11/14 Texas Gizmo PMPS=138, +2=142, +4=110, +11=140

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
11/13 +11=223

AMPS=200

Didn't eat his +7.5 overnight.

The itching/scratching is out of control. I think this is a result of the anemia (from what I am reading). I increased his B-12 to 1/16 AM/PM and his B-Complex to 1/64 AM/PM. Added the FD (re-hydrated) chicken heart this morning. I added 1/4 to each of his meals. I have also increased his water in his food by a bit in each (dehydration is another concern due to anemia). I also put the water that I reydryated the ck heart in-down by his feeder in the hopes he will drink from it (?maybe?).

Caught him eating litter in the middle of the night (another side affect of anemia).

He is eating well (loved the chicken heart). Active, purry. Still taking his Potassa-Chews with no issues.

I am going to test for ketones in about 35 min.

Hope everyone has a terrific Tuesday.
 
I hope you can find something to help with the anemia. It's good he is eating well and active and purry. Sending prayers.
 
I hope the chicken heart helps too. I have no idea how it works with cats, but I was very anemic with both of my pregnancies and my numbers didn't want to move seemingly no matter how much iron supplements I was on. What helped a little was taking the iron with vitamin C, one helps the other absorb, I wonder if there is something similar with cats? I also tried to cook anything I could in a cast iron skillet. I hope the itching settles down when the iron goes up, poor Gizmo. Sending soothing and itch relieving hugs his way.
 
Praying for itching to stop and for you to have extra wisdom about anything else you can do , Lizzie .:bighug: My civvies get itchy due to dry skin and give them Pet Guard Skin and Coat supplement . Continuing to watch others responses with interest ...so much wisdom/ knowledge on this board :bighug:
 
PMPS=138

History:
AMPS=200, +2=141

Hmm, wouldn't eat the chicken heart. I had left it all day to reconstitute in water. This mornings was only in water for about 20 min. I cut tomorrow's AM heart in to tinier pieces before I put them in water. Hopefully he will get over the texture thing (which seems to be what the issue is because he seems interested in it).
 
Sorry to hear the itching has gotten worse :(. Freeze dried liver also might be something to look into

https://www.onlynaturalpet.com/products/Northwest-Naturals-Freeze-Dried-Liver-Treats/167016.aspx
Thanks. Liver is higher in phosphorus than heart and is much more in Vitamin A. He does get a few FD duck liver treats after his shots and he LOVES it but I limit the quantity.
http://felinecrf.org/anaemia.htm#diet
Some people have had success feeding a small amount of chicken liver(one or two tablespoons, once or twice a week). Most cats seem to like liver, and although you should not give liver too often or in large quantities because it contains very high levels of Vitamin A and is also high in phosphorus, the above dosage should be safe, but do discuss with your vet. If you would prefer not to handle raw liver, Stewart's Flavor Enhanceris available in sprinkle on beef liver or chicken liver form. Discuss how much to use with your vet.

Chicken heart may be a better choice. It does not contain as much iron as liver (only two thirds of the amount in liver), but it contains much less phosphorus and hardly any vitamin A. You may be able to find chicken hearts at your local butcher. Most cats seem to prefer them cooked, some people cook them in the microwave, others roast or boil or fry them - you can experiment to see which method your cat prefers.
 
Oh, I didn't know it is high in phosphorus. Also, it is great that you test very often and get BW periodically, but this can't help the RBC. Double-edged sword... I always wondered how much blood they draw for BW.
 
Double-edged sword
Yeah, and I am not sure what to do about that. With working full time I really rely on the data I gather with the tests. If he was better regulated maybe I could cut down - better yet remission :p.

They took 2 small viles last week but still, that is a lot for 11#s. It is why I want them to run All The tests they can when they DO take blood.
 
Yum's RBC from yesterday is 5.46, but they didn't comment on it. Her BUN is 96!!! The vet said that is probably caused by bleeding due to acid stomach from CKD. I have been subjecting her to blood draws every few weeks as I try to drop her phosphorus levels. Her hematocrit is up, possibly because I started B12 shots.
 
Had to google it - I might but lots of side effects and I want to try other things first. Waiting for Marje to review the labs. Thanks for the info. I did not know anything about it.

I've used it with 4 of my cats, with no ill effects whatsoever. The trick is to start with very very low amounts, and increase very slowly.. Vets, who don't always understand how to prescribe the epogen, sometimes prescribe large doses and increase the doses too quickly, and that can cause a massive stroke. As to the possible allergic reaction? Never saw it. It was a lifesaver.
 
Hi Lizzie. Thinking of you today. :bighug:

So sorry to hear that Gizmo has anemia and itchy skin and is generally not a happy camper! I hope the minced chicken hearts help...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top