Jen & Rocky
Member Since 2020
Hi all,
I'm new here and this is my first time posting. Glad to be here
Quick question- my sugar cat, Rocky, came out of remission recently and has just switched from ProZinc to Lantus for the past 6 days. We currently have him fitted with a Freestyle Libre Monitor so we've been able to get readings mostly every hour.
In the past 6 days, he's had two hypoglycemic events. The first one was on Day 2 of starting Lantus. We gave him 1.5 units because his numbers were in the 300s all day leading up to his PM shot which was 317. At the time, we didn't know not to raise the dose the first 7 days.
The other hypoglycemic event occurred last night after giving him 1 unit (his pre-shot number was 237). He didn't eat his usual amount with the shot so we suspect that had something to do with it.
According to the spreadsheet, it looks like he dips lower at night than in the morning on the same amount of insulin (1 unit). I think I read somewhere that this is fairly typical?
Do you think it's safer to only give him .5 units at night instead of 1 unit?
His spreadsheet is linked in my signature.
Thanks in advance!
Jennifer
I'm new here and this is my first time posting. Glad to be here
Quick question- my sugar cat, Rocky, came out of remission recently and has just switched from ProZinc to Lantus for the past 6 days. We currently have him fitted with a Freestyle Libre Monitor so we've been able to get readings mostly every hour.
In the past 6 days, he's had two hypoglycemic events. The first one was on Day 2 of starting Lantus. We gave him 1.5 units because his numbers were in the 300s all day leading up to his PM shot which was 317. At the time, we didn't know not to raise the dose the first 7 days.
The other hypoglycemic event occurred last night after giving him 1 unit (his pre-shot number was 237). He didn't eat his usual amount with the shot so we suspect that had something to do with it.
According to the spreadsheet, it looks like he dips lower at night than in the morning on the same amount of insulin (1 unit). I think I read somewhere that this is fairly typical?
Do you think it's safer to only give him .5 units at night instead of 1 unit?
His spreadsheet is linked in my signature.
Thanks in advance!
Jennifer
