11/19 Ruby AMPS 235/+5 90/PMPS 312/+2 262

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Good morning! :coffee: It’s time for Ruby to come down. Yellow is a tough color for anyone to pull off. ;) Let’s see if she has it in her today!

Yesterday.

Healing thoughts to all of the sick kitties and hugs to you beans who love them so! :bighug: Have a great day everyone!
 
Wonder if Ruby went lower last night? I know there's a lot on your plate :bighug: but an extra nighttime test every so often can give a lot of insight especially if you see a drop from PMPS to your +4 like you did.

Hope Ruby surfs safely today and hope you have a great day, Katherine :bighug:
 
Hope she comes down today. I also have trouble at night - I try to test as late as I can too but even with alarms, I really struggle. :confused:
 
If you get more +2 tests you will see if it’s a cycle when you might try and get another test at +4 . If the +2 is lower than the preshot, it’s likely to be an active cycle. If you see that happen on a yellow or blue preshot, it could be a drop to green. . It’s hard alone. I was too. My insomnia got worse! :bighug:
 
Hope she comes down today. I also have trouble at night - I try to test as late as I can too but even with alarms, I really struggle. :confused:
If you get more +2 tests you will see if it’s a cycle when you might try and get another test at +4 . If the +2 is lower than the preshot, it’s likely to be an active cycle. If you see that happen on a yellow or blue preshot, it could be a drop to green. . It’s hard alone. I was too. My insomnia got worse! :bighug:
I would be getting more numbers if testing itself weren't such a struggle for me and Ruby. This morning I went through three strips because I couldn't get enough blood, and her poor ears are covered in scabs. I'm so envious of all of you whose cats actually ENJOY testing!
 
The old Relion meters required a small amount of blood and I never had that issue. I don’t know which meters still around are as good that way. :bighug:
 
The old Relion meters required a small amount of blood and I never had that issue. I don’t know which meters still around are as good that way. :bighug:
The Relion takes a .5mL sample whereas the Contour that I am currently using requires .6, but then again, I was having lots of trouble with the Alpha Trak and that only needs .3!
 
ENJOY testing!
It might seem that way but I don't think it's true...I don't think @Cheryl & Jazzy loves being tested. I know a lot of people burrito. @Jan D & Squeaky takes squeaky out for play breaks.

Jax is a less-is-more and i'll-never-see-food-again type cat. Jax sleeps a lot so I test when he's sitting in his cat tree or - since he loves food - when his head is in the food bowl (or eating treats). And he always sees all testing supplies in my hands. If anyone sneaks up on him or comes from behind, there are consequences :p When I was teaching my husband to test him, I would have him rub Jax's ears at non-testing time - he tried testing Jax without doing this and Jax bit him :rolleyes: something else to think about.

I know you changed your lancet gauge but I get a nice drop with the 28 - i hold a makeup cotton circle behind his ear, press the lancet hard up against his ear and push the button (I use my lancet on the lowest setting now but started at a higher setting) - I hold his ear firmly and push from the back with my makeup cotton circle and get a nice drop on the front/inside of ear. I clean Jax's ears with rubbing alcohol to get any dried blood off and use neosporin when I won't test for a awhile (and when he won't be around Benji as I don't want Benji eating neosporin...Benji grooms Jax's ears - such a nice brother especially since Jax never returns he favor...never has lol ). I think @Butters & Lyla does one ear a cycle. I try to switch ears every test. I'm sure you'll find something that works for you and Ruby :bighug:

And FWIW, I think Elise was talking about the Relion Micro - it took 0.3 but they stopped making it. I switched from AT2 to Relion and didn't change my lancet or my technique. I actually like seeing the blood get sucked up by the Relion :p

Hang in there - it's tough but you'll figure it out :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Regarding the testing, do you use neosporin pain relief ointment on Ruby's ears? I'm not in the USA so I don't know exactly which one it is for you because it is different where I am. Probably Elise and/or Susanne know.

Further to what Susanne said, I tend to use one ear for testing every 24 hours. So, I do all testing on the left ear in a 24 hour period and then I dab the ointment (just a tiny amount, less is more) onto her ear and I switch to the right ear for the next 24 hours. ANd so on. This is if cycles are active. If they aren't, I'll stick with the same ear for another cycle or two. Carla (carfurby) will dab a tiny bit of ointment on the site where she tested Furball after each test. Different options but ointment may help.

Are you warming up the ear first? Like making it very warm? This helps draw the blood into the ear. Many people use a little sock with rice warmed in the microwave. I don't have a microwave. I just hold her ear in my hand or gently rub it to get it warm enough. And I still use the 28g lancets. If you use the lancing device, I find that the size of the droplet varies greatly depending on how much pressure I place on it when I hold it against Butters' ear. I have to make sure I use enough pressure and have an appropriate depth on the lancing device. I currently have it set at 2.5 but I started out at 5, which is the deepest setting. I made little fabric cotton pads out of an old shirt (saving the planet!:smuggrin:) that I press on the other side of her ear.

I hope this helps somehow. My metre uses .5 and I started with a .3 one. I didn't find much difference in effort required to get enough blood.

I do everything myself too, so I know exactly how hard that is. :bighug::bighug::bighug: you are doing a fantastic job managing Ruby. You really are. :bighug:
 
PMPS: 312. Ruby is definitely a peaks and valleys kind of gal. :eek: Will try to get a +2 in a bit.

Thank you @JaxBenji and @Butters & Lyla for the testing pep talk. :bighug::)

I tried to get a +7 today because I do need more mid cycle tests to see how she's doing on the new dose, but after 10 minutes of pricking on two different ears, she started growling at me and ran away twice, so I gave up. :banghead: :blackeye:

I try to switch ears each time but it seems like Ruby prefers the left ear. I pick her up from where ever she is and plop her on the sofa where she sits up against the back of the chair and I'm next to her. I do the warm sock thing, but maybe I need to really work it in more to make the ear warmer. I have cotton pads from Muji that are thick, cheap and I cut them in half, and I use Neosporin ointment both before and after poking. I spent the afternoon looking at YouTube videos for paw pricking but I would rather not do that to her. I have been free handing the lancets but perhaps it's high time I tried a lancing device. Which one do you use, Lyla? I tried using the one that came with the Alpha Trak and the needle didn't even clear the edge of the device and I threw away the one that came with the Contour. I ordered this one from Amazon today from all of the positive reviews from human diabetics, but their fingers are so much thicker than my precious Ruby's ears:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01K8K63TI/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Did you try adjusting the depth of the lancet when you were using the AlphaTrak lancing device? Sorry if I'm asking a dumb question.

Yes, try holding the rice sock on for longer.

Because I had an AT as well and I still use that lancing device and it basically has 10 depth settings on it. My human meter came with the exact same device. If I go higher than 2.5 I pierce right through Butters' ear. But I started on the deepest setting of 5. The difference is the pressure I was using when holding the other side of her ear against the device. Do you think you are pressing hard enough? Or maybe the one you got was defective?

I see Carla responded about the ointment. This is why I stick with one ear for 24 hours at a time and put the ointment on only after the 24 hours is up and I switched to the other ear. Having ointment still on the ear causes all sorts of difficulties trying to get a good blood drop to form. You need to use such a tiny amount and only put it on after.

I hope that CareTouch one works for you.:bighug:
 
ordered this one from Amazon today
That one looks nice since you can see the needle. I still use the AT2 one that came with my "starter kit". With that said, I think all lancets work the same. Every so often you may get a short needle. It's happened to me a few times and I just switch out the needle.

I'm sure you'll figure it out :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Putting Neosporin on before poking could be causing problems with getting a blood drop to form. I can't use it before I test and I have to make sure any her ear doesn't have any leftover before I poke or the blood drop won't form.
Interesting! I thought the whole point of using Neosporin or Vaseline was to get the blood to form a drop. Otherwise it pools through the little hairs on her ears and I am running the strip all over to get it to suck up the blood. I'm going to try forgoing the Neosporin. I have also been a little concerned about her sister cleaning Ruby's ears with the Neosporin on it.
 
Did you try adjusting the depth of the lancet when you were using the AlphaTrak lancing device? Sorry if I'm asking a dumb question.

Do you think you are pressing hard enough? Or maybe the one you got was defective?

TBH I don't remember as most people here seem to freehand it so I didn't give it much of a shot, so to speak, when it didn't seem to work on the lowest or gentlest setting. I'm so worried about hurting her that I think I'm actually making things worse for both of us!

Thank you so much, ladies, for all of the support and wisdom. Once I get the new lancing device I'll let you all know how it goes!
 
Jazzy hates being tested, he turns into a bit of a grump. We have to purrito him and basically trap him between my crossed legs to get it done. And sing to him, although I'm not sure if that actually helps or not. Lol. Some cats are easy, some are not. He's not. :cat: I get bit alot just trying to wrap him up.
We use the same ear all the time. The lancing device didn't work for us that well and seemed to scare him, so we freehand it with the round makeup pad behind his ear. He's getting to the point where he doesn't even want it rubbed, so we may have to try the rice sock thing. We put ointment on overnight to try and help it feel better.
It's not easy to find what works for an irritable cat, you just gotta keep trying till you do. (I won't do the paw thing, how tender that would be just to walk, but that's just me). And trust me, ALOT of strips got wasted, especially in the beginning. :banghead: At least for us. I went through five the other night trying to get one test in :mad:
Hope everything gets easier for you, just takes time and practice. :)
 
Jazzy hates being tested, he turns into a bit of a grump. We have to purrito him and basically trap him between my crossed legs to get it done. And sing to him, although I'm not sure if that actually helps or not. Lol. Some cats are easy, some are not. He's not. :cat: I get bit alot just trying to wrap him up.
We use the same ear all the time. The lancing device didn't work for us that well and seemed to scare him, so we freehand it with the round makeup pad behind his ear. He's getting to the point where he doesn't even want it rubbed, so we may have to try the rice sock thing. We put ointment on overnight to try and help it feel better.
It's not easy to find what works for an irritable cat, you just gotta keep trying till you do. (I won't do the paw thing, how tender that would be just to walk, but that's just me). And trust me, ALOT of strips got wasted, especially in the beginning. :banghead: At least for us. I went through five the other night trying to get one test in :mad:
Hope everything gets easier for you, just takes time and practice. :)
Thank you so much @Cheryl & Jazzy! I want to avoid the purrito move. Ruby is actually the chillest cat ever, which is why her protest against the poking is making me feel like I must be really hurting her. I’m sorry that it’s not easy for you either but glad I’m not alone in feeling frustrated! :bighug:
 
I would be getting more numbers if testing itself weren't such a struggle for me and Ruby. This morning I went through three strips because I couldn't get enough blood, and her poor ears are covered in scabs. I'm so envious of all of you whose cats actually ENJOY testing!

Hi Katherine, I switched from Relion to Contour Next. I happened to have one at home, and tried it. It takes FAR less blood than Relion, and is MUCH easier to use. I never get error messages from it (E12 - error test again). It's expensive but well worth it because it just is so much easier and takes so much less blood. The strips seem to suck the blood up better. Plus it gives a little show on it's display that kind of entertains the cat too.

And believe me, we had trouble getting enough blood and then worse, getting the relion to work right. I would never recommend one. Contour Next, yes, and the strips are lower priced on ebay.
 
Hi Katherine, I switched from Relion to Contour Next. I happened to have one at home, and tried it. It takes FAR less blood than Relion, and is MUCH easier to use. I never get error messages from it (E12 - error test again). It's expensive but well worth it because it just is so much easier and takes so much less blood. The strips seem to suck the blood up better. Plus it gives a little show on it's display that kind of entertains the cat too.

And believe me, we had trouble getting enough blood and then worse, getting the relion to work right. I would never recommend one. Contour Next, yes, and the strips are lower priced on ebay.
The Contour Next One is the meter I am using. I really like how small it is (I have small hands) and I love the app that comes with it because it automatically connects to my iPhone via Bluetooth and uploads readings so I don't have to remember numbers to enter into the spreadsheet and share here. It also makes pretty graphs. :)

I found this excellent video on the forum that is really the best one I've seen so far with someone using a lancing device. Plus Peanut is too cute! https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...to-get-a-blood-sample-starring-peanut.175369/
 
Back
Top