11/19 Frip AMPS 59, +4 140, PMPS 99, +2 104

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/19 Frip AMBG 52, +.5 59 Dose?

BG is going up... so AMBG was close to nadir..

But do I adjust dose again? it's 3rd time in 11 days? maybe be safe with 0.25U for this morning and see what happens tonight?

I'll give dose in 20 minutes....
 
Re: 11/19 Frip AMBG 52, +.5 59 Dose?

I think that 0.25u sounds reasonable. He didn't technically earn the decrease, I was sort of hoping he would go down so he would earn it. ;-) If you could, it might help you to get some +11s before AMPS...you might be just missing those <50s right before PS.
 
Re: 11/19 Frip AMPS 59

I gave 0.25U to be safe.. wow this is getting difficult to measure!

Laurie, thanks...
I know 52 is borderline. I measure in mmol/L.. The guideline says to lower dose < 3.0. 52 is 2.9.
It doesn't convert exactly but I prefer to be safer.. I'll go back to maybe 0.4U if I start to see a lot of Yellows.

The problem is that I still see Yellow in the morning before I feed him..
 
Re: 11/19 Frip AMPS 59

Yes, I see the yellows...I'm not totally disagreeing with the reduction, and you want to do what you are comfortable with. I don't have a lot of experience with late nadir cats, so maybe others will weigh in later...
 
Re: 11/19 Frip AMPS 59, +4 140

At +4 140 is not bad, we are still blue... cat_pet_icon

My mom just got here, she will kitty sit tonight while I'm going to the theatre.. :smile:

See you later tonight...
 
Re: 11/19 Frip AMPS 59, +4 140

looking good, Sylvie. :smile:

What you have to remember about Frip is that unlike most of the kitties here, his nadir is very late. It almost looks like it could be right at +12, though if you can get more spot checks between +8 and +12 that will help narrow it down some more. I see that usually when you do have +10's and +11's, they are higher than his +12, so those would support a nadir around +12. BUT we don't know for sure if the 59 this morning was on the way up from a nadir at maybe +11, or if that was in fact the nadir. That is why those +11's are even more important for you than for others here.

So, while you see other people shooting numbers in blue and getting down to 50's around +6, then going back up, Frip's preshot and his nadir are at the same time! His higher numbers are in the middle of the cycle. So if we're aiming to have nadirs in the 50's-60's and his preshots are at the same time as his nadirs, then you're going to have preshots in the 50's-60's.

Of course you'll need to do as much testing as possible when you're home, because nadirs can move around! Especially on late nadir cats, we have noticed that when they are about to earn a reduction, the nadir might move earlier than it usually is. So whereas we tell most people to concentrate on getting spot checks in the middle of the cycle, you will do better to get the very early and very late checks. You will want to get some between say +3 and +8 to determine when the number usually starts to drop. That is the number that will make you comfortable shooting low, because that is the number that will tell you how many more hours Frip will have for his number to keep rising before the shot kicks in.

I remember Jojo describing late nadir to someone as picturing a clock. Normally the preshots are at 12:00, onset is maybe at 2:00, nadir at 6:00. For Frip, take the whole clock and turn it 6 hours to the right, so 6:00 is at the top. Now everything is shifted clockwise about 6 hours, so while you're still shooting at the top, onset might be +8 and nadir +12.
 
Re: 11/19 Frip AMPS 59, +4 140, PMPS 99

PMPS is 99.. I kept 0.25U again tonight...

Thanks Libby, I'll focus my daily spot checks between +8 and +12 to figure out exactly when his nadir is... I have a lot of spot checks between +4 and +7 (day cycle) and it is almost always the higest BG in the day.

I also noticed that the evening cycle is different than the day cycle. Spot checks when we wake-up in the morning are yellows (between +9 and +11) than I feed him and we have a big dive for AMPS... I feed him before we go to bed between +1.5 and +2.5 than he doesn't eat before morning (food is available all night but not touched most of the time). I free feed him during the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top