11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174 +4 163 PMPS 242 +2 313 +4 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

No +2 food spike into the yellows...I'll take it!

She's been tiring of Nature's Variety Instinct, and today was THE day she decided she is DONE with it. She was starving, but would not touch the stuff in her bowl, so I had to break out a can of FF Classic Chicken. She was as happy as a pig in slop. Without no food spike, I can't complain...I guess I'll have to take her back to FF, at least for a little while.

Even though this is her 6th cycle on this dose, I plan on holding it just a tad longer, since we're actually starting to see a bit of forward progress.

After a great report from the vet last night, today is also the day Zen decided he will NOT take his ABs, with only 3 days to go. Last night, one of the pill pockets got caught between his cheek and gum, and I have a feeling he bit into the pill. He's super-duper sensitive about funny tasting stuff. So, today I'll run out and get another flavor of PP...hopefully that will help him forget what happened last night.

I'm sill recovering from the stress and exhaustion of last week. I definitely don't bounce back from things like I did in my "younger" days....

Many prayers go out to Tawny, Tarragon & Charlie & Turnup, Coment & Rocket, and everyone else - kitties, beans, droolers, and otherwise - who needs them!

Amy
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174

Nice numbers for Trixie! Blue is good, even though I know you would prefer green.

Poor Zen! That would be enough to make me not want to take it either. Hope you find a pill pocket that he will take. I just have to do the old fashion shove it down the throat with Tarragon. He doesn't like pill pockets since they don't crunch. :lol:

Thank you for all of your good wishes. I really really appreciate it. You have had such a tough year with your kids and I know you understand what I am going through right now. I feel like I am chasing one problem to another and just when all is calm it all falls apart again. Let's hope that 2012 is a year of calm healthy pets at both of our houses. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174

I'd be happy about no food spike too! :-D Thanks for the complements in Tess's condo, I think she is totally adorable. but we all fell that way about our furkids.

How big is the pill? Dr Lisa has a new =http://catinfo.org/?link=pillingcatspage on pilling a cat. If you can cut the pill and break up the pill pocket into small pieces, folding the pieces of the pill into several of the bits, w/ the smaller size they tend to just swallow rather than chew.
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174

Looks like the FF hasn't effected Trixie's numbers, looking good in blue.
Can't blame Zen too much, those pills are yucky tasting, hope you get him to finish though.
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174

Trixie looks good in blue! I think it's a good idea to hold the dose for a while longer, too.
Have a good day today!
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174

Hi Amy,

To pill my kitties, I just wrap it in a bit of cheese. Down the hatch!

I am also on cycle 6 and am thinking Weezer needs more time on a dose. I know the modified protocol calls for an increase after 6 cycles, but at her last dose she was showing progress, then I increased and she went back up. I am inclined to either go back to her last dose or stick with the current one a few more days, but am being advised to be the tank and move it up. I don't know. Since this protocol is a modification of the documented strict regulation protocol, it seems that at some point someone looked at the data for their cat and felt they needed to move faster. I say bless that brave soul because the modified protocol has helped so many kitties. But by the same token, maybe it isn't working so great for each and every one. I'll be interested to see what you decide and how it affects Trixie. Good luck!
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174 +4 163

Still flat, but at least it's flat blue today instead of yellow. I'm thinking I'll hold this dose somewhere between 8-10 cycles, just to see if we get any further progress out of it. No longer than that, though. And, if we were seeing no progress at all, I would definitely up her dose again tonight. It is a little unnerving, though, since this is the highest does she's ever been on...I am afraid to suddenly take her too high and end up on a roller coaster of carbs/reductions/increases because of failed reductions, etc. And, I don't want to miss the right dose because I rushed things too much.

Zen is a funny cat...he thinks he's a tough boy, but little things just throw him for a loop. I actually did pull a few tips from Dr Lisa...tiny amount of PP and rolling it in FortiFlora. Worked like a charm till this morning! I thought about the cheese route, but hubby and I don't eat dairy ourselves, so I don't want to waste an entire package of cheese. Hopefully another flavor of PP will help Zen forget about last night. Since Mario is on BP meds, the PPs definitely won't go to waste.

Melissa - yes, I know excatly how you feel, chasing one problem after another. I've never been one to wish for the New Year to start because the previous year was such a disaster...until this year. I've got all your furbabies in my thoughts!
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174 +4 163 PMPS 242 +2 313

:YMSIGH: ...

I'll probably increase her with tomorrow evening's dose. I don't want to do it in the morning because I have to go to work at +4.

The AB battle with Zen continues. I tried quartering it so the pieces were smaller, tried duck pill pockets (fish makes him barf so the salmon flavor is out), tried cheese. This is where NOT giving the cats people food and junk food is not paying off...he wouldn't even touch the cheese without a pill in it! I have a call in to the vet to find out how concerned I should be with only 3 days of AB left that I can't get into him (so far)...he's perfectly fine and last night they said he only has superficial healing left, but I certainly do not want to backslide on this thing. I've manged to get half a clavamox into him today, and no metronidazole. Good times.

Gotta go grab my own dinner...will visit condos later!
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174 +4 163 PMPS 242 +2 313 +4 1

I'm so worried about Garland that I can't focus on much else.

I did speak to the vet about Zen...she basically said if we can't get the pills in him, we have to switch to liquid and go another 7 days, as opposed to the 3 days he would have had left on the pills. Getting liquids into Zen is doable, but far from pleasant. Once again, this sucks.
 
Re: 11/15 Trixie AMPS 185 +2 174 +4 163 PMPS 242 +2 313 +4 1

Nice blue surf for Trixie today. I'm glad to see her coming back down altho that is a little fast Miss Trixie Cat.

Can you just syringe him a little water and then put butter on the pill, pill him, and then feed him so he can wash it down? Healing vines for him....take those pills Zen!!

(((Amy))) thinking of you!!! If you want a little smile tonight, check out our condo ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top