? 11/18 Max AMPS 465

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Previous https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...4-204-6-171-8-215-10-246.255628/#post-2878745
Does Max need an increase? I thought he did. I gave 10.5 units. I know we can go up 1 unit at a time past 10 units but not it’s clear to me if I am to hold for 6 cycles or 8 cycles. He was up there this morning so I went to 10.5. I kind of feel more comfortable with .5 unit increases with him. Is that wrong? Recommendations from here? Thank you. @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Christie & Maverick @Bandit's Mom @FrostD
 
Last edited:
You’re so kind Summer. Thank you so much. We are trying to hang in there. Hope all is good with you too.
I am fine, Lori. I still miss my girl but my new Boo makes me laugh, follows me around like a puppy dog, talks with me, sits on my lap, lets me hold him and sleeps with me during my naps and at night. Susie rarely did any of these things. Like I have thought, I believe my Susie brought me to Boo. She knew we needed each other.
 
Thank you Carla. @Wendy&Neko might drop by, if she does, I think she will let me know whatever she recommends. Thank you for answering my question. I thought he needed it to but I’m still unsure of myself.
 
I would have gone up the full 1 unit. If he was seeing numbers in the greens and just needed a dose touch up, 0.5 units would have been OK. Think of the increase as a percent of the dose. With kitties with secondary conditions and needing higher doses, think in terms of 10-15% of the total dose as the size of your increase.

As far as how long to hold the dose, it depends on the nadirs. With blue nadirs, we hold 6-10 cycles. I tended to shorter times for higher blues, longer for low blues. So you could have gone up after 6 cycles with just a 171 in there. You held for 7, close enough.
 
I would have gone up the full 1 unit. If he was seeing numbers in the greens and just needed a dose touch up, 0.5 units would have been OK. Think of the increase as a percent of the dose. With kitties with secondary conditions and needing higher doses, think in terms of 10-15% of the total dose as the size of your increase.

As far as how long to hold the dose, it depends on the nadirs. With blue nadirs, we hold 6-10 cycles. I tended to shorter times for higher blues, longer for low blues. So you could have gone up after 6 cycles with just a 171 in there. You held for 7, close enough.
Okay thanks. I think I will go ahead and give the 11 units tonight then.
 
Back
Top