11/19 - Dolly - AMPS276 - 175@2. 75 - 48@5.25 - no symptons 305@+10

Looking good. She’s actually considered a long term diabetic though so a reduction is earned with 3 drops in the 40’s or one drop under 40. How do you feel about that?
 
Good catch today.

FYI - non diabetic cats cat test in the 40's, we just don't want cats on insulin that low as it gives no margin for error. So it depends on the cat, but you might not see symptoms in the 40's. Also, a good goal when you give them higher carbs is to bump them up about 30 points. Make sure you make good notes on the spreadsheet today on amount of HC/karo and timing, so you next time you can see what worked, didn't work, or worked too well.
 
Looking good. She’s actually considered a long term diabetic though so a reduction is earned with 3 drops in the 40’s or one drop under 40. How do you feel about that?
She wasn’t under 40 and no previous BG in that low of a range. I guess I think about lowering her back to 1.5 and back to floating in the yellows. I still don’t understand FD well enough to know the best route to take. It’s all so unknown to me as to what she’s going to do next. I didn’t know how the fur shot would affect today’s numbers. The 48 was such a shock. Don’t mean to go on and on, really saying I need guidance.
 
Last edited:
Good catch today.

FYI - non diabetic cats cat test in the 40's, we just don't want cats on insulin that low as it gives no margin for error. So it depends on the cat, but you might not see symptoms in the 40's. Also, a good goal when you give them higher carbs is to bump them up about 30 points. Make sure you make good notes on the spreadsheet today on amount of HC/karo and timing, so you next time you can see what worked, didn't work, or worked too well.
I keep all of her spread sheet information and everything that happens that needs to be noted in a notebook. Sometimes there is so much to document in such a small space. I guess I could reduce the font size. Thanks for all of the information, good to see your name. :):):)
 
She wasn’t under 40 and no previous BG in that low of a range. I guess I think about lowering her back to 1.5 and back to floating in the yellows. I still don’t understand FD well enough to know the best route to take. It’s all so unknown to me as to what she’s going to do next. I didn’t know how the fur shot would affect today’s numbers. The 48 was such a shock. Don’t mean to go on and on, really saying I need guidance.

So for a cat over a year diabetic they have to drop 3 times in tge 40’s to earn a reduction. This was the first.
 
Is there a typical BG range that will happen after a bounce? “Could” she drop low again tonight? Do I need to monitor during the night? She was 265@+1, 178@+3. Do I need to set an alarm?

ps - don’t know how to edit title and get to the end so I can add something :arghh: can’t remember how I did it before.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top