? 11/18 Phoenix, Reduce Insulin?

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom

Today was unusual circumstances. I had a couple of electricians coming out this morning for several hours. I needed to put Phoenix in his carrier since they would be working all over my house.

Phoenix's AMPS was 111. I was scared he might go lower and I would be unable to check his BG. I gave him half a can of fancy feast hc along with his breakfast. His BG at +1 was 148 and then I had to put him in his carrier.

I let him out at + 6. His BG was 66. I just couldn't believe it. I gave him another half can of fancy feast hc as well as his lunch
Thirty minutes later, his BG was 75 at +7. I checked again at +7.5 and he was back down to 66. I gave him some honey and another half can of fancy feast hc.

Now, at +8, Phoenix’s BG is 100. This is because of the honey. Should I reduce his insulin to 6.5 units for his PMPS?
I am worried that he may go really low
tonight if I don't decrease his insulin. Any advice would be appreciated.
 
Hi Susan, it would help us a lot if you could post his numbers in your thread title.

He's a bit high dose for me to advise, but if you're following TR you should hold the dose of 7 units as he may be bouncing from those greens and you can shoot any number above 50. It's hard to get a clear picture if you don't hold a dose for 6 cycles as that's how long it takes for the depot to fill and for the insulin to show its effect on the cat.
 
Hmm. Tough call. Something is going on, he wants to come down the ladder.

This advice does not follow the dosing guidelines - but if it were me, I would reduce to 6U and see if that gives you the ability to shoot the same dose consistently enough for him to settle down. Depot is very disrupted, bouncing, plus the HC it's hard to see what's going on. I would also check for ketones if you aren't already. You would like have to take him back up in dose a little after he settles.
 
He does seem to want to speed down the dosing ladder. He was clearing a bounce so there was additional downward momentum today. You could try 6.5U or even 6U and see how he fares.
 
Back
Top