11/19 Star Cat AMPS 343, +7 397 Lantus day 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

treehousemom

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone.

Here is yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30055

Very busy day with staff holiday parties and children's field trips... it's holiday season!

I am discouraged about Star's numbers today. Put a call in to the vet, she is out through Monday. Vet tech said hold at 1U through Monday.

What do you think? Should I give Star fat 1's for the weekend or increase more, or wait???

***Note, I am home all day the next two days to watch her, rather than working all day Monday, Tues, Wed...I am off end of the week. Just a thought.
 
From the Tight Reg Protocol:
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


So is an increase of .5 appropriate here?

Thanks in advance.
 
In your condo two days ago, Libby wrote this:

Libby and Lucy said:
treehousemom said:
She had been on 2U of vetsulin twice daily for quite a while. I would adjust slightly as needed, but that was the basic dose.

Thanks, that makes sense.

With regards to starting dose, our protocol allows for us to consider the dose of the previous insulin when setting a starting dose for Lantus. You say Star has been pretty regulated on 2 units of Vetsulin. I would think a starting dose of 1.5 or even 2 units would be appropriate for her. So far it is looking like 1 unit BID is not enough.

Since you have already done 6 cycles on 1u BID, what I would be would be to follow this part of our General Dosing Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

and this:

After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

So I would increase to 1.5 units BID tomorrow to see if you can get Star back into a nicer range of numbers.


Just wondering if you got the half unit syringes yet? It's best to use that for proper measuring.

And...how is the canned food going today? Once she transitions completely to the canned, you should start seeing better numbers, ya know? That's good if she will eat the turkey...and chicken flavors....let us know how that is going. I know it can be hard to do. Have you tried the lower carbs yet?
 
Libby was so nice to be one step ahead there! :) I read it, but remember that next morning she was a 250? That was the first Yellow I had on her chart so I was nervous to increase.

So you're saying I should go ahead and increase now, correct? Keep in mind Star cat crashed A LOT in her early stages and I'm spooked by lower numbers. nailbite_smile

I didn't find the half units yet. I still have to compare the food charts too. Thank goodness I am home now for the weekend and can spend some time focusing on these things.

Thank you for the support and I will dose her a 1.5 tonight.

Just read the condo about Savannah!!! WOWWWWWOOOOWWW! How amazing is that! I have HOPE!
 
I purchased several types of FF will try a lower carb option tonight! Hopefully she likes it as much as last night.
 
You guys aren't going to believe my luck! I purchased 10 cans of FF - all except 2 cans are high carb. So I'm feeding her one that has only 3 carbs now. I will mark the others with a black marker and hold them in case of hypo.

I will give her shot at in 2 hours. With the lower carb food (assuming she eats it all) should I still increase to 1.5U?

Thank you in advance, so nervous to make a mistake with her! :)

Rebecca
 
I would honestly feel better if you had the half unit marked syringes.... It's tough enough to measure as it is...
Do you have a Walmart nearby? I use the Reli-On 3/10ml 29Gauge 12.7 (1/2") syringes....They are about $12.
I know others order them online and all, but in a pinch, I tired these and I have been using them ever since.
I guess Libby was considering the Vetsulin dose when she suggested the 1.50u.

Out of 10, you have 3 that are LC...and you call it luck...so I think you have a very positive outlook. :mrgreen: Niiiiiice!
What do you think you would be comfortable giving Star?

As was said previously, once you begin giving her the canned exclusively, your dose most likely will have to be adjusted.
The canned has a way of lowering the numbers, so you will have to monitor her numbers closely. We like to ask that you get at least a before bed time check. Many kitties go lower at night... The dry elevates the BGs so I am so excited for you that she is eating the canned....and look forward to seeing her numbers from now on.
 
Rebecca...you are doing a great job! Try to remember that you have your meter and you are in charge, okay? :razz:
With home testing, we can see where the numbers are. The more data you accumulate on your SS, the better you will see how Star reacts to both the insulin and food. You can raise the numbers if need be, with higher carb foods....

We usually use >18% high carb food with gravy....the reason is this: when they dip into the greens, we can give them the gravy alone...not the solid part...only the gravy. The HC gravy will bring their numbers up a little without making them too full. sometimes, we have to give gravy a couple of times to bring the numbers up. Maybe even add a drop of karo to the HC gravy.
So, by monitoring Star Cat and having your HC gravy on hand, you will be able to keep the numbers higher and surfing.
When they go <50, they do earn a dose reduction. We then want to bring them up to some higher green numbers.

You are welcome to visit other condos and see what is going on with other kitties. We are all in this together! :razz:
By the way, we realize that our kitties are more than just their numbers. So we count our Ps for the day. There are 5 Ps...Peeing, Pooping, Purring, Preening and Playing. You will read other s say :3Ps so far today.or : all Ps in place. things like that.
 
Hi Pat. Thank you so much for posting. The boards seem busy tonight with some kitties in need. ((((Sending hugs to them!))))

I will brave the local WalMart tomorrow and pick some up half unit syringes (what is the exact name I need to ask for at the pharmacy please?) as well as some reading glasses (GASP!)

I posted earlier (in a different condo) that I went ahead with her 1U for tonight because she ate 1/2 can of the 3carb food (her first low carb meal ever, I almost snapped a photo!) Her PMPS was 310 which was her second lowest number since starting Lantus.

I have a strong feeling about the way she is going to react to the canned/low carb food. Since it never "clicked" with me before how important it is, I never really put any effort into it so she has had all these carbs for so long... I'm very hopeful in fact for her!!!

Also, she literally sleeps under my arm all night long. I am very aware of her and this week I have been sleeping with "one eye open" to be sure she is doing ok. I will check her shortly.

One question, should I keep dry food out for her tonight? Or offer her the rest of the can of food she ate earlier before bed?

I can't thank you all enough. VERY THANKFUL MOMMY!
 
You know, sounds like Star Cat is doing very well! I bet you will see some better numbers with the switch to lc canned food. You are doing great also! Keep up the good work!
The walmart syringes I have are 3/10 ml U-100 insulin w/1/2" markings. Box of 100 for $13. Which reminds me...I need to buy a box within the next week myself!!
 
Rebecca....if you really want to know how I feel about dry food....uh...never mind....(but I threw mine out in the garbage once I realized what was going on with it...)
I would give her the canned now and forever...amen!!! :lol:

They are called Reli-On Syringes
My pharmacy has little cards that you select from where they have the test strips in a case. You bring the card up to the desk and ask for them. Just get the Reli-on insulin syringes 3/10ml/cc 29 gauge 12.7mm 1/2"
Good luck with your shopping...they do have FF there too...

I am SO happy that she ate the canned tonight!!!! yay!!!! :mrgreen:
 
I just saw your other condo...here is the link: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30187

We usually open one condo per kitty per day....and you can ask all your questions in that one. One thing about getting attention to your condo Rebecca...if you would like help quickly...is to add something to the header to read something like
Dose help needed....or you can put..."question" in the header too. Then, once the answer has been given,you can go back and edit that out.
You can add your PMPS to your heading now. We usually update the heading as we go through the day.
These are just little things that help make Ll run smoother. Everyone is used to people need help around shot times, so they are always looking for things in the heading like that. You are doing great!

In the beginning, there are so many things to think about and to learn. You are used to giving the insulin but now, as part of our community here, you will be aware of so many things. We all share what we have learned. Like the food issue. Changing over is going to be great for Star Cat.....really it is. And you are fortunate that she is cooperating! :mrgreen:
 
Thanks Pat, that is helpful.

I looked at your SS's and I have a question for you... When do you sleep!? :smile:

I'm greatly looking forward to watching Star transition to the new food. Also, the 5P's help! I should note that she has been very happy (purring! preening!) some what playful. The very first dose of Lantus, that night she was soooooo cute and cuddly and extra purring... I just think she liked the newer insulin right away. And even though she's running high, it's more consistent than the Vetsulin was, so she's keeping fairly even rather than ups and downs, which is good.
 
have a good night. I do think Star is ready for a dose increase, but it will be a lot easier once you get the new syringes. :smile:
 
Rebecca - I just bought the very syringes that you need from Walmart - they have a purpley-magenta band at the bottom of the box. 31 G, 5/16" needle, 3/10 ml. U-100. with half-unit marks.

critical thing to remember - magenta stripe at the bottom of the box. they sell here for about $12.50. Walgreens sells their version for $12.74.

Jill & Alex wrote:
if you go to walmart, this is what you ask for:

Reli On Insulin Syringes
Capacity: 3/10cc (Doses up to 30 units)
Gauge: 31
Length: 8mm (5/16")

#81131-0311-78 (bar code)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top