Jess and MrCat
Member Since 2013
Well... Mr.Cat has successfully transitioned to .1U (more like a drop). I have given him lots of time (10- 12 days per dose) at .25U and .15U before coming down to where we are now. This is mainly because of Mr.Cat's OTJ trial failure last time (he also had dental surgery and vet visits that threw off his BG at that time so I aborted the OTJ trial).
Shortly after the OTJ trial failed, I received a note from a very experienced person on this site recommending that I take Mr.Cat down to just a tiny drop for a week before going on the OTJ trial again. So, I am following that recommendation. It took Mr.Cat 12 days at .25U before his AMPS dropped below 100 (and stayed there!) and 11 days at .15U before I felt comfortable transitioning him down to the next lower dose. Most people wait 7 days but I have learned with Mr.Cat that he takes more time to have the "shift" (when his pancreas kicks in and his AMPS starts staying down in the 80's).
Anyway, just thought I'd share my approach for those who are curious or in similar situations. Every cat is different and in my case, the 7-day rule has been too short for Mr.Cat's pancreas to adjust to the new dose. He is almost 14-years-old, after all! Things work a little more slowly sometimes for our senior cats.
Happy monitoring to all!
Jess
Shortly after the OTJ trial failed, I received a note from a very experienced person on this site recommending that I take Mr.Cat down to just a tiny drop for a week before going on the OTJ trial again. So, I am following that recommendation. It took Mr.Cat 12 days at .25U before his AMPS dropped below 100 (and stayed there!) and 11 days at .15U before I felt comfortable transitioning him down to the next lower dose. Most people wait 7 days but I have learned with Mr.Cat that he takes more time to have the "shift" (when his pancreas kicks in and his AMPS starts staying down in the 80's).
Anyway, just thought I'd share my approach for those who are curious or in similar situations. Every cat is different and in my case, the 7-day rule has been too short for Mr.Cat's pancreas to adjust to the new dose. He is almost 14-years-old, after all! Things work a little more slowly sometimes for our senior cats.
Happy monitoring to all!
Jess