Re: 11/19 Frip AMPS 59, +4 140
looking good, Sylvie. :smile:
What you have to remember about Frip is that unlike most of the kitties here, his nadir is very late. It almost looks like it could be right at +12, though if you can get more spot checks between +8 and +12 that will help narrow it down some more. I see that usually when you do have +10's and +11's, they are higher than his +12, so those would support a nadir around +12. BUT we don't know for sure if the 59 this morning was on the way up from a nadir at maybe +11, or if that was in fact the nadir. That is why those +11's are even more important for you than for others here.
So, while you see other people shooting numbers in blue and getting down to 50's around +6, then going back up, Frip's preshot and his nadir are at the same time! His higher numbers are in the middle of the cycle. So if we're aiming to have nadirs in the 50's-60's and his preshots are at the same time as his nadirs, then you're going to have preshots in the 50's-60's.
Of course you'll need to do as much testing as possible when you're home, because nadirs can move around! Especially on late nadir cats, we have noticed that when they are about to earn a reduction, the nadir might move earlier than it usually is. So whereas we tell most people to concentrate on getting spot checks in the middle of the cycle, you will do better to get the very early and very late checks. You will want to get some between say +3 and +8 to determine when the number usually starts to drop. That is the number that will make you comfortable shooting low, because that is the number that will tell you how many more hours Frip will have for his number to keep rising before the shot kicks in.
I remember Jojo describing late nadir to someone as picturing a clock. Normally the preshots are at 12:00, onset is maybe at 2:00, nadir at 6:00. For Frip, take the whole clock and turn it 6 hours to the right, so 6:00 is at the top. Now everything is shifted clockwise about 6 hours, so while you're still shooting at the top, onset might be +8 and nadir +12.