11/17PowderPMPS128+3 109+4 129

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays Condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29906

Well I was surprised by +3 reading of 416 :o I think I really messed up last night and gave HC food Sophisticats kitten. ohmygod_smile I had used Scheyders Web to figure carbs & thought it was 2.15%. Or it could have been the boneless turkey breast we had for dinner was full of sugar. :roll: So no nice blues to report. Bad bean.

WCR All typical P's in place.He's not as pesty as he had been and was less impatient with testing this am. I'm sure the high BG's took their toll. :sad: However I'm thankful that he started the day in lower 300's it could have been much worse.

I have to go to tbp and I'm late getting out.Spent too much time reading condos, can't help myself. My computer challenged self typed this report twice. I hit a magic key which air lifted me to FDMB login page :roll: Someday I'm going to figure out all these magical shortcuts so I am more better at this :lol:

Yeah here's the sun :-D Have a great day today catch up on the other condos tonight.
 
Re: 11/17PowderAMPS325

well you are right, at least it is a low pink .. powder could come down from this today nice and slow and be blue for you when you get back tonight ... have a great day!
 
Re: 11/17PowderAMPS325

Kathy...Powder and Gracie are doing the same thing...she had red last night, too and about the same AMPS today. Just a recommendation: I wouldn't use Scheyder...I think that results in very inaccurate results because she's doing it off of guaranteed analysis and you just can't do it unless the GA is the same as the as fed. Ann and I both have called a bunch of companies and gotten updated info for as fed values and then put those numbers into Janet's calculator. I don't feed SophistiCat though so I don't have anything for that but Ann may have a few.

Hope Powder comes down today!!
 
Re: 11/17PowderAMPS325+5 155+9.25 87+10 97

Had to drop in early pm and of course had to test :lol: found a nice 155. Gave some 4% ff chix then went back to work. Tested when I got home @9.25 and saw 87 :o HOORAY. Fed 1/2 tsp gravy tsp 4% to try to stop further descent but of course I couldn't tell if on the way up. Didn't want to take a chance.
Don't know but he must have tired himself with all that face washing because he's lost his zip. :lol: No seriously he did finish his clavamox on Monday. His BGs are not bad but I'll keep an eye that his gums are ok. Vet said he would put him on Baytril after the two weeks of clavamox if needed.
STILL GREEN
Recap
AMPS 325
+2 253
+5 155
+9.25 87 :mrgreen:
+10 97
Just checked his gums. They still look very inflamed. :sad: Any other suggestions for ABs?
Also if he stays low If, I have it right, I would shoot usual dose. If other thoughts please enlighten :idea: :-D
 
Re: 11/17PowderAMPS325+2 253+5 155+9.25 87

if you are home to check him around +11, that will be a good indicator and a heads up for PMPS....if not, get your PMPS, post before you shoot if it's low...just remember if you have to stall a shot, dont feed yet.

Have you printed the stickies for Dealing with Low Preshots
very handy to have close by should you need it.
But do post a +11 if you can get it, or your PMPS for further feedback k?

No advice of the meds, maybe others can add input on that.
 
Re: 11/17PowderAMPS325+2 253+5 155+9.25 87

WHOOO HOOOO LOok at the Green POWDER!!!! Great Job Kathy!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/17PowderAMPS325+2 253+5 155+9.25 87

SUPERB!!!!! What an awesome +10 number!!!!!

On the meds...be sure they are dosing him properly on the Baytril and not for too long...I think the 22.7 mg is the correct mg for cats and then it is dosed by weight and he shouldn't be on it longer than three weeks absolutely max. Gus is 10lbs and was on 1/2 bid. Just went through this with Gus and while baytril is great for avoiding upset tummies, you don't want to use it long term. Have you had any of the viral tests run on him? Reason I ask is because when we had Tobey neutered, his gums were fire engine red. He was cutting teeth and the vet thought that might be part of it but she said they can also get really inflamed gums due to viruses. There is a complete virus panel they can do to ensure the red gums are not attributable to that. If they are, then you're wasting money on antibiotics unless there is also a bacterial component. Tobey's came back negative and obviously he does not have gingivitis from tartar...his teeth are brand new and pristine but they were still a little redder than they should be from cutting teeth. My NRT (Nutrition Response Testing) vet tested him and put him on a supplement (it's a custom thing...the supplement is what he tested for but it might be a different cat would need something else) and it's helping him tremendously.

On the Fancy Feast, I also don't have numbers for those other than Janet&Binkys charts. Because of Gracie's bladder issues, I have to super limit her on foods with by products and fish (I do use Pro Plan chicken/liver occasionally as it is 1% and the byproducts are far down on the list; I think the only partially fish thing we give is Merricks Surf and Turf). I'm sorry!!!!
 
Re: 11/17PowderAMPS325+2 253+5 155+9.25 87

Yes Ronnie I just did +11 126 so I would believe I'll shoot. Unless he flies up in next 45 mins for PMPS test it will be our lowes number to shoot. Yes I have them printed and bookmarked. Funny no matter how often I read them I still feel a little uneasy since I've only had one other blue PS. But I am going to be home and have enough strips and did get a full night's sleep last night so it would seem to be a go. nailbite_smile Not that I'm trying to jinx it but I keep expecting the dreaded bounce confused_cat since his liver is so touchy :evil:

Thanks Roni this was a nice surprise after all the high numbers. Hope it lasts.

Marjorie that was really good information thanks so much. I hope our kitties keep going.
 
Re: 11/17PowderPMPS128

oh my! I was gonna post - don't forget the double dip!
But looks like Powder beat it by 2 points, lol
I re-read all my print outs over and over too, the uneasiness always gets ya!
+1 would be good too!

Super nice numbers!
 
Re: 11/17PowderPMPS128

Oh Ronnie you did great. :smile: +1 161 His usual post meal increase is still blue which is so good. I know about overlap and carry over although I'm not too sure what carryover is so I'm going to read it again but what is doubledip? I think Powder is in shock or something he is so quiet and I think his liver is finally asleep. :lol: He's purring and eating so I'm not worried just saying. Maybe he's upset that Brandy was eliminated from DWTS or maybe that Prince William stole his girlfriend and is now engaged. :lol:
 
Re: 11/17PowderPMPS128+1 161

Double dip +11 Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).

some kitties tend to drop after +10, late nadir kitties.
We always liked our double dips with Luna! :razz:

Surf tonight Powder ok? cat_pet_icon
have a good nite Kathy!
 
Re: 11/17PowderPMPS128+1 161+2 156+3 109

This is our 8th dose at skinny 0.75. Even though he has had a good run today should I still go up say to 0.75 or hold this dose a bit longer. I said I wasn't going to change the dose until someone said to, but I'm wondering......
 
Re: 11/17PowderPMPS128+3 109+4 129Dose question for am

With the blues and greens today, I'd hold the dose. You're seeing the bounce from 11/15 clear.

I'm curious as to why you gave Powder a snack at AM +9.25. It's the latter half of the cycle and chances are his numbers were heading up all on their own.

(See, I did weigh in!!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top