? 11/2 Ember AMPS 320, +10 148. Bouncing? Hold the dose? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 11/2 Ember AMPS 320, +10 148. Bouncing? Hold the dose?

Elaine and Ember

Member since 2025
We just started Lantus on Friday (1 unit) and we're all over the place with numbers. Is this bouncing? At first it didn't seem like anything was happening and then yesterday morning was the lowest I'd seen so I freaked out and only gave .5 unit. Now it looks like we're going way back down again so I'm not sure if I should suck it up and give 1 unit or be conservative with .5. I suppose it depends on if we're going up or down by then?
 
Here is the SLGS detail from this sticky: Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.

If kitty is dropping faster or lower than you'd like, please see "Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers" and post for help or suggestions.
 
I cannot give dosing advice, but based on the dosing guidelines, you should be good to go, and if it were Jude, I'd give him the full dose. The only caveat is that the 213 is a somewhat lower than normal preshot number for Ember (you've shot 1unit before when she's been below 213, but not frequently), so you're going to want to make sure you have your hypo kit ready, and check her at +1 and +2 to see how she's handling the insulin.
 
I cannot give dosing advice, but based on the dosing guidelines, you should be good to go, and if it were Jude, I'd give him the full dose. The only caveat is that the 213 is a somewhat lower than normal preshot number for Ember (you've shot 1unit before when she's been below 213, but not frequently), so you're going to want to make sure you have your hypo kit ready, and check her at +1 and +2 to see how she's handling the insulin.
Hypo kit is ready! (And hopefully will remain unused.) At least I'm home for the night. If (or should I say when) it happens in the morning before work I won't be able to take the chance.
 
We just started Lantus on Friday (1 unit) and we're all over the place with numbers. Is this bouncing?
Perhaps a bit, but what is also happening is that the Lantus depot takes time to build, up to 7 days when you first start Lantus/glargine. It's hard to see what a dose is capable of doing until the depot is built. Reducing a dose can also impact the depot, impacting later doses as well as the particular cycle with the reduced dose.
 
Back
Top