11/19 Tiger PMPS 154,+2 140,+4 92

I'm glad you are reading. Metacam is one of my least favorite NSAIDs for cats. There is controversy about it though. My vet simply will not prescribe it for cats. I asked her about it. We talked about the "low dose metacam" protocol for cats with kidney disease (that some have done well on, including our own FDMB member, Laura and Gremlin). She says it's too risky in an older cat, particularly.
 
I'm glad you are reading. Metacam is one of my least favorite NSAIDs for cats. There is controversy about it though. My vet simply will not prescribe it for cats. I asked her about it. We talked about the "low dose metacam" protocol for cats with kidney disease (that some have done well on, including our own FDMB member, Laura and Gremlin). She says it's too risky in an older cat, particularly.
My vet says exactly the same. I be.I eve it even has a black box warning.

https://www.avma.org/javma-news/2010-11-01/company-issues-warning-about-meloxicam-cats
 
Back
Top