11/18 Ruby AMPS 353/+6 136/PMPS 309/+4 176

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday.

Morning all! :coffee:

Ruby is really resisting this dose increase. Not sure what's going on, she seemed to be doing well before on her lower dose. Sigh.

Sending healing thoughts to all of the sick kitties and hugs to all you beans who love 'em so! :bighug::bighug:
 
I've been giving Ruby 1/16 teaspoon of Miralax twice a day (⅛ tsp total/day) for the past 11 days and it seems to be working. I've read though that it's not meant to be used long term according to the Constipation article in Diabetes in Pets: https://petdiabetes.fandom.com/wiki/Constipation. Should I taper off and see how she's doing or is it ok at such a low dose?
 
I've heard Miralax is dose to effect. Have you seen: https://felineconstipation.org/
I have indeed! To be honest I never paid attention to her bathroom habits before her diagnosis, and she had a closed litter box before where I couldn't really see what she was doing in there and now we have an open one and I notice her habits more. I think we're getting some good results with the dose I'm giving her now, as before her stools were very long and hard and now they are softer and broken into many pieces. I'm also putting an ounce of water for every ounce of Fancy Feast I am giving her and she likes the watered down slurry. Wondering too if there is a correlation between Ruby's glucose levels and her constipation, and if I can get her sugar better regulated, then there might be less of a need for Miralax.
 
Back
Top