11/15 Harley PMPS 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
I gave Harley another generous 9.75 this AM and am still questioning my technique. There is not enough skin on the flank (where my vet wants me to shoot) to pinch up and give shot. There is barely enough on side of belly but plenty side of chest. I am using short, 31 gauge needles but have 1/2" 29 gauge to try if I can pinch enough skin. Right now I am kinda pulling the skin away from muscle and shooting (flank area).

Called vet on Thursday (1 week from blood draw) to see if results from IAA came back. Got the receptionist. Ever get the feeling people don't care. Was told that no one has seen it (didn't offer to call to see what was going on) and they would call me if they found it. cat(2)_steam I don't think they really wanted to do this.

Everyone have a good day.

Pattie

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29738
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

nice low yellow this morning for Harley and I certainly hope the vet finds your test results sounds unorganized there I know all places are operated differently but where I work if you have a pending test its with your chart. Have a good day Pattie :-D
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

Good morning. That's a nice AMPS for Harley :-D
Good luck with the new dose f9.75?

To answer your question from last night (the best I can). I found the picture in Google.com under Images, I clicked on the picture to open it, and then do a right mouse click to open up the file information. I click on properties, and highlight the Address (URL), right mouse click again and then click on Copy. Then back to this board, I click on the Img box at the top of this post, and right mouse click a Paste right between the
.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

I was trying to copy and paste it from the original site (BD Diabetes). It would copy but would not paste into here. I will try your procedure.

Pattie
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

I watched Harley this AM. Although I gave the shot when he was eating, he really didn't settle down until ~20 minutes after shooting. If I want to shoot after eating and his relaxing, it would be 20-30 minutes. That is too long - right? Yesterday, people posted that I could wait 15 minutes but is the extra 5 minutes going to affect things.

Pattie
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

No advice on shooting here ... but this sure is a nice low yellow for harley .. I hope you get those test results back soon .. nothing like dealing with people who don't care ... good luck with the new dose, and have a great day!
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

Shadow doesn't have so much flesh on his side either....but I have been using the 1/2" needled syringes myself....
I can't believe the attitude you got from the vet office....if they find it??? What the heck? sigh....
I am so sorry you are going through this. But perry had a delay in getting the results even with a cooperative vet office....
Very nice yellow for Harley this morning!
If he lets you shoot while he is eating and you are comfortable doing that, then that works just fine, right?
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

GF-1 was 12 - normal. The others for pancreatitis needed to be a fasting one - the vet did not tell me this....that is why I don't think they really want to do them.

Pattie
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

Great for the normal test. That's the acro one, right?
What I meant to say..is have you gotten a +2 or +3? :-D
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

Harley and Pattie said:
GF-1 was 12 - normal. The others for pancreatitis needed to be a fasting one - the vet did not tell me this....that is why I don't think they really want to do them.

Pattie
I copied and pasted this from the acro forum:
A positive for acro is IGF-1 above the 12-92 range, and the IAA positive is a % above 20.

So, to my inexperienced brain, he's not acro. And since he gets some response from insulin, I wouldn't think he was insulin resistant (IAA), but I don't claim to know much about them. Just what I think I remember reading.

I hope you're having a good day.
 
Re: 11/15 Harley AMPS 229

Day is going ok so far, but it is still early. If he is not acro - why so much insulin. Harley is not obese, no symptoms of pancreatitis, but he is on budsonide which is a steriod. Ummm, makes me wonder about my guy.

Pattie
 
Uneventful day but Harley zoomed to 365. I went to 10 units tonight. No word on the vet. I did some research on another "cats only" vet. There is one only a few miles from my place. May have to consider it. I plan not to call my vet again until Thursday - it will then be 2 full weeks since Harley's blood was drawn.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top