11/14 Mikan AMPS 104, +2 165, +3 203, +5.5 187, +7 147

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Very Active Member
11/13/24

Good morning.

Yes, 104! :cool: I did not believe this at first and immediately retested her. Still 104!
Is this what I've been waiting for?

Last night, around 1am, Mikan came into the blanket and slept on me for about 30 min. She hadn't done that for a long long time. I didn't know what to think. But must have been a good sign.

I went back to 6U, given the low start. Hopefully, she won't go too ambitious today.

Happy Thursday, everyone!
 
11/13/24

Good morning.

Yes, 104! :cool: I did not believe this at first and immediately retested her. Still 104!
Is this what I've been waiting for?

Last night, around 1am, Mikan came into the blanket and slept on me for about 30 min. She hadn't done that for a long long time. I didn't know what to think. But must have been a good sign.

I went back to 6U, given the low start. Hopefully, she won't go too ambitious today.

Happy Thursday, everyone!
Well good morning, Kit and Mikan! Now that’s a beautiful early morning report. Love that 104 blue. :cool::DAnd if I squint, it’s just about green. I’ll bet you had tears in your eyes :kiss:
Sooooo happy to hear your great news this morning, you just made my day.
Thanks for sharing this wonderful update. It looks like Mikan is on the road to where you want her:)

Hope you both have a wonderful day and a very safe surf to our beautiful girl.:bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Well good morning, Kit and Mikan! Now that’s a beautiful early morning report. Love that 104 blue. :cool::DAnd if I squint, it’s just about green. I’ll bet you had tears in your eyes :kiss:
Sooooo happy to hear your great news this morning, you just made my day.
Thanks for sharing this wonderful update. It looks like Mikan is on the road to where you want her:)

Hope you both have a wonderful day and a very safe surf to our beautiful girl.:bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
Thanks Staci.
I was ecstatic at her AMPS. But then, she starts going up?
It does not make sense but nothing does when it comes to Mikan's BG.
Perhaps she went lower in the middle of the night.
Well, I won't be too greedy now. She had a good number this morning. We'll see if she can stabilize herself!
Wishing you and Ivy a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit! Nice to see a blue start to Mikan's morning. I'm curious as to why you gave her a decrease. When I scroll up in her SS, I noticed you have held her amount when shooting a much lower PS.
Hi Heather,
My thought process for reducing her dose this morning went like this:
  • Woo hoo, she's starting low (AMPS)
  • The increase a few days ago was meant to cover for the high BGs during her recovery
  • Maybe she's recovery
  • I have to be at work between +3 and +5.5
  • Mikan can dive during that time
  • Let me get back to where she was (6U) this morning
So technically, Mikan didn't "earn" the reduction. It was meant to be more of the preemptive defense against potential hypo. I was afraid that once she healed up, her BGs might quickly come down.
It turned out not to be the case this morning :rolleyes: but I feel pretty good about the decision.
I'm planning to stay at 6U to see where Mikan will lead me to. ;)
 
Hi Heather,
My thought process for reducing her dose this morning went like this:
  • Woo hoo, she's starting low (AMPS)
  • The increase a few days ago was meant to cover for the high BGs during her recovery
  • Maybe she's recovery
  • I have to be at work between +3 and +5.5
  • Mikan can dive during that time
  • Let me get back to where she was (6U) this morning
So technically, Mikan didn't "earn" the reduction. It was meant to be more of the preemptive defense against potential hypo. I was afraid that once she healed up, her BGs might quickly come down.
It turned out not to be the case this morning :rolleyes: but I feel pretty good about the decision.
I'm planning to stay at 6U to see where Mikan will lead me to. ;)
I think that was a safe decision, Kit. Better safe than sorry. We know Mikan can get spicy when she wants to.
Let’s see where 6 units takes her then you can decide.
I would have done the same :cat:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I would go back to 6.5 units tonight. The goal is green. 6.0 unit didn't do it before, and 6.5 hadn't even given you green yet. The goal of 6.5 units was not "temporary": but rather to get her out of those higher numbers, with a TBD if she would go down again. Wait for her to earn a reduction before giving it to her. She's a long term diabetic.

All that time above 100 (and higher :() means glucose toxicity forming. Today is the 10th day after the dental, been a while.
 
I would go back to 6.5 units tonight. The goal is green. 6.0 unit didn't do it before, and 6.5 hadn't even given you green yet. The goal of 6.5 units was not "temporary": but rather to get her out of those higher numbers, with a TBD if she would go down again. Wait for her to earn a reduction before giving it to her. She's a long term diabetic.

All that time above 100 (and higher :() means glucose toxicity forming. Today is the 10th day after the dental, been a while.
Sorry for the late reply. I didn't see this until now.
I am keeping her at 6U for now.
Mikan's surgery required an extensive procedure and she incurred a lot of trauma in her mouth. I was told that it might take about 2 weeks for her to heal.
Her behaviors are getting back to normal, indicating that she is recovering.
I just do not know how her BGs will behave once her mouth heals. My work schedule today does not allow me to be at home so I would like to play safe. I appreciate your suggestion and I would certainly consider going back up if needed.
 
11/15---oh Ms Mikan....always the fluffy drama queen, but we love you! I see she is back up today after a nice blue run yesterday. Hope she comes back to blue safely and steadies out this weekend! I'm soooo happy she snuggled in bed with you....such a good sign, IMO. HUGS! :bighug:
 
11/15---oh Ms Mikan....always the fluffy drama queen, but we love you! I see she is back up today after a nice blue run yesterday. Hope she comes back to blue safely and steadies out this weekend! I'm soooo happy she snuggled in bed with you....such a good sign, IMO. HUGS! :bighug:
Thanks Christine!
She's a drama queen but a true sweetheart :kiss:
I expect her to go up and down for a while but gradually become more responsive to insulin.
Hugs to you and scritch for Jack! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am keeping her at 6U for now.
Mikan's surgery required an extensive procedure and she incurred a lot of trauma in her mouth. I was told that it might take about 2 weeks for her to heal.
Her behaviors are getting back to normal, indicating that she is recovering.
I just do not know how her BGs will behave once her mouth heals. My work schedule today does not allow me to be at home so I would like to play safe. I appreciate your suggestion and I would certainly consider going back up if needed.
Hi Kit well at least you know your vet said it might take about 2 weeks for her to heal, maybe that will make you less worried about her numbers.
Playing it safe is a good idea since you won't be at home to test her.
Aww that must have made you so so happy that Mikan crawled under the blanket and slept in you , such a good sign she's feeling better :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat: @Mikanmama
 
Hi Kit well at least you know your vet said it might take about 2 weeks for her to heal, maybe that will make you less worried about her numbers.
Playing it safe is a good idea since you won't be at home to test her.
Aww that must have made you so so happy that Mikan crawled under the blanket and slept in you , such a good sign she's feeling better :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat: @Mikanmama
Thanks Diane.
Your kind words mean so much to me.
Mikan is taking a break today, but hopefully, she'll clear this up soon to get to work again!
Hope you are having a great Friday. XOXO :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
11/21 - Just checking on you and Ms Mikan- this is the last post I can find. I see she is still doing yellow/blue, at least it's consistent? Hope she is still being a cuddle bug and you are all ok. Hugs!
 
Hi Kit -- I am checking up on you too! I'm not here every day, but I always look for your posts when I am, and I've missed seeing them throughout this week. I see Mikan's spreadsheet is current and that's reassuring -- I hope everything is ok and you've just been temporarily swept away by work demands (it happens to me all the time). Sending hugs to you and sweet Mikan :bighug::bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Kit!

I've been checking up on you guys as well! As Karen said, I always look for your posts in the morning but did notice you're still keeping up your SS, so that's reassuring that (hopefully) everything is ok with Mikan, you and your family. :bighug:

Have a great weekend!
 
Hi Kit :)

Just checking in on you. Hopefully you're doing ok.
Sorry to learn Mikan had surgery. I hope that she's healing well and regaining her balance.
Much love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top