11/17/19 Charlotte. pmps138; +1.3 197; +2.5 199; +4.25 196

The way you'll know if what you did worked, is by what Charlotte's numbers tell you. What I'd keep in mind, though, is that the effect of insulin begins to wane after nadir and I suspect Charlotte is going to bounce. What I might have done is feed some LC food and then re-test in 30 min. to see in which direction numbers were going.
 
The way you'll know if what you did worked, is by what Charlotte's numbers tell you. What I'd keep in mind, though, is that the effect of insulin begins to wane after nadir and I suspect Charlotte is going to bounce. What I might have done is feed some LC food and then re-test in 30 min. to see in which direction numbers were going.
I did try her with her favorite lc food but she just walked away from it. I mixed lc with the 15 %. She sometimes has the habit of continuing to slide down until +10 so that is why I did what I did.
 
Nice little surf. :D A common suggestion is to give a couple tsp LC (if they'll eat it:rolleyes:) when they first see green, to try to encourage the surf, or hanging out in those nice numbers. You might want to keep notes in the Remarks section of what extra food you gave and when, to see what works/does not work, and what to do next time you have a similar situation.

A couple other observations. Sometimes a flat yellow cycle precedes a cycle of action. Looks like you might have had flat yellow last night. Second, later nadirs tend to happen in bounce breaking cycles. From a quick look, it seems Charlotte's later nadirs happened when she started the cycle in pink or worse. Cycle five was often the action cycle for Neko too. Keep track of how many cycles after an increase you typically see action and it might help you plan future increases, should you need them. Of course, cats don't read the rule books and have the rights to mix it up. :cat:
 
Nice little surf. :D A common suggestion is to give a couple tsp LC (if they'll eat it:rolleyes:) when they first see green, to try to encourage the surf, or hanging out in those nice numbers. You might want to keep notes in the Remarks section of what extra food you gave and when, to see what works/does not work, and what to do next time you have a similar situation.

A couple other observations. Sometimes a flat yellow cycle precedes a cycle of action. Looks like you might have had flat yellow last night. Second, later nadirs tend to happen in bounce breaking cycles. From a quick look, it seems Charlotte's later nadirs happened when she started the cycle in pink or worse. Cycle five was often the action cycle for Neko too. Keep track of how many cycles after an increase you typically see action and it might help you plan future increases, should you need them. Of course, cats don't read the rule books and have the rights to mix it up. :cat:
So I’m not quite following what you mean by what to do in the future with regards to increases? So if she is active in the fifth cycle then what? I wasn’t planning or changing anything the next few days bc I will be at from 8:30-6:30.
 
Last edited:
Sorry I wasn't clear. Just track when she responds to increases. If cycle 5 is a trend, then you can increase planning ahead so that you are home and able to monitor on cycle 5 after the increase.
 
Sorry I wasn't clear. Just track when she responds to increases. If cycle 5 is a trend, then you can increase planning ahead so that you are home and able to monitor on cycle 5 after the increase.
Ok. A flat green cycle is a good thing and means that the insulin is the correct amount, right? But when it is running a flat yellow, then it means...?
 
Ok so .... +9 she is at 77. What does this mean???
She likes the 70's. :D Charlotte is surfing. Just sit back and admire it, pancreatic healing is going on.

Tonight could go one of two ways. Make sure you have plenty of test strips and high carb food for option #1. Since she isn't used to this much green, she could also bounce. Or be a total non event. Cats perogative.
 
She likes the 70's. :D Charlotte is surfing. Just sit back and admire it, pancreatic healing is going on.

Tonight could go one of two ways. Make sure you have plenty of test strips and high carb food for option #1. Since she isn't used to this much green, she could also bounce. Or be a total non event. Cats perogative.
Ok. So... if her PMPS is in the low hundreds, shoot the 1 unit?? Feed differently afterwards.. Mc with lc?? Test at +2 then as needed? If she is below 100, then what?? I have to work in the morning. I can’t win! I’ve been waiting for this to happen but not on a Sunday night. Ugh!!
 
Get a +11 and post for advice. A lot can happen between now and then.

The saying is "shoot low to stay low", cause typically cycles are a lot flatter when you shoot low. I liked shooting low because the cycle was much more predictable. But circumstances at the time can make a difference in what you choose to do. When shooting your lowest yet, we suggset a +1 and a +2, to give you a heads up on what the cycle will look like. And tell you if you need to intervene with something other than LC. You have shot in the 120's before, so have some data on what happens when you do that, though one time you shot a reduced dose.
 
Get a +11 and post for advice. A lot can happen between now and then.

The saying is "shoot low to stay low", cause typically cycles are a lot flatter when you shoot low. I liked shooting low because the cycle was much more predictable. But circumstances at the time can make a difference in what you choose to do. When shooting your lowest yet, we suggset a +1 and a +2, to give you a heads up on what the cycle will look like. And tell you if you need to intervene with something other than LC. You have shot in the 120's before, so have some data on what happens when you do that, though one time you shot a reduced dose.
Ok. I’ll do that and post with a tag for you. Should I feed her something now? Lc? Lc with mc? Thanks.
 
It's after nadir, I wouldn't feed her any higher carb food unless she goes below 50, which isn't looking likely at this point. You could give a tsp of LC to maintain the surf, but not necessary.

Tagging me might not be best as I won't be on in two hours, just change the subject line to ask for help on the decision.
 
Charlotte is looking great this afternoon! It looks like she's finally reached the sweet spot. As Wendy mentioned, it could be the beginning of an active cycle. Be prepared to get some extra tests and feed accordingly. If you need help, just change your title to say that - many of us go to bed early and get up early - I'm up at 5-5:30 for my work day...ugh...and Monday morning to boot...

Have a great evening!
 
Charlotte is looking great this afternoon! It looks like she's finally reached the sweet spot. As Wendy mentioned, it could be the beginning of an active cycle. Be prepared to get some extra tests and feed accordingly. If you need help, just change your title to say that - many of us go to bed early and get up early - I'm up at 5-5:30 for my work day...ugh...and Monday morning to boot...

Have a great evening!
I am also up early so I pray that she doesn’t do anything stupid to me! Who would be the best to tag if I should need help in 5-6 hours??
 
I am also up early so I pray that she doesn’t do anything stupid to me! Who would be the best to tag if I should need help in 5-6 hours??

Bron and Sheba are often up late since they're in Australia and our night time is her day time. I'm not sure about others who are up late - if you really get into trouble you can put the '911' in front of your title - it's for emergencies and HELP! Be sure to take it off once someone has responded and are helping you...
 
Bron and Sheba are often up late since they're in Australia and our night time is her day time. I'm not sure about others who are up late - if you really get into trouble you can put the '911' in front of your title - it's for emergencies and HELP! Be sure to take it off once someone has responded and are helping you...
Thank you!! Fingers crossed it’s smooth sailing.
 
Thank you!! Fingers crossed it’s smooth sailing.

You know the only one who'll be in charge tonight is Charlotte...she may bounce to the moon after going low today...OR she may continue to surf along and you'll need to watch her... I've been all set for a late night and Luci just soared...I went to bed...and then on the other hand, I never saw it coming and she dropped by 2+ to a deeper place in the lagoon..and she just decided to surf the night away! DH to the rescue on those nights...I have to have some sleep in preparation for a functional work day to follow...Luci doesn't care about any of that!:rolleyes:
 
You know the only one who'll be in charge tonight is Charlotte...she may bounce to the moon after going low today...OR she may continue to surf along and you'll need to watch her... I've been all set for a late night and Luci just soared...I went to bed...and then on the other hand, I never saw it coming and she dropped by 2+ to a deeper place in the lagoon..and she just decided to surf the night away! DH to the rescue on those nights...I have to have some sleep in preparation for a functional work day to follow...Luci doesn't care about any of that!:rolleyes:
I hear you!! Charlotte doesn’t care either that I have to get up at 5:45 for her. She wakes me up at least every few hours throughout the night. And of course I get up bc I’m not sure what her fuss is all about then I’m awake! Ugh!! Cats have their own agenda! :rolleyes:o_O
 
So, from the looks of it, I shouldn’t have to worry about the early morning hours while I’m sleeping, right?? I am working tomorrow so ideally the last check I’d like to stay up for would be a +4.5. Thoughts anyone??
 
Back
Top