Yes. While the "typical" Lantus nadir is around +4, it can move around. For eg, in bounce clearing cycles, the nadir can be much later.The nadir is the low reading in the cycle? Doesn't that change a lot?
You could start by feeding some food at +2 and +4 in both cycles and see how it goes.I'm trying the multiple meal path today. So would it be every 2 hr, or every 3?
Also, I tried to upload the graph and it says I don't have permission. Would I need to open a new thread to do that? ThxI don't see the usual lantis drop around 2 hour mark today? What would that indicate? Attaching the graph off the Libre. Also will do a ReliOn reading in a little bit. This Libre keeps throwing the "please try again scan message"
It means he is bouncing.I don't see the usual lantis drop around 2 hour mark today? What would that indicate?
Upload File doesn't work. You will need to drag and drop. No need to start a new thread. One thread a day is fineAlso, I tried to upload the graph and it says I don't have permission. Would I need to open a new thread to do that? Thx
Thank youBounces and resulting high numbers do not change the Lantus dose. We determine the dose based on the low points, nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat. The initial dose of Lantus is held for at least 5 days, possibly more, depending on what dosing method you are using. Have you decided which dosing method you'd like to follow?
Bounces are completely normal but annoying to us. Please remove the 911, this is not a medical emergency. If numbers that high had been a medical emergency, my cat would have lived at the vet in the beginning.. She did eventually get regulated.
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
So even a low carb dry food would mean you stay in the SLGS? Currently Gary has not had any dry food or a dry treat for 5 days. My concern would be if he gets picky about food and stops doing wet, and I'm doing the TR, it would mess that up. Hmm. So many decisions.From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
The length of time you hold a dose depends on several things, but which dosing method you choose to use is the most important. If you haven't alreadyd, read this Sticky Note and see which method would be best for your situation. Note, if there is any dry food or high carb food in the diet, you have to follow SLGS.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)