11/18, Binie, AMPS 427, +3 240, +6 186

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-17-binie-amps-437-3-283-6-187.295776/

Good evening,

we had some (two) higher blue numbers today. I think this disease wants to teach me to see the little wins. Yesterday I thought maybe her numbers are much better because the handheld tests in higher numbers have always been lower. Not for the blue numbers as it seems, a 162 on the Libre was a 188 on the handheld today.

Not sure if I did a partial fur shot last night. After the fur shot last week I became a bit paranoid again and after every shot I stick my face into her fur. I felt a tiny bit of moisture and a tiny bit of lantus smell last nigth. No full fur shot for sure but at least a drop of lantus didn't go inside the cat. I don't know what went wrong and how I can change this. I would love to use the roll method but Binie gets upset if I try to pull her fur up. When I started giving injections, I never though that after 10 month I would still struggle. :rolleyes:

But besides all these frustrations the win is, that Binie is really fine. She seems really happy with napping, getting snacks and enjoying her outdoor-time. It doesn't reflect her labs and her bg numbers and is kind of a miracle to me. She licks her breast from time to time but not long and rather soft. Looks like we have a pause from this problem.

She learned a new strategy to get snacks. The last days have been very cold so I was not happy when I opened the door from the terrace to the living room and she takes ages to decide if she wants to come in or not. So I started to rattle the snackbox to motivate her to come in. Now she does not want to come in anymore without a snack. She is just standing outside and waits, until I get the snackbox. :p

Hope everyone has a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
But besides all these frustrations the win is, that Binie is really fine. She seems really happy with napping, getting snacks and enjoying her outdoor-time. It doesn't reflect her labs and her bg numbers and is kind of a miracle to me. She licks her breast from time to time but not long and rather soft. Looks like we have a pause from this problem.
Such a good report Heike :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I might have an idea about the wetness and the lantus smell: I just prepared the syringe and saw that in my battle against bubbles a little lantus I squirted out again stayed on the plastic ring where the needle comes out. If that was the case yesterday too, that drop might have come on the fur but was not part of the dose. Makes me feel a little better....
I was just going to mention this. Along with obsessive fur sniffing I’ve also been staring at every mm of syringe. After my fur shot I had an episode just as you describe. I was in despair until post tests showed glucose going down. Then I thought “hey, what about the excess I squirt…” and a new thing for me to worry about was born!
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-17-binie-amps-437-3-283-6-187.295776/

Good evening,

we had some (two) higher blue numbers today. I think this disease wants to teach me to see the little wins. Yesterday I thought maybe her numbers are much better because the handheld tests in higher numbers have always been lower. Not for the blue numbers as it seems, a 162 on the Libre was a 188 on the handheld today.

Not sure if I did a partial fur shot last night. After the fur shot last week I became a bit paranoid again and after every shot I stick my face into her fur. I felt a tiny bit of moisture and a tiny bit of lantus smell last nigth. No full fur shot for sure but at least a drop of lantus didn't go inside the cat. I don't know what went wrong and how I can change this. I would love to use the roll method but Binie gets upset if I try to pull her fur up. When I started giving injections, I never though that after 10 month I would still struggle. :rolleyes:

But besides all these frustrations the win is, that Binie is really fine. She seems really happy with napping, getting snacks and enjoying her outdoor-time. It doesn't reflect her labs and her bg numbers and is kind of a miracle to me. She licks her breast from time to time but not long and rather soft. Looks like we have a pause from this problem.

She learned a new strategy to get snacks. The last days have been very cold so I was not happy when I opened the door from the terrace to the living room and she takes ages to decide if she wants to come in or not. So I started to rattle the snackbox to motivate her to come in. Now she does not want to come in anymore without a snack. She is just standing outside and waits, until I get the snackbox. :p

Hope everyone has a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
So glad she’s better…and such a smart girl, it doesn’t take long for her to train you!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I was just going to mention this. Along with obsessive fur sniffing I’ve also been staring at every mm of syringe. After my fur shot I had an episode just as you describe. I was in despair until post tests showed glucose going down. Then I thought “hey, what about the excess I squirt…” and a new thing for me to worry about was born!

Hi Colleen,

thank you so much for your support! It helps me to see I am not the only one being challanged. If people would see me sniffing her fur they would think I am crazy. And I felt quite crazy last night. She was not dropping on the sensor and stayed quite flat and I thought that might be due to not having had the full dose. I looked through her whole ss and found similar curves. And I wondered: "What if she is just unregulated because I mess up a bigger part of her shots?" "Would she be even in remission if I wouldn't mess up so badly?" "Will I ever find out my mistake?" Not nice... So I was quite glad I found a logical explanation today.

And yes, it takes me ages to prepare her syringe. Sometimes I start all over with a new syringe because I squirted out too much and don't want to stick the syringe in the vial twice. I hate these bubbels. When Binie got diagnosed ten month ago I thought after a few month I would be calm and self-confident about the treatment. Instead I developed OCD. :)

I see Methos had a low AMPS today. So a lot of stress for you as well. But seems you managed perfectly in the end! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I send a big hug and good wishes to you and the boys! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
I might have an idea about the wetness and the lantus smell: I just prepared the syringe and saw that in my battle against bubbles a little lantus I squirted out again stayed on the plastic ring where the needle comes out. If that was the case yesterday too, that drop might have come on the fur but was not part of the dose. Makes me feel a little better....
I usually take the alcohol wipe that I use to wipe the tip of the pen and wipe the area around the base of the syringe and needle so I get all Lantus smell off of everything. Then if I miss with my shot and smell Lantus, I know I screwed up as the syringe doesn't have Lantus smell on it before I shoot. Just my way of doing it.
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-17-binie-amps-437-3-283-6-187.295776/

Good evening,

we had some (two) higher blue numbers today. I think this disease wants to teach me to see the little wins. Yesterday I thought maybe her numbers are much better because the handheld tests in higher numbers have always been lower. Not for the blue numbers as it seems, a 162 on the Libre was a 188 on the handheld today.

Not sure if I did a partial fur shot last night. After the fur shot last week I became a bit paranoid again and after every shot I stick my face into her fur. I felt a tiny bit of moisture and a tiny bit of lantus smell last nigth. No full fur shot for sure but at least a drop of lantus didn't go inside the cat. I don't know what went wrong and how I can change this. I would love to use the roll method but Binie gets upset if I try to pull her fur up. When I started giving injections, I never though that after 10 month I would still struggle. :rolleyes:

But besides all these frustrations the win is, that Binie is really fine. She seems really happy with napping, getting snacks and enjoying her outdoor-time. It doesn't reflect her labs and her bg numbers and is kind of a miracle to me. She licks her breast from time to time but not long and rather soft. Looks like we have a pause from this problem.

She learned a new strategy to get snacks. The last days have been very cold so I was not happy when I opened the door from the terrace to the living room and she takes ages to decide if she wants to come in or not. So I started to rattle the snackbox to motivate her to come in. Now she does not want to come in anymore without a snack. She is just standing outside and waits, until I get the snackbox. :p

Hope everyone has a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, well it sounds like you 2 had a pretty good day and Binie sounds very happy. Hooray for all of that!
She's sooo smart to figure out how to get more treats from you :rolleyes:

You're so right, we need to celebrate every little win every day. It's a mountain we climb, so every victory is so sweet:cat:

With the roll method, I don't think you have to make the "roll" so extreme. Maybe if you practice "rolling" but not in a hard way, you can develop a technique. I do the roll but it's not extreme and seems to work better for me than the "tent" method (which I was terrible when I did that for the longest time).

I hope more blues are on Binie's agenda tonight and a very calm night for both of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, well it sounds like you 2 had a pretty good day and Binie sounds very happy. Hooray for all of that!
She's sooo smart to figure out how to get more treats from you :rolleyes:

You're so right, we need to celebrate every little win every day. It's a mountain we climb, so every victory is so sweet:cat:

With the roll method, I don't think you have to make the "roll" so extreme. Maybe if you practice "rolling" but not in a hard way, you can develop a technique. I do the roll but it's not extreme and seems to work better for me than the "tent" method (which I was terrible when I did that for the longest time).

I hope more blues are on Binie's agenda tonight and a very calm night for both of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I think you are right, that I have to get her used to it. Maybe I should practise with her. I just tried a few times and the response was negative but maybe it takes some patience and time like everything we do with our kittys. And it helps me to feel less like an idiot hearing, that you also found the tent method difficult. Thank you for that too!

I think there are no more blue numbers tonight. She is extremely high and I don't know why. :(

I hope you are having a peaceful night with Ivy and a good vet visit tomorrow! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
I usually take the alcohol wipe that I use to wipe the tip of the pen and wipe the area around the base of the syringe and needle so I get all Lantus smell off of everything. Then if I miss with my shot and smell Lantus, I know I screwed up as the syringe doesn't have Lantus smell on it before I shoot. Just my way of doing it.

Oh wow! Such great advice! Thank you so much! I feel a bit stupid now. I never wipe the tip of the pen but it makes perfectly sense to me, so the lantus does not get contaminated. And it makes sense to use it to wipe the syringe. You also wipe the needel? Thanks so much for the great advice!
 
If people would see me sniffing her fur they would think I am crazy.
I read that you did that when i first joined. After my fur shot (technically an insulin leak) I started doing it after each shot a d think of you and say “thank you Heike!”:bighug::bighug::bighug:
And yes, it takes me ages to prepare her syringe.
Same here. And since it’s dark in the am it takes even longer, all lights on and a super bright flashlight. Then as I try to get the last little bit out :eek: too much!!!


Methos’ low amps wouldn’t have been an issue and I’d have given him 3 but his low pmps two days prior I had a long discussion with my vet who at first said 1, I said 3 and we compromised on 2…then I second guessed myself all night. So I did a little less than 3, and of course he’s high all day. Not sure if bouncing still from the 75, a little bounce from the 165, or it’s from the delay…so many screw ups. Anyway I wasn’t sure what to do. She reduced him from 3.5 to 3 but I cheated and gave 3.25 once before the 3. So I blamed his +11 of 165 on not decreasing when I was told. When he’s at 3 and higher his PS tends to be his nadir. Sigh.
 
Oh wow! Such great advice! Thank you so much! I feel a bit stupid now. I never wipe the tip of the pen but it makes perfectly sense to me, so the lantus does not get contaminated. And it makes sense to use it to wipe the syringe. You also wipe the needel? Thanks so much for the great advice!
I hope the ideas help. I usually learn from reading what other people have done. There’s so many good suggestions out there. It’s just finding them! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I read that you did that when i first joined. After my fur shot (technically an insulin leak) I started doing it after each shot a d think of you and say “thank you Heike!”:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Same here. And since it’s dark in the am it takes even longer, all lights on and a super bright flashlight. Then as I try to get the last little bit out :eek: too much!!!


Methos’ low amps wouldn’t have been an issue and I’d have given him 3 but his low pmps two days prior I had a long discussion with my vet who at first said 1, I said 3 and we compromised on 2…then I second guessed myself all night. So I did a little less than 3, and of course he’s high all day. Not sure if bouncing still from the 75, a little bounce from the 165, or it’s from the delay…so many screw ups. Anyway I wasn’t sure what to do. She reduced him from 3.5 to 3 but I cheated and gave 3.25 once before the 3. So I blamed his +11 of 165 on not decreasing when I was told. When he’s at 3 and higher his PS tends to be his nadir. Sigh.
Hi Colleen, just wanted to say hi and send you some big hugs. You’re doing such incredible work with Methos. He’s the luckiest boy to have you :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
@SmallestSparrow
 
You also wipe the needel?
I don’t know what Staci does but I wouldn’t wipe the needle—it’s sterile but the alcohol pad once you’ve been wiping stuff no longer is.
I use a piece of paper towel to wipe the outside of the syringe. I stay away from the needle but I figure as I wipe the outside near the hub it wicks away moisture at the needle. But I stay clear of the needle
 
I don’t know what Staci does but I wouldn’t wipe the needle—it’s sterile but the alcohol pad once you’ve been wiping stuff no longer is.
I use a piece of paper towel to wipe the outside of the syringe. I stay away from the needle but I figure as I wipe the outside near the hub it wicks away moisture at the needle. But I stay clear of the needle

Thank you so much Colleen for your helpful advice! I was wondering if I should do or not. I cleaned the syringe today but I stayed away from the needle. Just felt "more right".
 
I read that you did that when i first joined. After my fur shot (technically an insulin leak) I started doing it after each shot a d think of you and say “thank you Heike!”:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Same here. And since it’s dark in the am it takes even longer, all lights on and a super bright flashlight. Then as I try to get the last little bit out :eek: too much!!!


Methos’ low amps wouldn’t have been an issue and I’d have given him 3 but his low pmps two days prior I had a long discussion with my vet who at first said 1, I said 3 and we compromised on 2…then I second guessed myself all night. So I did a little less than 3, and of course he’s high all day. Not sure if bouncing still from the 75, a little bounce from the 165, or it’s from the delay…so many screw ups. Anyway I wasn’t sure what to do. She reduced him from 3.5 to 3 but I cheated and gave 3.25 once before the 3. So I blamed his +11 of 165 on not decreasing when I was told. When he’s at 3 and higher his PS tends to be his nadir. Sigh.

Hi Colleen, I am sorry it is so difficult to navigate all these different issues. I think Staci is right, you are doing so great and Methos is so lucky to have you! It must be so difficult to always discuss (with your vet and finally yourself) these different treatment options. Following a more or less fixed scheme like SLGS makes my life a bit easier. But I guess that is difficult with all what is going on with Methos? I saw Methos stole Tammuz kibble. Naughty guy... Hope he had fun! :cat:

I send you a hug and hopefully a calm day today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top