11/14 Lucky

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
Wow, this morning just shocked me. AMPS was 455 :shock: I have no idea how low he went last night or if he even did at all so I have no idea if he's bouncing or if it's from not enough insulin. This didn't happen night before last with same PS and same dose. The only thing different was injection site. I shot 1.2 so we will either see a blue or high and flat. With Lucky I never know what to expect!
 
Even though +6 today was 230, that's still a 50% drop, so that's actually pretty good and a better response than yesterday. I wouldn't want to see blues today because Lucky wouldn't handle a big drop like that very well.

I'm going to get a +8 also to see if he goes any lower. This is very interesting....

Rundown:
PMPS 455
+5 288
+6 230
 
Just a thought...but I am thinking the 1.9 to the Fat 1.0was too much of a difference
If I were you I think I would raise and hold for a few days...maybe 1.5...but do be careful with completely
new injection sites...sometimes it will really hit them hard and make them go to low
 
Denise, the 1.9 was supposed to be a BAM dose to drop his numbers but it didn't work out that way. I couldn't do another BAM dose the following cycle because I couldn't watch him overnight so I just went back down until I'm able to try it again. Edited to add....sorry! you knew about the BAM dose, duh! But yeah, I went down just to what kind of difference a lower dose would make in comparison to the higher dose. Heck, I've tried everything else, why not give that a try too?!

I have actually held 1.5 before just a couple weeks ago and we still got high flat numbers. Of course I didn't change sites either. I have changed sites 4x in 5 months. At first I was shooting in the scruff, changed to the side of his shoulder and more recently I've been shooting lower towards his belly where his arm and belly meet, past two cycles I've shot by his hind leg where belly meets. It's so hard to describe injection locations! There are sooo many things I've tried. Different injection sites, different foods and food schedules, high dose, low dose, sliding scale, slowly moving dose up from 1u to 1.8u, all with no real results. Next I'm gonna stand on my head while I shoot him!! lol



I'm getting ready to get a +8, will update!
 
Well, I stood on my head tonight so we'll see if we get better results......nah, j/k lol I did get a good laugh about it though :lol:

PMPS was 373 and I decided to shoot 1.4 based on an AMPS (I don't usually base PMPS dose on AMPS's but I'm running out of ideas!).

So now I need to start thinking about this coming weekend and if I should try another BAM dose, only higher. Anyone have any ideas about this? I'm kind of leary about it actually working after this past one :?

I know this seems far off, it really isn't I guess, but I was thinking of giving it till after the New Years. I just got this new vial so that'll give me time to actually use it without feeling I wasted money and the holidays are so hectic and we'll be traveling with Lucky cross country so I don't want to be changing insulin right now. I've got enough headaches with the ProZinc! Ya hear that Lucky?? Momma's changing your insulin if you don't start doing what you're supposed to!!! (maybe he'll listen!)

I'll get a +4 before I go to bed tonight.
 
ok, so I looked at your SS and I am going to give you some advice
You have been at this for 4 months now, with no really good numbers consisstently
It seems that you have gone up and done for those 4 months with no progress
SO..I am going to suggest that you should not lower for now..
you should start working your way up..maybe start with 1.5 hold for 4 days
then raise to say 1.8 hold for 4 days, raise to 2 hold for 4 or 5 days...
You really should try something different instead of going up and down
keep the dose steady but keep climbing...
so many kitties need 2.5 3, or even 4 units twice a day....
Look at shakes, in the beginning I did the same thing as you, I kept going back down because
I saw some good numbers when he was lower but they never panned out,
so now we are at 3.2 units 2times a day and he is doing pretty good...
SO if you want see what everyone else says...but I think you need to start steadily raising
just my thought!
 
:lol: Threatening to switch insulins usually does work.

I think I would try another bam dose just to be sure the last one wasn't a fluke but I wouldn't go with a dose much higher, maybe 2 units tops. If it was too much insulin last time and his body was fighting it off with the higher numbers giving even more would make it worse.

Yesterday you got a nice drop off of a lower dose, we just need to figure out how to get his PS's down.

Oh yah and bring in a couple of Shamans and have them stand on their heads.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Oh yah and bring in a couple of Shamans and have them stand on their heads.

Chanting in strange tongues couldn't hurt either! Send 'em my way when you're done.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top