11/19 Junga AMPS 155, +2 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

jldnvjld

Member Since 2010
After the up-and-down drama of a couple of days ago I decided I needed a better plan. Giving Junga a shot that might make him go hypo, leaving snacks he might not eat and walking out the door to work is just not a 'go' for me. So here's where we are now:

He won't eat the new MC food I got for him to try: Merrick's Thanksgiving Day Feast. Oh well. Still have a can of Grammie's Pot Pie for him to sample and/or reject.

The auto-feeder arrived yesterday, and it looks like he ate his +9 snack (LC; duck) at some point during the night (hey, maybe at +9!) I have a +9 set up for today, too. My hope is that this will lower his preshots.

Not sure I am getting the 'whiff' of insulin out of the syringe; I'm going to try positioning my hands different ways so I can press the plunger more firmly. In any case, he's not hypo-ing, and his highs aren't horrible, so....okay for now, I think.

To recap: no gravy foods for Junga; he has food allergies and those contain grain (hence the HC.) He's also an amazingly picky eater for a little pudgeball.

J.
 
Good luck on gett the "whiff" of insulin shot. Junga is looking really good, The Wellness Healthy Indulgence pouches are grain free and have "gravy" or sauce. They use potato starch as a thickener and have some veg in them. They range from 9% to 14%, if you need some MC gravy to get him up.
 
Ann & Tess said:
The Wellness Healthy Indulgence pouches [....]

We tried the Wellness pouches. Junga says 'yuck.' Actually, he'll eat them if he's *really* hungry, which means pre-shot. I tried that to see if I could pre-load him with carbs, and just got a bigger food spike followed by a bigger crash; not so hot. He won't touch the pouch food at +1, +2, or +3 (his nadir is somewhere around +3, usually, or so it seems.)

Foods that don't work for Junga, so far:
Gravy foods (grain allergy)
Fish (doesn't like)
Wellness pouches (doesn't like)
Cowboy Cookout (hates)
Thanksgiving Day Dinner (hates)

Okay with so far:
Wellness Turkey Formula (doesn't love it)
EVO 95% Duck (loves!)
Wild Blue Duck (loves; unknown carbs, but is high in meat)
 
Nice numbers for Junga! :oops: I am so sorry...I don't believe I ever caught your name...?
Good luck with the timed feeder. I did some experimenting with Raja's numbers awhile back....and I found that she got lower numbers if I left a full 4 hours between meals and the preshot test. See how Junga does with the +9 snacks and then maybe try the snack at +8... No matter which you use, it should help get those preshots into the greens... :mrgreen:
 
I'm Jan.
Apparently he ate his snack last night; we had a green pre-shot! I'm not expecting a green pre-shot this evening, because between the low pre-shot this morning and the fact that I was going back to bed and wouldn't be up to monitor, I skipped his a.m. shot. But so far so good. I'm so glad he's not afraid of the noise the feeder makes. He's not afraid of noises in general.

J.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top