11/18 Simon PMPS 274 +3.5 316

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Poor Simon, he is just not feeling well. He slept right next to me all night and even Cleo let him have her normal spot right next to my chest. I guess she also knew he wasn't feeling well. He is still eating alright although he didn't finish his breakfast this morning. We are going to the vet in an hour to check out whether Simon has a upper respiratory infection or something else. His temperature has been registering on the high end of normal. I'll post when I get back.

Sending many prayers out to Jill and Mike, Tawny, Comet and Rocket, and Charlie and Tarragon and all the other kitties and beans that need our prayers today.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56673
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 vet visit today

Sending Feel better & Healing Vines to Dear Simon!! Prayers that the vet visit will be easy & Simon will be all healed quickly--Hugs & Lub from us!!
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 vet visit today

Poor Simon! Good luck with the vetty visit, I hope he's on the mend soon!
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 vet visit today

feel better soon Simon! Hope it's just a bit of a cold and the vet can fix him right up.
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 vet visit today

Hi Georgia, sending good Vetty vines for Simon, and I hope it is nothing serious. That was so sweet of Cleo to let Simon have her spot next to you. She sensed that Simon needed extra tlc. Hugs and will be awaiting your update.
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 vet visit today

Hi Georgia - I hope all is well with Simon - good luck at the vet. I hope they have an answer for you. Many many healing vines for Simon. How wonderful that Cleo tried to help Simon too. What a sweetie.
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 vet visit today

We are back from the vet. Simon's vet put him on azithromycin 2x/day for 2 weeks to see if that clears up what he suspects is an upper respiratory infection. Does anyone have experience with this AB? Simon has pretty bad congestion but everything else seems to be ok. If things don't get better in the next 2 weeks, he will need to get some type of swab of his eye and mouth to see if anything else is going on, such as a chronic issue. He asked if Simon has done any coughing or asked about snoring. Simon has been a snorer for years now and occasionally has coughing spells (only I thought they were hairball issues...what a dummy I am!). So in reality, he may have had chronic issues with this without me being aware of anything. He hasn't really ever had congestion and sneezing too much in the past so hoping that the AB clears things up quickly.

I brought my Bayer Contour meter in to see if there is a problem with it. Compared to the Alphatrak at the vets, it is reading almost 150 higher! I think I am throwing it away and getting another meter ASAP. My old TrueTrak meter is much more consistent with the Alphatrak although I know lots of people here think it runs lower than normal. Simon's BG on the Alphatrak at the vet (after having a very stressful exam) was 271 and my meter read 415! Crazy!!

Simon was a good boy at the vet until the vet wanted to look in his mouth. He then got the wild eyed look and tried to scratch the vet and also did a little hiss. Definitely not like a gentleman. Also on the chronic ear issues: vet thinks it is probably an environmental allergy and not food related. Really doesn't recommend allergy testing at Simon's age because there are some questions about the validity of the test for cats. Does this make sense?
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 back from vet

Awwww poor Sime, hopefully the AB's will clear up whatever he's got going on and its not something chronic.

Wow on your meter :o

Feel better Simon :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 back from vet

I don't have experience with that AB in a cat, but I've taken it for me (it's Zithromax or a Z-pack). It's a broad spectrum AB that's typically used for bacterial infections such as pneumonia and bronchitis.
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 back from vet +6 171

Thanks, Sienne for the info. I have also taken a z-pack before but didn't realize it is the same thing. I guess it makes sense for him to be on it since it is for a possible URI.
 
Re: 11/18 Simon AMPS 171 back from vet +6 171

Hi Georgia, sorry that Simon is sick, but hopefully the azithromycin will work well for him. Mr Tinkles was on it for about 3 months for his chronic URI....the vet said that they have had very good results with it for chronic URIs, and it worked great for him. Is it the pink (cherry flavored...yuck) liquid? If so, it has sugar in it...not that you shouldn't use it, just be aware! Since Mr T was on it long term, we had it compounded...no sugar and MUCH less expensive. I was warned that it might upset his tummy (as with any AB), but we had no problems with it at all.
 
Re: 11/18 Simon PMPS 274

The PMPS is with the new Relion Confirm meter I bought today. Not much difference from what he posted at the vet with the ATrak. I'll see what happens tomorrow and maybe increase his dose by a little. Poor Simon is really feeling bad. His nose is very congested and now his eyes are a little watery. I sure hope the AB's kick in fast. My DH and I are watching a movie and we have Simon all wrapped up in a snuggly, sitting with us. I feel so bad for him.
 
Re: 11/18 Simon PMPS 274

So sorry that Simon isn't feeling well. Poor baby! I don't have any experience with the AB but hope it brings him some relief. Seeding healing vines for sweet Simon to get better soon. Hope you have a good evening Georgia!
 
I'm so sorry Simon is feeling poorly and has a URI. HOpe that it is all it is and that the AB will cure it quickly.

I have a Contour as well as my OT. At the vet, the Contour ran higher than the AT by quite a bit. My OT ran about 30 lower than the AT. I rarely use the Contour. I like how little blood it takes but it seems to read really high except at low numbers.

Healing vines for sweet Simon.
 
Aww...I hope Simon is feeling better ASAP. Poor little guy. I'm sure his numbers are related to him feeling yucky right now.

Trix was on zithromax for a month years ago, when we first got her, because she tested positive for bartonella. Unfortunately, that's all I remember about it - not much help, huh? That was way before she became diabetic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top