11/18 Cobb AMPS 98 +8 53 PMPS 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

I could sure use some help right about now.

The past two days Cobb has thrown up when his BG has dipped under 70. Yesterday it was 63, and Matt told me just now Cobb threw up at he's at 53. He's bringing his number up as we speak.

I know we're possibly on a downward slope here, but historically 12 has been too high of a dose. So I dropped it...too much and we ended back up at 11 for 6 cycles. You can see he never really got out of blue numbers - other than an occasional just at 200. So I upped it to 11.5u yesterday morning. Now, I sincerely doubt that extra .5u dropped him in the cycle, given that I think his depot takes at least 6 cycles of build up. But the 11u appeared to be too little, and the 11.5u too much. Last night I gave him 10.5u, and then this morning went back to 11. Now he's down to 53.

Thoughts? Words of wisdom? Is he just getting back on the rollercoaster and it's a guessing game? I feel like I have to keep him above 70 right now or he'll throw up (anecdotal evidence suggests that is the case). I could use some eyes and I'll take the 911 down.
 
Re: 11/18 Cobb AMPS 98 +8 53

You do have the depot but for those fat and skinny doses I recommend calipers. Some people make them but I bought digital ones from harbor freight.
 
Re: 11/18 Cobb AMPS 98 +8 53

Ugh on the puking! Same food as usual? The other 5P's OK? I'll assume appy is OK. ;-)

I'd go back to 11U and hold for 6 cycles (unless he says too much), and try to get a second test each cycle. It's possible that the night of the 15th or the 16th day cycle he went lower. Those yellows could have been a bounce. At least that's one possible explanation. And going low on the 11.5U could have been as a result of the momentum from breaking a bounce. The other possibility is to try a .25u changes, but hard to believe he'd be sensitive to such small changes as this dose. The puking could also cause his numbers to go lower.
 
Re: 11/18 Cobb AMPS 98 +8 53

Same food. All Ps in place. In fact, I caught him preening the other day - which I usually don't see all that much since we switched to Lev. I know he is because his fur feels soft, but he did get some matted fur that we've been trying to comb out slowly. But I did catch him preening sometime last week so he is doing it.

Strange...I'll hold the 11u and assume today's low is from that 11.5u. He just usually doesn't react so quickly to a dose change, you know?
 
that's pretty strange. I've never heard of a cat vomiting from going into the 50's. Cobb didn't do it before. I guess I'd give him a break for the moment, but I wouldn't assume yet that it's a direct causal action.

:YMHUG:
 
Suzanne

Not sure if this could be it or not but out of nowhere (and before her liver issues popped up), Gracie started vomiting the 10% food we had always used for lower numbers. She evidently developed a sensitivity to it. Once we stopped giving it to her, the vomiting stopped. She had eaten that food for a few years but .....as cats will do....just couldn't tolerate it after a certain point.

Great numbers today for Cobb!!
 
Thanks Marje and Julie! I'll keep an eye on him and see if we think it's the food. He's otherwise acting normal so I don't think he's in any kind of pain. Hopefully his tummy will calm down.
 
Have you been giving him any high carb food? Or just his regular LC. Any chance since he's grooming more that it's a hairball brewing?
 
Regular LC food. Matt didn't give him any HC this afternoon bc he said he had just eaten the LC. Perhaps he just ate too fast?

I suppose it could be a hairball brewing. We haven't had many problems with those and Cobb. I did notice some matted fur the other day and spent good deal of time combing it out, which he did not like. But I suspect he went back to thoroughly clean the area after he had been "man handled" and contaminated by the comb. :lol: :lol:
 
Was DH giving gravy when this happened? Could it be gluten bothering him? In other words, could it be you're giving different food when he goes below 70 and that be upsetting his stomach?

You asked for input on dose - I confess I hated the dialing for doses - you just don't know what you're going to get until you've got it! Punkin didn't have iaa, so things might be different with Cobb, but i'll throw my thoughts out there for you to play with. I'm just thinking for you, that Cobb is recovering quickly from seriously reduced doses, and I think I wouldn't hesitate to give a half dose when you're uncertain and you've been chasing low numbers in a cycle like today. I think basically what you're doing is working. If he stays skating along in the 50's, though, I think I'd follow it with a 50% of the original dose and then come back to a newly reduced dose with the subsequent shot. I think I'd use a 10% reduction in dose for the "newly reduced dose."

Not sure if that makes sense, but to give an example, after he spent a long time in the 50's today, I might have given a 5.5u shot this evening and then tomorrow morning return to a 10u dose (11u - 10%). I liked the idea of a formula I could follow, even though I knew it is a bit of a crapshoot when you're deciding what to do with the dose of a high dose cat coming down the scale. At least this would give you a plan to try out, then you can see how he responds to it and tweak it from there.

Does that help at all?

You're keeping him safe while he goes down the dosing scale and that's the first priority for any of us, Suzanne. You're doing a great job with him! cat_pet_icon
 
ah, just saw your last post.

i used scissors to cut out punkin's matts, and he got a lot of them when he stopped grooming. i think it must've hurt to turn and groom. i used the scissor's point to try to cut OUT from his body and cut straight through the matts. Does that make sense? I wanted the blades pointing away from his body so i didn't inadvertantly cut him. It was a 2 person job. DH would try to hold the matt away from his body so i could work the scissors in and clip through the matt. I'd do that in a few spots in the matt, then work it out with fingers and a rattail comb.
 
No, Matt wasn't giving gravy. He always waits until I give the say so, unless he's dropped below 50, which he hadn't.

Julie, I do like the formula idea because that tames some of the guessing out of it. It provides a plan/guidelines, which I like. I admit, I read all directions...even for things like curling irons and other items that are self explanatory! :roll: I dislike half doses because I fear they will throw us off track, but they do keep him safe so I'll tuck my fear aside.

Fwiw, he's come up to 119 at +3. But he's also eaten twice in that time period. I've left Matt a text asking him to test before he leaves for work, which will be +9.5. So, we'll see how he handles the dosing choices I've made!
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
ah, just saw your last post.

i used scissors to cut out punkin's matts, and he got a lot of them when he stopped grooming. i think it must've hurt to turn and groom. i used the scissor's point to try to cut OUT from his body and cut straight through the matts. Does that make sense? I wanted the blades pointing away from his body so i didn't inadvertantly cut him. It was a 2 person job. DH would try to hold the matt away from his body so i could work the scissors in and clip through the matt. I'd do that in a few spots in the matt, then work it out with fingers and a rattail comb.

Yes, that makes sense. One of the first vets we took him to wanted to shave the mattes off. It was bad but not THAT bad. If they develop again, I'll try your method. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top