Dear, that´s exactly my own feeling.
Markies dose used to be much lower time ago. He was on 0.75 bu then things happen, he was hospitalized, well... things happened, he ended at this dose. And at times he has scary low numbers early in the cycle. So Im also thinking he may be having a higher dose than he actually needs and that he then is bouncing.

My feeling is that I could try a lower dose and see what happens. But obviously if there is anyone else´s opinion would be good. Makries nadier is too quick and the drop is too much too early, then bounces.... that looks weird... and this is not normal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top