11/2 Charlie: checking for rebound. Amps:481,2.5u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Member Since 2010
Amps:481, 2.5 u
Based on all of the great feedback I got in yesterday's thread, we all together decided to drop charlie's dose back to 2.5u to check for chronic rebound. Better safe than sorry, right? So we will hold here for 5 days, then increase from there. I hope this will explain his recently awful numbers, but I know better than to get my hopes up too high!
 
I noticed you wrote in the comments on you SS, that Charlie's urine smelled like vinegar. Does it still? Or have you not noticed?
 
Maybe faintly, but not nearly as bad. That seems to be a normal fd symptom for him. I've read elsewhere that that's relatively common with all the sugars dumping into his pee. It hasn't correlated with
ketones (yet-fingers crossed). I'll check daily while he's on this lower dose, though.
 
claudia it will be a nailbite_smile couple of days...i will watch with deep interest. not only for charlie's sake but it could become a valueable lesson all around for this new insulin.
i must say i'm not in the camp of believeing this to be the case for charlie (missed his dose) but i dearly hope that I am the one who is wrong.
mid cycle tests would be good here too. his lowest number will be the key.
 
I know, Lori... If this isn't the trick, the idea I never heard anyone tell me ;-) is the next thing I'll try. I really hope this is it, though. I will get a mid-cycle tomorrow and everyday after that for sure until we figure this out!
 
lori and tom said:
claudia it will be a nailbite_smile couple of days...i will watch with deep interest. not only for charlie's sake but it could become a valueable lesson all around for this new insulin.
i must say i'm not in the camp of believeing this to be the case for charlie (missed his dose) but i dearly hope that I am the one who is wrong.
mid cycle tests would be good here too. his lowest number will be the key.


Lori, this is not about right or wrong. It is about safety first.

The first cycle at the reduced dose I fully expect to be actually higher. It doesn't surprise me. His liver would still be pumping for all it's worth. The rebound check protocol does encourage tests at +4 and +8. If it is rebound those tests will tell us how quickly or not... Charlie's body recognizes the lower dose.

Before going to aggressive dose, I'd prefer to be sure those lower numbers a few days ago were an anomaly. I'd prefer to check, rather than deal with a hypo crash event or worse.

It is all our heads together, working together, figuring things out. :thumbup
 
Pmps:446, 2.5u. not quite as bad as I expected (that's not saying much, though). It's still a very ugly number. Tested for ketones:negative.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top