11/14 Mac AMPS 433 + 4 207 +6 Lo/28 +6.5 42/51 +7.25 67 +8 81 +10 136 PMPS No Test No Shot +3 162

jillnc1

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-13-mac-amps-245-4-386-9-328-pmps-317-4-291.296552/

Let's see how low he goes clearing the bounce. Hopefully a bit more moderate. I will get some tests this afternoon to see how fast and which direction he is going. Will be gone tonight for awhile so will test at +10, feed some MC if needed, shot will be at 7:30 and I will be home by +2 so hopefully all will go well..

Scary Moment: So much for my plan. At + 6.25 Mac showed up Lo on his normal True Metrix Human Meter. Have never seen Lo before! Tested again, same thing. Karo Syrup time. Then I used the Test Buddy Pet Meter and it was 48. Made me feel a little better, but still scary. Finally got a 28 to show up within 15 minutes and now up to 51. More MC and KS.

He is up to 67 at +7.25. Will continue to monitor every 30 minutes and feed LC food to watch for wobbly numbers as sugar wears off.

I knew he was in a very active cycle but I didn't expect him to drop 200 more points in 2 hours. Is there any chance his pancreas has started working a little? This is all after reducing the dose. Will take another reduction the next time I shoot.
 
Last edited:
Mac :eek:. Good job catching that, Jill. Hopefully you’ve been able to check since that +6.75 test. Numbers can still bobble around after feeding syrup, and those carbs can wear off quickly, so even though he was up to 51, please continue to test to make sure he stays up above 50 and intervene if necessary.
 
Mac :eek:. Good job catching that, Jill. Hopefully you’ve been able to check since that +6.75 test. Numbers can still bobble around after feeding syrup, and those carbs can wear off quickly, so even though he was up to 51, please continue to test to make sure he stays up above 50 and intervene if necessary.
Thanks for checking in Christie! Yes I have been testing and feeding until I got it up. Now 67 but I know that the syrup can wear off. I am now feeding LC after each test. I have to go 2 hours with no added sugar to make sure he won't regress, correct? I will keep testing and feeding every 30 minutes for the rest of the afternoon and may forgo shot tonight or reduce in half since I won't be able to monitor until +2 . I wonder if all his recent lows kicked his pancreas into working a bit more??
 
You’re welcome, Jill, my shenanigan meter was going off and I wondered who it might be :p. Depending on when the last syrup/HC was, you can probably go to 30-45 minutes test, or if you’ve had 2 consecutive tests since that 51 where he is stable or rising, test in 1 hour, just to be sure he’s done with his shenanigans. He’s working a pretty full depot, might be worth doing a no shot or half to drain it a bit. Especially since you were looking for some relaxing time and less stress. Silly Mac :rolleyes:
 
You’re welcome, Jill, my shenanigan meter was going off and I wondered who it might be :p. Depending on when the last syrup/HC was, you can probably go to 30-45 minutes test, or if you’ve had 2 consecutive tests since that 51 where he is stable or rising, test in 1 hour, just to be sure he’s done with his shenanigans. He’s working a pretty full depot, might be worth doing a no shot or half to drain it a bit. Especially since you were looking for some relaxing time and less stress. Silly Mac :rolleyes:
Thanks so much Christie. yes I was thinking of skipping or doing 2U. I go from panicking because the meter show Hi (over 600) the night I skipped to the first time Lo reading today. I guess Hi is better than the Lo. Yes I have another evening activity scheduled for tomorrow night. :( I am usually a homebody. It is just the season of a bit more activity. My birthday is next week!
 
I’m inclined to agree, I think I shared with you in the past that I don’t mess with the 30s. I had Lo only once way back when and it was at preshot. Nothing like seeing a Lo at preshot to get the adrenaline going :woot:. Mac may end up bouncing again from the low numbers, and beyond that, who knows what he’s got up his paw. My shenanigan meter doesn’t go much more than a cycle or two ahead :smuggrin:
 
I’m inclined to agree, I think I shared with you in the past that I don’t mess with the 30s. I had Lo only once way back when and it was at preshot. Nothing like seeing a Lo at preshot to get the adrenaline going :woot:. Mac may end up bouncing again from the low numbers, and beyond that, who knows what he’s got up his paw. My shenanigan meter doesn’t go much more than a cycle or two ahead :smuggrin:
Yes I have to eat humble pie and should have taken your advice when he hit 37 on the 3.5 dose 3 weeks ago. He hadn't had green for awhile and I was chasing those greens and blues and didn't take the reduction. :( I have been paying for it since working hard to keep his numbers up on many days. Being goal oriented and stubborn can have it's downside. :arghh:
 
Oh gosh, it’s all good :bighug:. You are doing an amazing job and it’s only natural to want to try and get to those greens more regularly. I call that perseverance ;)
 
Back
Top