11/16 Marley Lantus AMPS 352, +2 285, +8 276, PMPS 217, +2 253

Jdubs

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-15-marley-lantus-amps-370-pmps-274.270805/

Disappointing BG.

Is there anyway to know if this is bounce or simply not enough insulin yet?

The apple cider vinegar is definitely helping his scabs. Not sure it's killing the fleas. Well actually there is ALOT less flea faeces that falls off him, so it must be reducing them, but he is still itching. The comb still hasn't arrived but I read a not comb is the same and I have one of those somewhere in the depths of my drawers so I will start of that today
 
A bounce can take 6 cycles to clear. This is still only the 3rd cycle. If after 6-8 cycles you still don't see green, we could think about an increase.

If he does have fleas, why not use one of the spot-on treatments for them?
 
Sorry you must feel like you have to tell me things a million times before it goes in. I dont know what I was thinking but just maybe because it was so high, compared to recently if that indicated not enough.

Thanks so much. Fingers crossed he clears it and can stay on this lower dose!
 
Sorry you must feel like you have to tell me things a million times before it goes in. I dont know what I was thinking but just maybe because it was so high, compared to recently if that indicated not enough.
No need to apologize. It is indeed hard to see higher numbers after a long spell of better ones :-)
 
I could have given Marley a fur shot today. I did wonder but then I sometimes wonder and it turns out I haven't. He been really different today. Unsettled.

Might be the vinegar baths - not trusting me.

I think I am going to have to report to medication I am too worried about tapeworm
 
Was a bit late today as he wouldnt come. I think hes not forgiven me for the apple cider vinegar rinses.

PMPS 217
 
I think I am going to have to report to medication I am too worried about tapeworm
Might be a good idea.

He might clear the bounce tonight and give you an exciting cycle.

BTW, it's great you are teaching your niece to shoot and test him. Always good to have support/back-up :-) Does she live close by? I think you said your sister lives a few minutes away?
 
My sister who lives a ten second walk refuses to help me in any way to do with Marley and his diabetes, I have really helped her so much these last few years, so that has been quite tough to experience.

My niece lives a 10-15 min drive. She has just passed her test. She has really good connections with animals. She's young and I dont know how much she will be able to help.
But there is a neighbour who lives a 5 minute walk away and walks dogs and does lots of odd jobs and she said I could train her up and I feel like she will end up being the most available - she could pop back to test at +2 etc.

Ive given the flea spot thing. I got it on my fingers, and though I washed it off as soon as I could, I can now taste the chemical like the way you can taste garlic as the flavour comes through your skin. Have you ever got it on your hands?
He might clear the bounce tonight and give you an exciting cycle.
Fingers crossed!!!!
 
I don't have a new job to start. My old job might have freelance possibilities once I feel ready - but its really hard as it takes me out of the house 15 hours a day plus. So I would need really good support in place. The other potential job that I was talking about, I went to meet that Lady and we got on well, but she is right in. the middle of restructuring hr business and not ready yet to know what she needs, but anyway that would be a couple of hours drive (4 hour a day commute) as well......so again I would need really strong support in place. She was really suggesting I start up something similar to her where I am - which I am in no way in a state to do. I only really have the energy for mindless work, Marley seems to take all my primal life force at the moment. With his BG starting to level out, I could see light at the end of the tunnel but then fleas hit and I feel completely in the depths of wading through treacle.

I have read the article about having a full time job and it being possible but I can't see how this really could work for Marley.With his hypos I wouldnt have known it was going that way by +1, when she leaves for work. Generally I was having to get up 4 am for that job to say leave at 5. Sometimes even earlier, so I couldnt really wake up 2 hours earlier than I leave else I'd get no sleep. Ive done that job for 24 years so though its not menial, I can do it half asleep. But I just dont feel its safe for Marley for me to do it. Just feels like every time I leave him thee is that potential. Most the time he would be fine, but that one time in a hundred, he wouldnt be.

Say I did have the morning figured out and someone has done the PMPS, set the feeders up and done the injection - and say I am home by 830 ish to do the +2 test. If he was having a hypo and that meant I couldnt go to sleep until half past midnight and then I had to get up at 330 am/4 - that is going to kill me. That job is pretty high street/high pressure full on hard work for all the hours I am there - even though its second nature to me, the pressure is always full on, fast paced you have to have full concentration at all times to adapt to the ever changing nature of what is going on.


So I still dont really understand how it could work.

I dont know what the answer is. I still haven't figured out the feeders as he changes his sleeping location after a few days. When I am here I can see where he settles and pop it next to him. I was hoping he would start to connect the sound with food and then I could move them further away to say the landing so that whichever place he sleeps the food would be in one place. Even if the feeders are a foot away from him, he doesnt seem to connect that the noise of them opening or moving means food and often I have to point it out to him. I do have to say that when he has had hypos he usually is up and about and comes downstairs so hopefully in the situation he would look for it, but say he was sleeping in the guest room and the food was in my bedroom, he might go downstairs straightway and not clock there was food for him in the other room.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top