11/19 Putu PMPS 99, N.S., +13 104, +20 409

putus_human

Member Since 2020
Putu is lower than ever for her PMPS (99 on human meter) and it's only our second day on Lantus so I'm not quite sure what to do. She didn't seem to curve today, just slowly slid lower. Not sure if she's coming out of a bounce from yesterday or what. I'm feeding her the usual evening meal and am not comfortable giving her shot. Any advice?
 
When you stall, you shouldn't feed. We want to see if the blood glucose goes up without the influence of food.

Have you tried to feed her again after the barf?
 
OK that's fine.....let's see where she's at now

Just some housekeeping....here in the Lantus forum, you should only start 1 thread per day. There's too many cats on Lantus for any more than that. You can always edit your subject line if something comes up (like this!)
 
She's at 106. Should my plan be to feed her regular meal again?

Also, noted about the thread -- sorry about that.
 
Also, noted about the thread -- sorry about that.

No problem....you're new here!

With so little data on Lantus and Putu responding so quickly, we may want to lower her dose and kind of start over. Usually it's the right decision to stay at the same dose when switching, but occasionally we do see a cat that reacts quickly.

As for tonight, with so little data and we don't know if the vomiting was a one time thing or not, I think I'd err on the side of caution and skip tonight. Just put N.S. in the U cell

I'd suggest starting tomorrow at 1U and hold that dose for several days. We can fast track her back up if we need to.

Grab a test before bed tonight just to add to your data (and see what happens when you skip for future use)
 
Ok, thank you. Skipping and starting over sounds like a good idea.

She is actually still dry heaving this whole time, but is eating a spoonful of her usual food now. I'll see if she can keep it down.
 
Please do get a ketone test if at all possible.

It's a tough situation with the history of ketones, we usually want to make sure they get at least some insulin, but without knowing if she will keep food down, that's worrying too.
 
I will test for ketones as well. I know, it's like walking a tight rope with this one. She's at 104 an hour later, so basically no change. I only got a couple of spoonfuls of food in her but she's eating again now.
 
Back
Top