11/16 Atlas AMPS 366, PMPS 451

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Morning All,

Thank you all for your well wishes for Attie and hugs.

This morning he is at least up and about, but he has a very wet congested cough and only ate 1/4 can of FF. :?

His BG is sky high and of course that is due to the illness and inflammation. I increased his dose to 0.75, but I want to actually take him up to 1.0 or more....but there is no guidelines for that . He has started drinking lots of water too....

Yesterdays condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56569
Condo 11/14 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56493
 
Re: 11/16 Atlas AMPS 366

Oh...thanks Linda and Weezer...



PS. I meant to also share we had a break through with MudCat and Gary! Last night MudCat came over for a rare occassion of petting and Gary snuck under my arm to give her some kitty kisses. 'Course he promptly had a slap in the face for stealing a kiss....but it was a first gesture of tenderness. :lol:
 
Re: 11/16 Atlas AMPS 366

Hi guys .. poor attie .. I hope the meds kick in soon and he starts feeling much, much better! How sweet gary and mudcat shared a "moment" :-D Let's hope theres more of those to come! have a great day!
 
Re: 11/16 Atlas AMPS 366

HOme again this afternoon...Leave in an hour or so....

Firing up the humidifier again for Attie. Really debating if he is improved at all. Didn't touch any fuds left for him.

I talk to the vet again tomorrow....getting more worried...
 
Re: 11/16 Atlas AMPS 366

Just made an appt. for Atlas to go back to the vet tommorow. He is not doing all that much better. :sad:


So this means a round of the dreaded steroids... :?

His BG already high so I am thinking to go ahead and up him tonight to a full unit. Any thoughts from our more experienced folks would be greatly appreciated!!!!
 
Re: 11/16 Atlas AMPS 366

Beth, I know you are worried about Attie, and I don't blame you. However, you just raised the dose 2 cycles ago, and I don't see any mid cycle tests. I would not suggest increasing again until you see how the 0.75u dose works. Remember Lantus dose is based on the lowest numbers, not the PSs.

Please make sure you get ketone tests.

I know with pneumonia in humans, it's not at all unusual to sound worse as the congestion breaks up. I don't remember Pita coughing/sounding congested when she came home from being hospitalized with pneumonia, but it was several years ago. I would get him back into the vet as you have planned and see what he says.

I have serious concerns about using steroids when/if he has an infection. I nearly lost Pita to pneumonia that was *caused* by steroid treatment of asthma while she had an URI. I'm no vet, but talking about using steroids on a cat with pneumonia scares the crap out of me! Remember that steroids suppress the immune system, if he is fighting an infection you certainly don't want to suppress the immune system! :shock:
 
Good luck Beth - I hope Attie feels better soon. and that the AB's are working. I too wonder if pneumonia is the same in cats as it is in humans. When I had that I actually sounded worse as I got better, the cough etc was horrible, much more so than when I was really sick.

Good luck too at the vet. Be better Attie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top