11/19 Simon PMPS 287 +4 295

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Poor Simon...he is feeling very sick. Last night, I had to carry him to his litterbox because he was so weak. He slept right next to me last night but when his automatic feeder went off in the early morning hours, he was unable to go down the kitty steps. i had to bring him to his dish. And this morning, he kind of stumbled down the stairs to the kitchen. I am really worried about him but he has only had one full day of antibiotics so far. Hopefully, he will begin to feel better in the next couple of days. He is still eating well. I gave him FF fish because it smells stronger and maybe he will be able to smell it better and continue to eat well. He is drinking lots of water which I guess is because of his higher bg. I am now wondering if he was starting to get sick over a week ago when his bg numbers started getting higher and I was blaming it on the ear drops. I just switched Simon to the Relion confirm yesterday, but these numbers pretty much match what he was at the vet's and with Simon's other meter (truetrak not the contour which was even higher than the vets).

I increased his dose slightly today...hope that was the right thing to do. He had been getting 1.25 units for a week so I upped to a slightly skinny 1.5. I'm going to watch him closely today and if he seems to be getting worse, call the vet.

Thinking and praying for all the other kitties not feeling well in LL and for Comet and Charlie (the dogs). And thinking especially of Jill and Mike and sending big prayers their way.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56735&p=615452&hilit=simon#p615452
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303

Georgia - So sorry to hear that Simon is still not feeling well. Poor guy. I hope the ABs kick in and that is all it takes. Sending healing vines to Simon and you and hope your day goes well. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303

Poor Simon. I hope today is the day the ABs kick in and start his road to recovery. It's so hard to see them feeling like this.
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303

So sorry that Simon is feeling so poorly. Poor guy. I hope the AB's kick in soon, and that he begins to feel better. It is good though I think that he is eating well. many many healing vines for Simon!

Hey Simon - it's me Mannie. I am sorry you are sick... maybe I can bring you some chicken soup or sumthin'. maybe that will help you feel better. See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303

Hi Georgia, so sorry to hear Simon is feeling so sick and weak today. I'd do like you mentioned and watch him closely and if he seems to worsen, call the Vet. I know it's so hard seeing them not feel well. Sending some vines for Simon and hope the antibiotics help him. Lots of hugs.
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303

Poor Simon, i really hope he starts feeling better soon. Leo and I are sending a ton of healing vines for Simon to get better.
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303 +3 266

Georgia I'd be really worried if he is this sick. Maybe he should be in the hospital. Something is really wrong.
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303 +3 266

Karrie, he is eating pretty well so isn't that a good sign? Couldn't an upper respiratory infection cause him to feel pretty lethargic? The vet said his breathing is regular and he doesn't have a temp, although he does have lots of congestion. He is drinking alot of water but I was thinking it is because of his high bg and also a cold.

I want to do the right thing so any advice is appreciated. I have to go out for a little over an hour in a few minutes. I'm a little nervous about leaving him but he is still purring and just ate a couple of pill pockets with a pepcid just in case his tummy is feeling bad with the AB's. Let me know what y'all think. I may call his vet to just tell him what I have noticed last night and this morning.
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303 +3 266 +4.5 269

Let me know what y'all think. I may call his vet to just tell him what I have noticed last night and this morning.

That's a good idea Georgia to let the Vet know his behavior. I know some Vets' offices close early on Saturdays. Hope Simon's doing better.
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303 +3 266 +4.5 269

(((Georgia and Simon))) I had no idea Simon was feeling unwell. I hate it when I miss coming on the board for a few days. I sure hope he starts bouncing back quickly. I, too, would call my vet just to be reassured. It sounds to me like you're doing everything necessary, though, and as long as he's eating and drinking, he should start to feel better. Just have to give those ABs time to work their magic!! Good luck!!
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303 +3 266 +4.5 269 +7 281

Simon is acting like he is feeling a little better. I just got home from my book group meeting and he was able to come down the stairs without a problem. He is not running down like usual, but still it is much better than this morning. His appetite is good. He ate at +4.5 and at +7 and didn't leave any leftovers. I hope that maybe the AB's are now kicking in a little. Oh i forgot to answer your question, Karrie. I do have a syringe in case his appetite suddenly gets worse and can syringe feed although he hates anything near his mouth.

Sienne, sorry about the link to yesterday. For some reason, I have a mental block when I am copying it to the current post.

Thanks for all your support!
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303 +3 266 +4.5 269 +7 281

Hi Georgia,
I'm glad to hear that he is feeling a bit better this afternoon. Hopefully the AB are working and he will continue to feel better and better.

Here's my broken record post...are you testing for ketones?
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303 +3 266 +4.5 269 +7 281

Laurie, I'm trying to catch him in the act so I can test for ketones. He is not being too cooperative but hopefully, will get a test in today or tonight.
 
Re: 11/19 Simon AMPS 303 +3 266 +4.5 269 +7 281

Georgia: Sending Simon healing vines...POWERFUL ones!!!! I'm glad he seems to be feeling a bit better this afternoon.

Thinking of you!!
 
Re: 11/19 Simon PMPS 287

Hi Georgia,
Sorry that I missed your recent condos and didn't realize that Simon was sick. It does sound as if he is doing much better this evening. Rusty will pick some healing vines for him and I hear that KTSS is planning a visit.

Feel better, Simon!

Ella & Rusty
 
I can't tell you how much it has meant to me for all your well wishes and prayers. Simon is definitely more alert tonight although he still doesn't look great. He is breathing through his mouth so I know his nose is still pretty congested. Still eating well so I'm happy for that although I'm pretty depressed about his higher numbers.
 
It's great to hear that Simon is more alert tonight. It is so hard when they aren't feeling well...that's for sure. We've got you guys in our thoughts and prayers! I'm sure his numbers will head back down as soon as he's feeling better.

Try and get yourself some rest, too!! (Yes, I am trying to convince myself as much as I'm trying to convince you!)

Amy
 
I'm glad Simon is feeling a little better and came down the stairs himself tonight Stuffy nose is a bummer. Poor guy! Hope the ABs kick in and he rests easy tonight.

((((Georgia)))). ((((Simon)))). Have a restful evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top