? 11/16 Jasper AMPS 233 +2 209 +10 63 +10.5 78 +11 105 PMPS 126

Rachel and Jasper

Member Since 2022
Jasper's blood glucose was way lower than normal at +10. He alerted me by crying for food. I am wondering now if I should do a reduction tonight. Shot time is in about 40 minutes abd I am just unsure how to proceed with such a low +10. Side note I switched to a relion meter on the 12th abd have yet to update my signature or my spread. I have been having some health issues of my own while 6 months pregnant and just doing the best I can.
 
Hi Rachel, your SS needs a small formatting change to reflect the change in meter. I can help you with that. Human meters read lower than pet meters, so his numbers will look a lot lower - especially in higher numbers.
When did he last get food?
 
@Bandit's Mom Hey got food at +10 +10.5 and +11 only 2tbs each time.
OK. It was okay to feed at +10, but you don't want to feed after that (unless he is dropping low) because you want a preshot that is not influenced by food.

Did you get a +11? I don't see it on the title.

How can I let you update the spreadsheet?
Please send me the link you use to edit the SS? I will request edit access so I can make the colour /formatting change to it to reflect the changes from pet to human meter.
 
@Bandit's Mom He at at +10 and again at +10.5 he didn't eat at +11 he was at 105 but then PMPS he was at 126 abd just ate in preparation for the shot. Should I still give him his shot or should I wait, do a reduction or maybe even skip? I didn't understand that I needed a test that was not influenced by food but I get that now. I thought the two hours without food was just to be sure he did eat at shot time. I'll send you a link to the spreadsheet via message now.
 
He has gotten a good enough bump with food. He has not earned a reduction. He would need to drop below 50 on a human meter to earn a reduction. Please give him his shot and get a +1 and +2? Feed a little after both tests if he will eat. See you at +1. (I'm stepping out for a bit).

With a history of DKA, you do not want to skip the shot.
 
@Bandit's Mom the two high carb foods I have here are 13% and 14%. At +10 I gave a teaspoon of high carb the rest of his food this evening was low carb. He is at 177 at +2. I can stay up if I need or set alarms tonight to check on him. Whatever is needed.
 
Since he is much higher at +2, you are good for the night. He is bouncing from the lows from earlier today.

In future, remember not to feed after +10 :-) If you have to feed (because he is dropping low), stay with LC. Later in the cycle you don't need carbs to get their numbers up since insulin action is waning at the end of the cycle.
 
Since he is much higher at +2, you are good for the night. He is bouncing from the lows from earlier today.

In future, remember not to feed after +10 :) If you have to feed (because he is dropping low), stay with LC. Later in the cycle you don't need carbs to get their numbers up since insulin action is waning at the end of the cycle.
Ok, thank you that makes sense to me when you explain it. I still have much to learn.
 
Back
Top