11/2 Karamelle AMPS 58 +2 56 +4 48 +6 84 +10 208 PMPS 266 +2 400!

JoM

Member Since 2023
? - 10/26 Karamelle AMPS 156 +3 310 +6 357 +9 438 PMPS 392 +2 358 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Havent been here in a few days. It sometimes seems pointless to post every day. The last time I posted I actually had a question which went unanswered.
Anyway, trying some different dosing. Ive tried the regular way, now trying something else. I will still try and hold doses if I can. Im understanding the drops and bounces a little better and what foods pull her up and down. I cant always get her to eat. The Pancreatitis is here to stay and always going to be an issue. If she doesnt eat I syringe feed. She is an easy patient and dosent hold a grudge.
I like it when shes lower, because she clearly feels better, but it keeps me on my toes.
Hope everyone is having a great day/week! Probably wont post every day going forward.
I dont think anyone will miss us, haha. :cat:
 
Oh Jo, I was just looking for your posts. I enjoy reading them because our kitties seem a lot alike. Dealing with tummy issues is no fun. Tiger gets a half of cerenia every day and a drop or two of appetite meds every few days to help keep his problems under control. Also Zofran when he needs it. I know about posting everyday, I feel the same! Sorry no one answered you but I wasn’t sure what you were asking and wouldn’t have an answer anyway..lol.

Hang in there. You’re doing an amazing job with Karamelle! Hugs to you!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Oh Jo, I was just looking for your posts. I enjoy reading them because our kitties seem a lot alike. Dealing with tummy issues is no fun. Tiger gets a half of cerenia every day and a drop or two of appetite meds every few days to help keep his problems under control. Also Zofran when he needs it. I know about posting everyday, I feel the same! Sorry no one answered you but I wasn’t sure what you were asking and wouldn’t have an answer anyway..lol.

Hang in there. You’re doing an amazing job with Karamelle! Hugs to you!
Hi Deb, I actually enjoy reading about Tiger as well and I see you arent posting as much. I think I will just cut back to once a week maybe. We'll see. I dont remember what I was asking now anyway, lol. I guess I could reread my post.
Right now Karamelle gets Zofran 2x a day and Mirataz 1x. If she vomits which isnt often I'll give her a cerenia. Ocassionally I have given Buprenorphine and asked the vet for more a couple weeks ago but havent given it recently. She just goes up and down, like her numbers. Im trying some in between doses now even tho Id been told not to in the past, because the other way just isnt working. I need to try and keep her lower as much as possible, because thats when she feels good. In the end we are here with our kids and can see what they need.
I get you about not having the answer. I look at a lot of peoples posts and I'm just not sure what to say, so I dont say anything. But our kitties have always been on the same wave length I think. I didnt realize till I read your post from yesterday that the libre was measuring higher for you, unlike most other people. So weird. Now it makes sense why you keep the numbers up, because the real ones are much lower. I was going to respond and then realized it was yesterdays post and felt weird about responding to a day old post. Ive always felt more comfortable on Facebook but rarely post in the Diabetes group there either. Ive always been the one that likes to help with my own knowledge in the groups. But since Im a toddler when it comes to diabetes, Im not much help to anyone else. Just focusing on Karamelle.
Thanks so much for responding and give that boy Tiger a hug from me. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, I actually enjoy reading about Tiger as well and I see you arent posting as much. I think I will just cut back to once a week maybe. We'll see. I dont remember what I was asking now anyway, lol. I guess I could reread my post.
Right now Karamelle gets Zofran 2x a day and Mirataz 1x. If she vomits which isnt often I'll give her a cerenia. Ocassionally I have given Buprenorphine and asked the vet for more a couple weeks ago but havent given it recently. She just goes up and down, like her numbers. Im trying some in between doses now even tho Id been told not to in the past, because the other way just isnt working. I need to try and keep her lower as much as possible, because thats when she feels good. In the end we are here with our kids and can see what they need.
I get you about not having the answer. I look at a lot of peoples posts and I'm just not sure what to say, so I dont say anything. But our kitties have always been on the same wave length I think. I didnt realize till I read your post from yesterday that the libre was measuring higher for you, unlike most other people. So weird. Now it makes sense why you keep the numbers up, because the real ones are much lower. I was going to respond and then realized it was yesterdays post and felt weird about responding to a day old post. Ive always felt more comfortable on Facebook but rarely post in the Diabetes group there either. Ive always been the one that likes to help with my own knowledge in the groups. But since Im a toddler when it comes to diabetes, Im not much help to anyone else. Just focusing on Karamelle.
Thanks so much for responding and give that boy Tiger a hug from me. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I get what you mean about in between doses. With Tiger, 1.5 keeps him high and 1.75 drops him too low. We are trying a fat 1.5 and he is still going lower than I like. Since he just drop out of no where, straight down. The day of my doctor appt he went from 300s to under 100 in about 30 minutes! Of course just as I was going out the door….

I don’t know why but the Mirataz affects Tiger so much. When he gets slow to eat or won’t eat I literally put one tiny drop in his ear and it lasts for days! The first time I put the regular dose on I thought he would explode from eating and cried constantly when he wasn’t eating for 2 days! I felt so sorry for him. Funny how drugs affect all kitties differently. It may be why we have a tough time regulating our babies.
Same here, I don’t feel qualified to give advice when I still need so much advice.

We’re lucky we have such sweet kitties too. Tiger lets us do anything we need to….
Hang in there, we do the best we can!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
I get what you mean about in between doses. With Tiger, 1.5 keeps him high and 1.75 drops him too low. We are trying a fat 1.5 and he is still going lower than I like. Since he just drop out of no where, straight down. The day of my doctor appt he went from 300s to under 100 in about 30 minutes! Of course just as I was going out the door….

I don’t know why but the Mirataz affects Tiger so much. When he gets slow to eat or won’t eat I literally put one tiny drop in his ear and it lasts for days! The first time I put the regular dose on I thought he would explode from eating and cried constantly when he wasn’t eating for 2 days! I felt so sorry for him. Funny how drugs affect all kitties differently. It may be why we have a tough time regulating our babies.
Same here, I don’t feel qualified to give advice when I still need so much advice.

We’re lucky we have such sweet kitties too. Tiger lets us do anything we need to….
Hang in there, we do the best we can!
I can so relate to the drop in BG right as youre about to walk out the door! :eek: So many plans cancelled, I hardly make them anymore.
 
In your last post, you asked if you could raise the dose back up after 5 cycles. The answer is "maybe". If you reduce, and once the cat is over bouncing, if the nadirs are not green then you can determine the reduction has failed. The big question is how many cycles is kitty bouncing after hitting the lime greens. The answer is ECID. How long does it take Karamelle to get over a bounce. That's how long you wait.

think I will just cut back to once a week maybe.
Back when I started, we had a number of people who posted once a week, they called it the Caturday report. That way we'd still hear how the kitty is doing. Of course, you can always post if you have questions or concerns, and hopefully get a faster answer. On the 26th, when you posted the question, I was away for a few days at a regatta and just finally catching up. But others should be replying too if you have a question. Sometimes it takes stopping in to other people threads and making a comment, and you'll get more comments back.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
In your last post, you asked if you could raise the dose back up after 5 cycles. The answer is "maybe". If you reduce, and once the cat is over bouncing, if the nadirs are not green then you can determine the reduction has failed. The big question is how many cycles is kitty bouncing after hitting the lime greens. The answer is ECID. How long does it take Karamelle to get over a bounce. That's how long you wait.


Back when I started, we had a number of people who posted once a week, they called it the Caturday report. That way we'd still hear how the kitty is doing. Of course, you can always post if you have questions or concerns, and hopefully get a faster answer. On the 26th, when you posted the question, I was away for a few days at a regatta and just finally catching up. But others should be replying too if you have a question. Sometimes it takes stopping in to other people threads and making a comment, and you'll get more comments back.
I wasnt really pointing any fingers at anyone for not replying. I know we all have our own lives. I like the Caturday idea, haha. Ive tried several times to look at other threads but Im not a great small talk person unless I start getting to know someone (which is a bit difficult here) and dont know enough to comment about the diabetes part. So Im ok with just checking in once a week on Caturday, unless I need something in between even if I dont get any replies.
 
We ask new people to post more frequently, because when people are new, they may not know enough to know when something is a concern. You've got a lot more experience at this point. Post when it feels right for you. :bighug: But don't go away, we still like to hear how our kitties are doing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
? - 10/26 Karamelle AMPS 156 +3 310 +6 357 +9 438 PMPS 392 +2 358 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Havent been here in a few days. It sometimes seems pointless to post every day. The last time I posted I actually had a question which went unanswered.
Anyway, trying some different dosing. Ive tried the regular way, now trying something else. I will still try and hold doses if I can. Im understanding the drops and bounces a little better and what foods pull her up and down. I cant always get her to eat. The Pancreatitis is here to stay and always going to be an issue. If she doesnt eat I syringe feed. She is an easy patient and dosent hold a grudge.
I like it when shes lower, because she clearly feels better, but it keeps me on my toes.
Hope everyone is having a great day/week! Probably wont post every day going forward.
I dont think anyone will miss us, haha. :cat:

Hi Jo, good morning.
I don't have much experience.
Wishing that you both have a nice day and that Karamelle slides down gently. Safe surfing, Karamelle! :cat:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top