11/2 Lucy PMPS=167

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

11/1 AMPS=135; +2=137; +7=157
11/1 PMPS=184; +2.25=108; =3.25=117

11/2 AMBG=122 (no shot, fasting for blood work)
11/2 PMPS=167

I was happy to see a nice number this morning because Lucy will not get her shot until evening today as she is being fasted for bloodwork today.
The vet appointment is in about 3 hours.
Both Lucy and Ginger will have their blood work done, so we can compare the results to the ones done 3 months ago.

Of course Lucy really wanted to eat this morning, much more than usual.
She was even begging for it.
Now she gave up and is just looking disappointed.

This time I have some concerns for Ginger too.
She's been drinking more, and she's been throwing up a lot.
Sometimes hairballs, sometimes food right after eating.
She threw up her entire breakfast 5 minutes after eating this morning.
Ginger is asking for another serving, but I think I will feed her after the vet visit when I feed Lucy.
It's hard to feed one cat and not the other, and I don't want to do it twice in one morning.
I got Ginger's T4 tested when I suspected hyper-T last year, and she was all clear.
She was dx'd early CKD 3 months ago, and I am really worried that her recent frequent vomits is a sign of CKD progressing.
The good thing is Ginger's appetite and energy are almost always very good.

I think I'm going back to bed and actually sleep for a bit before the vet appointment, so I won't meet their accusing eyes.

I hpoe everyone's having a nice weekend!
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 // No shot, Fasting for b/w

A back to bed is probably a good idea. They can sure make us feel bad sometimes :sad: Poor babies cat_pet_icon
Hope the vetty goes good today and you can get some answers for Ginger. Sending you good vetty vines ♥
Happy Caturday Mariko :smile:
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 // No shot, Fasting for b/w

Hope you had a good BTB, Mariko. It is easier than watching those accusing eyes staring at you! It really pulls at your heart.

Sending good vetty vines for Lucy and Ginger~
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 // No shot, Fasting for b/w

I hate those mornings when you can't feed and the kitties just don't understand. I hope all goes well at the vet today and you get good results back.
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 // No shot, Fasting for b/w

Hi Mariko,
Good vetty vines are on the way for Lucy and Ginger. I hope that the vet can give you some info. about what may be bothering Ginger.

Thinking of you,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Thank you very much for your vetty vines.
We are back, and they both got some food.

Lucy is keeping her BG nice and blue.
I added spec fPL, cobalamin & folate combo to a full blood panel for Lucy, and Ginger is getting just a renal panel done.
And urinalysis for both of them.
They both got only 2 pokes each, one for blood on their leg and one for urine, so I'm happy about that.

They were kind enough to get some mats out of Lucy's fur because she had so many.
Most of them were on where she doesn't let me work on, bum area, armpits, tummy, behind knees.
Lucy was most upset about this but they got a lot of the mats out, and Lucy should feel better now that mats aren't pulling her skin.

I spoke with the vet about Ginger's vomiting.
She didn't think that it is caused by some new health issue, because her lab results done 3 months ago were absolutely normal except the renal values.
And about a year ago we did a ultrasound on her and nothing indicated that she had any issues that might cause her vomiting.
Combined with Ginger's stable weight, good appetite and good energy, the vet doesn't think it's an indication of something serious that's new.
Her CKD may be the reason, but the vet thinks that Ginger is in such an early stage it should not be making her nauseated.
And she didn't think it has progressed too rapidly since her weight and appetite are good, but we will wait for the test result to know more about that.
She thinks that Ginger has become sensitive to accumulated hairballs as well as eating too fast, as she is getting older.
So.... I am going to try split feeding her, and I am also going to try to be better at brushing her, so she won't have to vomit hairballs so often.
I have not been such a good moma to Ginger since Lucy's dx, not enough time spent for Ginger.

One stress of fasting and vet visit is gone, and now another stress of waiting.
We are all very tired now, so I think I'm going to nap a bit, see if they will forgive me and cuddle up with me.
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Oh I forgot to say something I wanted to share.
Lucy was so sweet today.
I always hold her head side (front paws) at the vet.
She doesn't really bite, she may pretend (hiss & spit) and she may just mouth you.
But they don't know that at the vet, so if I don't hold the head side, they put a muzzle on her which makes her even more upset.
Today, while she was being shaved, she got extremely upset and bit (mouthed) my arm, and it was just an reflex.
But she immediately licked where she mouthed on my arm, still growling and hissing.
Lucy is such a sweet girl. We love each other so much. :-D
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Lucy is a sweetheart cat_pet_icon and I wish you all the luck in good test results.

It's funny, my Ginger throws up all the time too. Eating too fast and then throwing up and immediately wanting more food because her tummy is now empty. Hair balls. Or Grass. She has a sensitive tummy, too.

Paws crossed for all our kitties blood work to come back well on Monday.
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Hi Mariko and Miss Lucy,
Here is why I have been busy, meet Miss Feathers this is the little kitty that was just dropped off over here someone shaved her and she hasn't been treated not real well she is 10 years old, her owner passed away and these cat haters brought her here to these apts. I have found her a home in Arkansas getting her travel arrangements ready through Imagine Home to someone that can't wait to meet her.
Sending lots of vines to Lucy and hope Ginger is well too! I will visit you a little more after I have her on her way I hope soon snow is coming and roads will be bad to drive her to Portland airport soon.Lucky is doing great h was 81 today but have been staying in the 77 range. get some rest talk with you soon. Linda and Lucky and crew


765730b1-6c8e-4569-adb6-8d4231a9404b_zps2e347552.jpg
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

I'm glad all went well at the vet. I'm sure you're glad the vetty visit is over and done with!
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Hi Mariko! I'm glad you all got home safely from the vet. It's very cute how Lucy apologized for the little bite.
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Hi Mariko,
We'll all wait with you while you wait for the test results. It's good that the vet doesn't think Ginger has a problem except for scarfing and barfing (and hairballs). Maybe try a hairball remedy? Rusty uses NaturVet and hardly ever gets hairballs any more.

Linda & Lucky's little homeless kitty soon to find a home is a heartwarming story. She is a lucky kitty!

Hugs, scritches, and lots of healing and good-test results vines,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Glad that the vet thinks nothing is wrong. Hope that the test results prove him right :-D

I hope you were forgiven and and cuddled with Mariko!

Kisses are so sweet after a gentle bite :-D
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Thank you for your visit. :-D
We all had a nice cuddly nap.
They both have forgiven me, but Ginger is still a bit careful around me.

Linda, it's good to hear from you, and so nice of you to rescue the poor kitty.
I'm glad you found a nice home for her.

Ella, Thank you for the info on the hairball remedy.
I used to use hairball gel for Lucy before FD, but stopped since the one I used to use is very sweet.
Ginger never even tried to lick the one I used to use for Lucy (malt flavor), but she may go for the NaturVet's.
It seems to have some chicken and tuna flavoring in it, so Ginger will like it.
I'll go look for it tomorrow!
 
Re: 11/2 Lucy; AMBG=122 (no shot);+16.5=155 // back from the

Tons of vines for good test results for Lucy and Ginger. :-D
Liz
 
I'm glad all went as well as it can for kitties and beans when it comes to vetty visits. Lucy is very sweet indeed. Enjoy a lovely evening of R&R with both girls!
 
Mariko, I'm glad the vet visit is over. Nice that they managed to get some of Lucy's knots off of her. Paws crossed for quick and normal b/w results for your girls. Good PMPS from Lucy considering no insulin for 24 hours. I hope you are enjoying your evening with the girls.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top