11/15 Max AMPS 84

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
I haven’t been posting much unless I’ve had a question, but today I just need to vent. It’s okay whether it’s read or not, I just need to write it because I am feeling so alone, afraid, and sad. I have tried to be strong for Max for so long now and I’m falling apart. I am not ready to lose my boy and I hope things will turn around for the better. I’m trying to have faith that it will. I don’t know what could have happened to Max in the last 4 months to make him go from early CKD to stage 3 CKD. Like everything else with him, it’s very challenging in knowing what to do to better help him. I’m afraid of the fluids because of his heart but I can tell he’s feeling bad from these toxins in his body. He’s a little dehydrated from all the urination and now he’s becoming very picky about food. Im having to put crushed up treats or Fortiflora on his food now. Im adding as much water as he will take on the food, but he doesn’t like it very soupy. I syringe small amounts (5 ml) here and there also. He is a little constipated. Giving baby food squash and a little lactulose. He’s doing this sneeze/hiccup sound that Im not sure if it’s a cough or what. I’ve listened to his heart myself and at every 20th beat or so, there’s a skipped beat. This was mentioned before when he had his echo back in the summer, but his vet always says everything sounds okay right now. She did recommend an ekg in 6 months back when he had the echo. He sleeps most of the time. He is still affectionate sometimes and cuddles with me at night. I’ve cried so many tears. I’ve been through kidney disease before with a cat, but I was able to do more to help him because that was his only problem. Max is so much more complicated. I don’t want to hurt him, but I want to do what he needs. I don’t want to put him through a lot of stressful interventions so Im just trying to get him feeling better and keep him happy. I finally got to talk to the vet today and I asked that a urine culture be done. She wants me to bring him back for another cystocentesis.:rolleyes: So I guess I will take him tomorrow for that although I hate it for him. I called Internal Medicine at NCSU but they needed another referral. I have no idea why. He was just there not long ago, but I asked his regular vet to make the referral. I’m going to pick up some Mirataz in case the appetite gets worse. Im going to let him try the renal diet but Im not optimistic about that and I know if he eats it it will affect his numbers, but we will manage the dose as best we can. It’s like Im being pulled in every direction and I am so overwhelmed. You don’t have to comment anything if you don’t want to but please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.:(

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-10-max-amps-145.283448/#post-3122334
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Neko's kidney numbers jumped up quickly at one point, then stabilized for over a year, before jumping up again. But she had proteinuria too which can be a factor. She also went off her regular food (raw) at one point and I had to start looking at canned and more variety. With the renal diet, you can always raise his dose if you need to (and he likes it).

I think an IM vet visit is a good idea, they are so much better at managing multiple conditions. And helping clients with pets with multiple conditions. Neko's IM vet prioritized what I needed to do, and what I didn't, which was a relief to me.
 
Thank you Wendy. That’s exactly it. I need someone else to tell me what to do. That would be a big relief to me. Thank you for sharing your experiences. That helps a lot. I’m trying so hard to stay positive. It’s rough.
 
Back
Top