11/18 Sooty PMPS 272 +5 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo...

eta: Today: AMPS 316 +5 243 PMPS 272 +5 260

All OK this morning, dosecrease time is here again, 1st cycle at 7.5 this morning.

Also, I am given to understand that today is, in fact, Thursday - even though, for some reason, in my head, yesterday was Thursday!
(OK, come on now, like you've never done that!?!?!? :lol: !)

So, have a good FURsday - TODAY!
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316

I hope Sooty settles into this dose nicely once his shed's topped up.
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316

So, how did you like your new vet, Perry? that is great that you are having the dental on Monday! Did your vet give you instructions? Each vet has a different request as to the fasting. Mine asks that we fast from midnight.
Since my two usually get a snack at 2:45am, the dental fast is pretty awful for us here. When they do not see food during the night and then the next morning, the Mama is not preparing breffis for them, they both start to panic.
The dentals are far worse on ME than they are for my two though.... :lol:

My vet asks that they do not get any insulin the morning of the dental...no food, no insulin.
Ask your vet if water is okay.... I leave water out all night but my two don't usually drink anyway.

Sometimes, they are prescribed and antibiotic.
We have been given Clavamox after the dental...in liquid form, the ABs for about a week or two, depending.
Clavamox comes in pill form too. There are other ABs that are used as well....
It is suggested that Convenia (an AB shot lasting 2 weeks) not be given. There is much written about the adverse affects of Convenia...

(Without food all night, I decided to give Shadow a reduced insulin dose the night before since he couldn't have any food.)
Check his BG before you leave in the morning and when you come home with him later.
Sometimes, the anesthesia lowers their BGs and a reduced insulin dose is needed that night. It depends....

Ask when you will be able to feed him. When you feed food, give a small amount only. Small meals for a few hours.
Too much food on their empty stomachs can lead to vomiting, so go slowly when introducing the food.
If Sooty acts dopey when you get home, leave him in a quiet darkened room for a little while until he feels better...

If there was an extraction, pain meds are needed. People here suggest Bupe.(Buprenorphine)
Metacam is NOT recommended...
Maybe ask your vet ahead of time what ABs she uses and what pain meds she prescribes...so you know ahead of time.

Then, post her reply here so you can get some feedback, okay?
Here is a link with more info (disregard the Metacam in the pain meds section!) http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Dental_procedure

I order my Levemir from Candadrugsonline http://www.canadadrugsonline.com Your vet can fax your script to them directly, information on their site. Maybe get one pen locally and order the 5 pack for the future. (I use the flex pen..5 pack takes a couple of weeks to arrive usually.)

Did your vet get blood during the exam last night... pre-dental blood work?
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
So, how did you like your new vet, Perry? that is great that you are having the dental on Monday! Did your vet give you instructions? Each vet has a different request as to the fasting. Mine asks that we fast from midnight.
Since my two usually get a snack at 2:45am, the dental fast is pretty awful for us here. When they do not see food during the night and then the next morning, the Mama is not preparing breffis for them, they both start to panic.
The dentals are far worse on ME than they are for my two though.... :lol:

My vet asks that they do not get any insulin the morning of the dental...no food, no insulin.
Ask your vet if water is okay.... I leave water out all night but my two don't usually drink anyway.

Sometimes, they are prescribed and antibiotic.
We have been given Clavamox after the dental...in liquid form, the ABs for about a week or two, depending.
Clavamox comes in pill form too. There are other ABs that are used as well....
It is suggested that Convenia (an AB shot lasting 2 weeks) not be given. There is much written about the adverse affects of Convenia...

(Without food all night, I decided to give Shadow a reduced insulin dose the night before since he couldn't have any food.)
Check his BG before you leave in the morning and when you come home with him later.
Sometimes, the anesthesia lowers their BGs and a reduced insulin dose is needed that night. It depends....

Ask when you will be able to feed him. When you feed food, give a small amount only. Small meals for a few hours.
Too much food on their empty stomachs can lead to vomiting, so go slowly when introducing the food.
If Sooty acts dopey when you get home, leave him in a quiet darkened room for a little while until he feels better...

If there was an extraction, pain meds are needed. People here suggest Bupe.(Buprenorphine)
Metacam is NOT recommended...
Maybe ask your vet ahead of time what ABs she uses and what pain meds she prescribes...so you know ahead of time.

Then, post her reply here so you can get some feedback, okay?
Here is a link with more info (disregard the Metacam in the pain meds section!) http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Dental_procedure

I order my Levemir from Candadrugsonline http://www.canadadrugsonline.com Your vet can fax your script to them directly, information on their site. Maybe get one pen locally and order the 5 pack for the future. (I use the flex pen..5 pack takes a couple of weeks to arrive usually.)

Did your vet get blood during the exam last night... pre-dental blood work?

Hi Pat, The new Vet seems great (thanks for asking!) Dr Roesner is the founder/owner of the practice and very nice indeed. She even gave me a printout of a VIN record of a recent lecture given by (THE!) Dr Rand (of Queensland University), on FD insulins and dosing - including Glargine and Detemir being THE insulins most likely to achieve remission in cats (non-acrocats of course) and she had actually attended that lecture, herself - so that is a great sign! She was quite blown away by the home-testing that we do (I gave her a printout of our SS and she asked us to please bring an updated one with us on Monday!) Of course she thought that our current dosecreases of 0.5u every 4 cycles is a bit outside of her comfort zone (she'd be more used to keeping each dose for a full week) but she didn't press the point - I think she realizes that we do have a clue what we are doing and that we understand the risks (and know how to respond to any unexpected BG drops or suchlike)... not to mention of course, that we have the might of the world-renowned FDMB peeps behind us, every step of the way!!!!!

For the dental, she didn't instruct us about any fasting but I will double-check. She said to give him his usual shot on Monday morning. The procedure is scheduled for 2PM. She said she will be giving him minimal anesthetic protocol to minimize the after-effects. No, there's no new blood work planned for this, afaik she was quite happy that his (very) recent last BW was all clear. The only issue on the table now, really, is any possible dental infection.

On the possible need for ABs and pain meds, yes indeed I will be sure to check that she doesn't plan to use either Convenia or Metacam...! Any info I get, between now and then, I'll be sure and post here.

Thanks for the Lev info, however I do know that our usual pharmacy has a pack of 5 Lev pens in stock, in the fridge - so I think we'll just snag those - but if they should need to, they tell me they can get it in the next day.

Thanks again for your help and advice Pat, you are such a rock for us...!
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I hope Sooty settles into this dose nicely once his shed's topped up.

Hope so too! Thanks Gayle!! I am soo glad you are there (having been down this road ahead of us and all that !!!)
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316 +5 243

It sounds like Sooty is in good hands with the new Vet. Keeping paws and fingers crossed for a good Vet report on Monday.
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316 +5 243

good luck with the dental!

A couple of notes I can remember about acros specifically: one is that some acros suffer from excessive soft tissue growth in the throat, which can restrict the airway. For intubation, it is usually recommended that a kitten-sized tube be used. Also, pilling is not recommended for acros for the same reason. Sooty is a new acro, as far as we know, so he might not have these problems yet, but I remember a story about someone's acro having a problem with intubation. You might at least warn your vet to be alert for breathing problems with the tube, and ask for liquid meds or injectable if possible.
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316 +5 243

The tube is a GOOD mention.. be sure you make that request to your vet. Since you really don't know the condition of Sooty's throat, best to be safe and ask for the kitty sized tube. I asked for Shadoe and I will ask for the same for Ollie.

You can see on Shadoe's ss around mid March when she had her dental that she had VERY LOW greens after her dental; I believe the anesthesia has an effect on things so be ready to do some serious testing after, just to be sure Sooty does not do some major dropping in his numbers. Maybe even a reduced shot after wards.

Shadoe was a bit woozy when we got home, but she ate very shortly after getting home. We had fasted her since the midnite before and her dental was around 11am so she was a bit hungry by the time she got home.
I did give her teeny bits because I did not want her gulping and then hurling it all back up again.

I think Shadoe had antirobe drops after her dental and then bupe for pain. I wonder if tramadol would be good for after the dental for pain? They also gave me codeine transdermal gel which was very convenient, just rub on the inside of the ear flap, but Shadoe FREAKED on that stuff ... she absolutely HATED it and would hide when it was evident that she was getting some on her ear. She does not mind bupe or tramadol but that gel YIKES!

I hope all goes well and Sooty comes home with shiny pearly whites!
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316 +5 243

Libby & Gayle, thanks for the advice, I shall ask her about the ET tube and the meds... and as to the possible after-effects, "forewarned is fore-armed", as they say...!

I can't wait for this to be over and done with, as I am becoming more convinced by the day, that he has something 'dental' going on - I caught him drooling, this evening and although he was trying to steal my dinner off of my plate, at the time, I've never seen him do THAT before....!
 
Re: 11/18 Sooty AMPS 316 +5 243

Tena and Curry said:
It sounds like Sooty is in good hands with the new Vet. Keeping paws and fingers crossed for a good Vet report on Monday.
THANK you Tena! Such wonderful support and good thoughts - is sooooo great - I can't thank you enuff!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top