11/14 TIFIL PMPS 454, +2.75 424

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Again another bigggg fall :shock:
I am not at home I'm at work now. I hope she is ok at home :roll:
does this mean we'll have another bounce tomorrow ? :cry:
at + 2.75 for the number 432, I am suspicious of the glucometre giving wrong numbers when there is a huge amount of blood and too little amount of blood. Tıfıl's sample was way too much, maybe that's why it is too high. If ı have worked my brain at that moment I would have taken another test, but I was too late for work.. @-)
Yesterdays condo;
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56358

There is glucosamine in cosequin, doesn't that rise the bg?
Anyway, I stopped giving anything but l-lysine. Let's see how she is going then I will start to give cosequin again. Just want her bg levels to be down.


EDİT: DO YOU THİNK WE SHOULD İNCREASE THE DOSE ?
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL AMPS 391, +2.75 432, +4 230

Well that's a really nice +4 without giving any R.
Unfortunately, it's a real fast drop anyway, and I think you may see a bounce tomorrow.
Did you leave extra food out, or can DH monitor and feed?
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL AMPS 391, +2.75 432, +4 230

Dyana said:
Well that's a really nice +4 without giving any R.
Unfortunately, it's a real fast drop anyway, and I think you may see a bounce tomorrow.
Did you leave extra food out, or can DH monitor and feed?

I set the auto feeder to 3 pm and 6 pm with watery fancy food in it (both of them have nearly half a can in it)
My husband is not at home, I took him to his job with broken leg, he needed to supervise the workers. So no one is at home now. I don't think she will go soo down but the drop made me sad :( another bounce is on the way. Poor kitty :(
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL AMPS 391, +2.75 432, +4 230

I think Tifil will be fine.

Glucosamine is not the same as glucose. While it is an amino sugar/carbohydrate, it is not able to be metabolized in that manner. Based on available research evidence, studies have found no effect on fasting blood glucose levels, glucose metabolism, or insulin sensitivity at any oral dose level in healthy subjects, individuals with diabetes, or those with impaired glucose tolerance. However, these studies were done with humans, not felines. Of course, ECID so see if eliminating the glucosamine has an effect.
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL AMPS 391, +2.75 432, +4 230

Ok, after the bg levels come to normal I will continue on giving it.
Thank you for the information..
Kisses :smile:
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL AMPS 391, +2.75 432, +4 230

Hi guys .. bum deal on the high numbers for tifil .. hopefully if there is a "B" it is a short lived one .. none of us like seeing our kitties high, but we have to know they'll come down, it just takes longer then we like! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL AMPS 391, +2.75 432, +4 230

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. bum deal on the high numbers for tifil .. hopefully if there is a "B" it is a short lived one .. none of us like seeing our kitties high, but we have to know they'll come down, it just takes longer then we like! Have a great day guys!

Dear Peter,
Thank you for visiting Tıfıl's condo. I hope non of our kitties go up anymore :)
Kisses and hugs :cool:
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL PMPS 454 dose help?

Guys,

Isil neeeds help!!!!
Tifil has high numbers....
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL PMPS 454 dose help?

Isil, Tifil is bouncing from that drop. I don't know what to tell you to do about the dose.
It may be too much, causing that dramatic drop, today. You don't know how much she continued to drop after you left.
No matter what, I think it's okay to shoot your normal dose through this bounce.

Let me see if I can PM Sandy, okay?
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL PMPS 454 dose help?

Dyana said:
Isil, Tifil is bouncing from that drop. I don't know what to tell you to do about the dose.
It may be too much, causing that dramatic drop, today. You don't know how much she continued to drop after you left.
No matter what, I think it's okay to shoot your normal dose through this bounce.

Let me see if I can PM Sandy, okay?


Ok, thank you very much
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL PMPS 454 dose help?

Merhaba Isil,

I can't see Tifils ss right now because I am at work.
However, that was a huge fast drop today and like Dyana pointed out she may have dropped lower. This is the bounce.
I agree shoot your normal Lantus dose tonight and wait out the bounce. Please check for ketones.

Do you work every day?
What are your shot times?
How long after shot time do you leave for work?
At what + hou does Tifil get her meals?
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL PMPS 454 dose help?

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Merhaba Isil,

I can't see Tifils ss right now because I am at work.
However, that was a huge fast drop today and like Dyana pointed out she may have dropped lower. This is the bounce.
I agree shoot your normal Lantus dose tonight and wait out the bounce. Please check for ketones.

Do you work every day?
What are your shot times?
How long after shot time do you leave for work?
At what + hou does Tifil get her meals?

Merhaba Sandy :)

Thank you for helping while you are at work.
I don't work everyday, I am a teacher at the university and I have off days. I shoot at 9:15. When I go to work 2 and a half hour passes from the shooting time. I feed tıfıl at 12, 3, 6, 9, 12, 3, 6, 9 with small amounts of meal. Something like 2 cans of fancyfeast in total.
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL PMPS 454 dose help?

Do you have foods with differnt carb content ?
LC = <10%
MC = 10%-17%
Hc = >18%

Since Tifil is still experiencing fast drops it may be a good idea try some MC early in the cycle, to try and slow down the drops.

Will you be working tomorrow?
 
Re: 11/14 TIFIL PMPS 454 dose help?

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Do you have foods with differnt carb content ?
LC = <10%
MC = 10%-17%
Hc = >18%

Since Tifil is still experiencing fast drops it may be a good idea try some MC early in the cycle, to try and slow down the drops.

Will you be working tomorrow?

I have royal kanin diabetic dry food which is high in carbs...

I am at home tomorrow :)
 
Isil:

Sandy asked me to help you with food management of the curve. I'll see if I can but it also depends on Tifil and it doesn't work overnight.

Early on, we went to Jill for advice on feeding and she told me:
manage the curve with food---->flatten the curve---->adjust the dose as necessary

Gracie was a diver on lantus...she could drop very fast. We started doing a better job of scheduling her feeding and it did help alot although she occasionally continued to drop fast.

My suggestion to you, as Sienne suggested to us, is to "front load" her cycle. That is to try and get as much of her food into her early in the cycle to try and lessen the dives. We calculated how many calories/day Gracie needed and then divided it by two for the a.m. and p.m. cycles. As it turned out, she gets 1.3 oz for the a.m. and p.m. cycles each. We fed her the majority at PS and +1 so she would get .45 oz at PS and +1 and then .2 oz at +2 and +3. By having more food early on, it helped the dives at +2/+3.

When you say you feed her at 12, 3, 6, 9....I'm not sure if you mean +12, +3, +6, +9?? I think if that is the case, you need to condense it and not feed her after her nadir. If she is really hungry, you could give her a very low carb, small snack like boiled chicken breast. But when Gracie was on lantus, her last snack was at +5. If you are feeding at +9, you could be influencing her PSs and causing them to be higher. She might seem a little hungry at first but if you can ease her into the new schedule with the boiled chicken breast, then she should be ok. Before Gracie was diagnosed, we fed her small amounts all day and evening and she adjusted to her feeding schedule just fine.

I also recommend no dry food.....it is really counterproductive to managing diabetes.

I don't feed Fancy Feast but some of the carbs of the varieties others feed are:
FF tuna/chicken feast 8%
FF Elegant Medley Turkey Florentine 10%
FF trout feast 7%
FF Glovers Beef Feast w/gravy 14%
Many of the roasted varieties are MC foods
Grilled varieties are usually around 17-18%
Gravy lovers are usually around 17%

When she is dropping quickly, you want to try and slow the drop down by giving her a little higher carb food....maybe something in the 8-10% range.

Here is the difficult part.....it is truly ECID. Jill's Alex is extremely carb sensitive and reacts to very low carb foods; some of the other kitties need 18% foods to slow them down or bring up low numbers. I can't use anything more than 10% on Gracie. This was the hardest part for us was finding the foods that controlled her curve the best. You'll have to experiment and find out what works for Tifil.

I hope this helps some .....especially with the bounces by feeding more food early on in the cycle. The other thing is a couple of us (Ann/Tess) have switched our diving kitties to levemir. For us both, it has made a huge difference and curves have flattened out a lot more. I'm pretty sure you can get levemir in Turkey.

Let me know if you have any questions. Good luck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top