11/18 punkin amps 280 +5/160, acupuncture today

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
day before yesterday

just got back from punkin's first acupuncture treatment. it was bizarre. the first few needles went on the inside of his thighs, which didn't thrill him. the vet said cats typically don't like anyone touching inside their thighs no matter why, which is definitely true on punkin. he didn't fight him or anything, you could just tell he would've rather been left alone.

he put a number of needles in his back end, then started putting them on either side of his spine. as the vet got a few in, punkin sunk down on the table like he was going to go to sleep. the vet finished putting the needles in - maybe 10-15 all together, and told me that some cats will purr through the whole thing. he said they feel a buzzing sensation with the needles in, and they release endorphins, which can make the dog/cat go limp, go to sleep, drool or purr. he set a timer for 20 minutes. he said if he puts in a lot of needles it can literally make the animal sleep for 3 days straight - they get this massive endorphin release that can just put them out, so with punkin, he wanted to start slow and easy.

as soon as he left, punkin wanted down off the table. the vet had said better to keep him up there, so i spent the next 20 minutes fussing with him. about halfway through i moved him to the bench where i had a corner to help me keep him boxed in. they can lay down with the needles in, but i was trying not to touch them. i think punkin felt funny and was looking for a hiding spot.

pretty interesting experience. just fyi in case anyone's interested, this first session cost $65 and lasted about an hour. the bupe i got cost $50 for a week, maybe 10 days - so for not much more i may have a non-drug solution for his pain. you go once a week for about a month, then start cutting back, ultimately getting to once a month. he said some animals don't respond to it, but most show a significant change in about 2-3 weeks. some show some improvement the first week, but often it is short-lived.

now we wait. i'm really curious what his BG is after the treatment, but anya is on my lap and i hate to displace her.

and did i say YAY? i'm off now til the 29th, so we increased punkin's dose because we'll be able to monitor him over break. today is my son's 23rd birthday.
 
I can't wait to see how the acupuncture affects Punkin. You can be our tester :lol:

Enjoy your time off. I just love the holidays, mainly for that reason. Happy birthday to your son!
 
Julie!! And Punkin!!!

I've been waiting for a Punkin condo today to see how his acupuncture went. Sounds like it went well, for the first visit. I can't wait to see if it actually works. I know my BFF who does acupuncture says that it does take time and a few visits to actually see results, but she works with the human beans......not kitters!

Happy 23rd Birthday to your son! Ahhhh to be young..........
 
he's gone for a few days to spin fire with his friends - so we'll celebrate the birthday tomorrow.

punkin seemed uber-relaxed as those needles went in, and now he's mr. cool guy - laying on the carpet in front of me and purring away. yes, the vet said it usually takes 2-3 times to see results, so i'm not basing too much on this first day.
 
Very interesting! I, too am anxious to see how Punkin does with this. A non-drug pain control would be awesome! Maybe I'll have to give it a try myself!

Happy birthday to your son.
 
I have a friend who does this for her cat - she says it has done wonders. Her kitty has arthritis, and the treatments do help. For her she goes back every two weeks, as yes - it doesn't last forever. Her kitty went from not being able to jump up on anything, to being able to do that and more. I hope it makes a difference for Punkin!

nice +5 Punkin!
 
Here's hoping the acupunKture helps PunKin!!!! Sounds relaxing, actually!!! Nice numbers today, Punkin!

Happy Birthday DS!!! Hope you are having a fun party soon. Have a great night, Julie. Time for rest and good luck with the dosecrease.
 
I'm curious to hear about how Punkin responds, too. I know quite a few people who have sworn by acupuncture...I really hope it helps!
 
The world stops when we have a kitty in our lap. :smile: I hope the acupuncture helps punkin. Anne and I have started getting acupuncture this fall. It's very relaxing and soothing.
Liz
 
the 160 was at +5, before the acupuncture treatment - he stayed at 170 at +9 after we got home then jumped to 249 pmps. i don't think i can give credit to the acupuncture yet for his BG. we increased the dose back up from 7.0 to 7.5 this morning to try to move punkin a little lower.

punkin's sacked out. the vet told me he might sleep for a while - one of his dog patients slept 3 days straight after his treatment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top