11/15 Squamee +10 339

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Member Since 2009
+10 339. I will wait another 30 minutes to shoot. She didn't eat much last night and is having a lot of difficulty eating this morning. She has not taken the pill so far. I am thinking of shooting .5 but wondering if I should only do .4 because of the eating. I shot .3 last night.

edit--AMPS (+11) 369. She ate some and took pill so I think I will go with .5
 
so glad to hear she ate...and took her pill too! you are doing so good with her. what is her prognosis for improvement?
 
+10 339
AMPS 369 .5U (at +11)
+6 222

So I assume it is going up and am thinking of increase for tonight. I will post tonight (probably 8-8:30 pm my time) and try to wait for any responses before I shoot. Perhaps .8? or if she is not eating much .7? (Gator I believe you suggested going up by .2increments and a little more if she is high and eating).

She ate some this morning, but I don't believe she has eaten since (it is now after 1PM). She has spent the last 2 days on the couch under a blanket. I only gave her half a pill this morning (7.5mg) because I was wondering if the whole pill (15 mg) was a factor in her staying on the couch under the blanket all day. Doesn't seem to be any different with the half pill. I am going to try to give her the other half soon. Her mouth symptoms have been worse, tho not entirely preventing her from eating. It is very difficult not to have any way to asses her pain.

Lori, I do not believe her prognosis is good. There is a name for her symptoms (feline orofacial pain syndrome) which they think is caused by an inflammation of the trigeminal nerve (excruciating in humans). But we do not know what caused it. Perhaps dental issues. And there is no known cure. The pills are anti-epileptic medicine, which is supposed to reduce the pain by interrupting the nerve transmission (I think).
And it is definitely not getting better at present. I don't know just who saw it, but last week(?) I accidentally put a candle on one of my posts. It was entirely accidental, but perhaps a "Freudian slip"? When my children were little, I used to know they were sick about a day before any symptoms appeared. And when my mother had Alzheimer's, I knew years before the diagnosis. I took her to a top geriatric neurologist who told me there was nothing wrong! Unfortunately, I proved to be right. I think the same thing is happening here. It is hard to tell, because the meds could be doing strange things. But she is moving very slowly (or not at all) and sometimes just sits or stands there , looking like she is staring at something---but who knows what. And she can stay like that for several minutes. This may be a form of epilepsy ("absences")---she did have that full blown seizure a few weeks ago---or maybe not, but it seems like things are wrong that we just don't really know about. It pains me to write this, and I truly hope I am wrong, but it doesn't seem like good times ahead.
 
Mmm I'd probably only go up to .7 max especially at night. As I said, I think .2u increases under 1u are actually pretty large.
 
PMPS 323. She vomited today and had very loose bowels (which she walked in---ughhh). Does this change anything about the dose? And not eating much.
 
Vomiting = +1 dose of chicken.
Not eating much = +1 dose of chicken
Night time = +1 dose of chicken

She also went down from PS to PS. So I'd say give .6 max and probably stick with .5u [We'd like her out of those blasted 300's = +1 dose of bravado, but do not want to take any unneeded risks.]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top