11/15 Bailey +13 86, +18 273, +24 501

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80 - what to do?

Any advice givers online right now? I have to leave for work in 2 hours and DH is on a job - no telling when he will get home but it will be at least 4-5 hours. I would like to shoot something... makes me nervous since I can't be here to monitor though.

Linda, surfing would be good... definitely no diving allowed!

Celi, I think she's been talking to Binks! He is a good influence :razz:
 
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80 - what to do?

Either skip or shoot just a little -- 0.5U or 0.25U. You shot a 124 recently, but things went screwy the next day, so it's hard to interpret what happened. If you do shoot, make sure to get a BG as soon as someone gets home, and maybe give a medium-carb snack immediately after shooting to help offset any later drops. Will she eat HC snacks if you leave it out for her?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80 - what to do?

How long can you stall and if you shoot, once you do, how long can you monitor and do you have supplies?

If you stall and wait for her to come up, you probably want to shoot the full dose as stalling = dose reduction. But, as you saw when you shot the 124, you have to stay vigilant because of the shed.

If you cannot stall, I'd do as MJ suggest and shoot a reduced dose to keep some insulin in her. I'm not a fan of skipping unless the number is too low (below 50) or you can't monitor. You need to learn to shoot low, my friend :-D ;-)

But you need to be there to monitor. What is best for you?

eta: Melissa...you gotta get more pm cycle tests in. We don't know if this is a dropping number or not altho I might assume that it is....or she went low last night.
If you do have to leave, then MJ is right about giving her a reduced dose but it still makes me nervous for you to even give her something without monitoring her because of her shed.
 
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80 - what to do?

Are you able to stall any longer? Are you able to be home to monitor? Do you have strips and high carb food?
 
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80 - what to do?

Just rechecked at +13 and she is 86, cruising right along. I hate to mess this up, but I can't stay home to watch her and DH is unreachable at the moment. I think I'm going to have to skip :sad:
I know I need more PM tests, I will work on that. And yeah, I need to learn to not freak out about green numbers. I need more data for that too, eh?
Thanks for your help guys.
 
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80, +13 86

Yes....you need more data to feel comfy because more data will tell you what she is doing and you can pick up some patterns.

Your call on the shot.....safety first.

But.....remember, consistency is important and you can't continue to skip shots and have her continue to do well. I know we have lives and if you cannot monitor, then it's understandable. But she's really doing well when she gets her insulin. See how she went up after the reduced dose the other day? Expect her to go up again after a skipped shot...just be prepared. :-D

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80, +13 86, +18 273

So I skipped the shot and now she is at 273 :oops: at least now I know. Someday we will get this right...
 
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80, +13 86, +18 273

You didn't have enough data to shoot this comfortably, nor were you sure when someone would be home to check her. I would have done the same thing. Minor setback.

MJ&Donovan
p.s. is Bailey part British Shorthair or Exotic Shorthair? Something about the shape of her head and body reminds me of those breeds...
 
Re: 11/15 Bailey AMBG 78, +12.5 80, +13 86, +18 273

MJ, Bailey is a mutt :lol: She and Maddie are littermates and Maddie is a longhair (same colors), so I have no idea what sort of ancestry they have. It's certainly possible!
 
Well, today has been interesting. ohmygod_smile Bailey is a bit thirsty and very hungry but is acting OK. In fact when I went to test her just now she ran over to me and purred - for the first time ever while we are testing :razz: I was so happy. Turns out she just really wanted her treats - when I saw the 501 I jumped up and forgot to close the treat bag... found her headfirst in it a couple minutes later!

I do not have any ketostix. I am going to rectify this tomorrow. I will get another test before bed. Goodnight Lantus Land!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top