11/18 Oberon +10 70, +10.5 74, +11 70, +11.5 55, PMBG 48/47 no shot, +1 69, +2 73, +3 99, +4 154

Whoa... dropped from 299 to 54 in 3 hours. (I checked again in case the test was weird and got 57.) Feeding a tsp of 20% carb now and we'll check again in 20 min.

(No specific questions, would just like some additional eyes on him as I deal with this.)
 
Hi Lisa! I can be around for an hour or so if you need any help with feeding/testing.

Although dramatic, that sure is a nice catch and a nice number!
 
Thanks! Pretty sure I know the drill at this point, but extra eyes are always welcome. I'm about to test again (~20 min since the last test). Once I see that he's not plummeting anymore I'll back off a little.
 
60 at +6.75. He's not diving any more; looks like he's likely to surf here for a while. I'll check again at +7 or so. He's devouring the HC food and he's a bit cranky (had to give him a little LC to distract him while I tested).
 
60 at +6.75. He's not diving any more; looks like he's likely to surf here for a while. I'll check again at +7 or so. He's devouring the HC food and he's a bit cranky (had to give him a little LC to distract him while I tested).
Nice! I was totally curious if you were going to let him surf here or if you were going to try to get him above 70. Surf safely, Oberon :bighug:
 
AE04B16D-C97E-408D-B5D3-37F735F4A555.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • AE04B16D-C97E-408D-B5D3-37F735F4A555.jpeg
    AE04B16D-C97E-408D-B5D3-37F735F4A555.jpeg
    94.3 KB · Views: 59
You kinda asked for it in your first post lol, well steered :D

Good job listening to the mamabean Oberon.

Yeah, I totally brought this on myself. Also, this was supposed to be a quick check before I ran out the door to do some errands... so much for that!

54 at +7... giving a little more HC. Still safe numbers but I'l like him a bit higher.
 
What is his regular feeding schedule-timings, amount, carbs?

Fancy Feast classic pate (chicken, beef, turkey), ~3% carbs. We essentially free feed throughout the day, about ⅓-½ can at a time. With four cats it's hard to say exactly how much he eats, but collectively they get about 10 cans per day.
 
So now the fun part... he's earned a reduction, because I'm using 70 as my cutoff. But from what dose, and how much? I could reduce by 0.25 back down to 8.75, but since the 8.75 depot was still in play here that doesn't seem like an actual reduction. I'm thinking I should reduce by 0.5, and reduce from the previous dose of 8.75 to 8.25. Or maybe split the difference and reduce to 8.5?
 
Morning data: +8.5 342, AMPS 354, +3 299, +6 54, +6.5 62, +6.75 60

I thought I'd see what happened if I held off a bit on the food. Now I know... 46 at +8.5. Getting some HC now.
 
70 at +10 and he's getting a bit more HC right now... now we see if he stays above 70 by preshot time if we don't feed for two hours. Might end up having to skip tonight altogether. I'll keep checking every 30 min to make sure he doesn't go too low between now and PMPS, too.
 
At this stage in Oberon's journey, I'd take the larger reduction. You can always go back up if needed - and look where that got you. (sorry, I played a part in that :oops:)
 
At this stage in Oberon's journey, I'd take the larger reduction. You can always go back up if needed - and look where that got you. (sorry, I played a part in that :oops:)

No worries! I don't think it was the new dose that did it, really; I think he was just due for a drop. Antibodies take a holiday whenever they feel like it, it seems.

Reducing to 8.25 sounds like the best option, then. Right now I need to start thinking about tonight. He's been around 70 or so for about 6 hours now. Based on his past few dips he could stay this low for a lot longer. If he's below 70 at PMPS I don't think it makes sense to stall to see if he comes up, since this isn't really a normal Lantus cycle we're dealing with. So below 70 I would skip. If he's right around 70 I have to decide between a full dose and a BCS. I've shot this low before (actually in the 60s, before I changed my cutoff), so I may go for it.

Then again... he was 55 just now at +11.5. Looks very much like we're heading for a skip.
 
No shot below 50. You can wait 20 minutes without feeding and test again to see if he's on his way up.
 
And the subject line should read +12 48 or PMBG (blood glucose) to let us know you didn't shoot.

Been wondering if the dexamethasone shot is wearing off. I know it can last a while in kitties. Just another monkey wrench in the works.
 
Got distracted by a phone call and missed a +0.5 check, but at +1 he's 69. So HC food is bringing him up, but without it he's falling below 50. Wonder how long he plans to keep this up.
 
Definitely on his way back up after 10 hours of greens; gave him the last bit of HC (with some LC) just now just to use up the can. Back to LC overnight. The plan is to reduce the dose to 8.25 tomorrow morning, assuming he doesn't surprise me somehow. I think what I'd like to do is aim to get him back to a dose that needs an R boost occasionally, so I have more of a buffer for dealing with these sudden dips. But for now I'll see what he does as he rebuilds the depot at 8.25.
 
Back
Top